No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Spread Eagle Hotel - Thame

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-17 CORNMARKET , THAME, OX9 2BW
The Spread Eagle has stood imposingly in the heart of historic Thame since the 16th century, famous for its farmer’s market and mile long Main Street. During its colourful history the hotel has played host to Charles II, French prisoners from the Napoleonic wars, famous politicians and writers such as Evelyn Waugh.

The Georgian facade is instantly recognisable by all, drawn in by the un-miss able 30-ft inn sign originally designed by Lytton Strachey’s Carrington which has welcomed all our guests for nearly a century. Our discerning customers needs for a warm welcome, attentive but discreet service and excellent food and wine has not changed since the days of John Fothergill, the hotel’s pioneer innkeeper.

The fantastic city of Oxford, with its dreamy spires and punting on the River Thames is within easy reach, along with the historic town of Aylesbury and for shopping addicts, Bicester Outlet Village is only minutes away.
Picture of The Spread Eagle Hotel - Thame, THAME at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault the room and the helpfulness of the staff but the breakfast was awful!

Reviewed by
Nigel Chandler

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great potential, sadly not delivered!
Superb welcome at reception. Encounter with the manager along the corridor short, sharp & rude! Room lights turned on & off as they chose. The shower continued to run on & off for sometime after use. Breakfast superb. Exit receptionist pretty rude & argumentative. Through e-mail my nights had been reduced by one & yet the price for 1 night confirmed in this e-maul conversation was apparently wrong & made to pay more than advertised on the website! Leaving a poor taste in my mouth. Adding to the second day of smelling the redecorating paint smell from the corridors!

Reviewed by
Katherine Alexander

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

db+b at spresd eagle
looked lovely but toilet had been used and not clean smelt in bathroom should have been pointed out in advert that our dinner was off a seperate menu for laterooms poor choice and sorry to say what we had was poor quality and tasteless made to feel inferior as we had booked a deal with laterooms which is a shame as we have been to many hotels via laterooms and have always been impressed sadlt let down by this one though

Reviewed by
j woods

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Thame
Very old building with quirky features inc uneven floors. Nice location in centre of Thame. Had pleasant stay with clean, comfortable bed and good breakfast. My only concern was the bath, which although looked nice was a corner bath and raised up with steps which made it a bit precarious when getting out. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Diane B

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spread eagle single accommodation
Perfectly pleasant accommodation in the centre of Thame - good value for money, though lack of choice for breakfast before 7am is disappointing. Would be nice to see a little more choice for those who need to leave for business.

Reviewed by
madeleine v

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great shame
Yes I understand this is an old building, however doesn't stop the place at least having hot water & working heating, receptionist wasn't even bothered about me checking out

Reviewed by
A L

From Prestwood, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation ok,breakfast not value for money

Reviewed by
s mcgrath

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little find!
What a lovely little place to stay. We were at a family party down the road about 5 minutes so ideally located and the staff were extremely helpful with directions and finding us late night snacking! Room a bit dated but comfortable and very good value

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dorton railway surveying
Quirky in the way that traditional old hotels are, the Spread Eagle might be described as "tired". Undoubtedly able to stand some updating, but characterful, comfortable and cosy, with staff who are courteous and caring.

Reviewed by
Ken Hall

From Highbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room with coffee/tea, good TV and comfortable bed. Very good breakfast and good value

Reviewed by
D Millett

From Wimborne, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next