No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bacon Arms by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
10 Oxford Street Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 1JB
The Bacon Arms is a 17th century inn, with an intriguing history dating back to the Civil War. A homely atmosphere and a wealth of character await you with many original features and 13 newly refurbished en suite bedrooms gracefully combining the old and the new. All rooms have digital flatscreen TVs, free WiFI, luxurious bedding and tea and coffee making facilities.

The inn is located in the heart of the ancient town of Newbury on the A34 between Oxford and Southampton. There are many beautiful and historic places to visit close by such as Highclere or Donnington Castles, the race course or the famous Corn Exchange Theatre.

Food is served all day with a choice of a main or snack menu.
Picture of Bacon Arms by Marstons Inns, Berkshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

50th birthday celebrations again
fireworks going off again appended can't wait until next break

Reviewed by
d james

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not somewhere I would return to..
Very nice pub, but accommodation Was dark and dirty, was quite shocked to be honest, the windows were filthy inside and out, carpet was filthy, shower room tiny, but bedroom was huge,

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy
One word to describe awful

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manager was very helpful, gave us useful info on the local area and booked a taxi for us

Reviewed by
JANE C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a comfortable and easy stay
My only issue was that there were some wooden slats missing from the bed and when I pointed this out to staff there was no attempt to rectify this for me. The bed was comfy enough, but I couldn't sit at one end due to the missing slats.

Reviewed by
E Ward

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bring home the bacon..
Very nice stay. Very large room - comfy, but a bit noisy. Delicious breakfast and good service.

Reviewed by
M McCardle

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking Accomodation. !!!
Needed to stay in Newbury overnight, for some reason most hotels in town were full, decided to stay here even though some reviews were bad, on the other hand some were good. This is not a Hotel, it is an old Pub that has rooms !. The Pub Side is good : Decent selection of food and ales at reasonable prices, friendly staff, friendly locals using the pub. Good breakfast included in the price plus ample sized free car park at rear.
Rooms - mine was very very poor to say the least. I paid what I would have thought was good money for a good quality clean, modern room. Room No. 2 was far from this.
The room/décor was drab and dreary. The carpet was very badly stained. Under the bed and on most of the skirting boards were a large film of dust, had not seen the services of a vacuum cleaner probably for months.
The Ensuite Bathroom - Shock Horror. Upon opening door stank of mould. Looking around mould on most surfaces - roof, tiles, floor. Very unclean conditions.
The windows were very dirty and the net curtains were black with dirt where they met the windowsills. I have taken photos and am going to post on the site.
Would never ever stay at this place again.!!
Have Contacted Marstons Inns direct but yet to get a reply to my complaint !!.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment at the Bacon Arms
The staff were cheerful and helpful and the breakfasts were good. However, more attention could be paid to covering food ie: bread, milk and fruit juice. Butter and yogurt were not kept chilled. A fly screen should have been employed at the doorway to the courtyard. Everything everywhere was covered in dust and cobwebs. Our room was dire. The sash window had to be wedged open. The shower was extremely mouldy. The bedding and towels were clean but the bed was very uncomfortable. The net curtains had to be seen to be believed - they were filthy and a mass of creases. The windows had not been cleaned in years!! The landings weren't ventilated and you could actually smell the dust. If a fire had occurred on the stairs (the only means of vacating) we could not have got out.

Reviewed by
Alan P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TLC
we were offered two room. we accepeted NO11!!! great variety off cobwebs. bathroom needs demoulding. Staff really friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Christine caine

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bacon Arms
Cramped single room in an external annexe. Possibly a former stable block. Room very small and dark, just sufficient space for a single bed and wardrobe. However, pub is pleasant and staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
John Haslam

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next