You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Bacon Arms by Marstons Inns

3

10 Oxford Street Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 1JB

Price From 84.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (17)

41% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Wood-Antill

  • July 2016

Great beer

Beer and food were very good if a little pricey.

The room was huge with a large bathroom but a little tired, the corridor to the rooms needs a refurbishment. great breakfast.

  • Kay M

  • May 2016

Worth the money

Pleasant stay.

  • Clive S

  • April 2016

Room needs updating

Room decor shabby, shower curtain dirty, milk was off and dirty cup.

  • A Young

  • December 2015

Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Room too light and too noisy.

The layout of the room (number 11) is such that the curtains are a long way from the window.

This let far too much light into the room. It also meant that someone standing in the courtyard could see the bed via a mirror. Also there was a lock-in/party going on until after 3am centred in the courtyard outside my room.

  • debbie t

  • October 2015

OMG!!!

Never again!!!

  • Mark Jones

  • August 2015

Enjoyable stay

I enjoyed my stay here, room was pleasant and the bed comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The pub has a nice atmosphere and food was well cooked.

  • Theresa Williams

  • August 2015

A lovely hotel with character and fanstatic customer service

My mother and I stayed at the Bacon after an evening celebrating my daughter finishing Uni, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant, well done the Bacon, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • M Bradley

  • July 2015

Don't stay here!

We last went to the Bacon Arms 50 years ago and it doesn't appear to have been updated since then.

We had an outside room, which must have been a storage area at one time. I've never had to wipe my shoes clean when coming out of a room. Nothing much worked in the bathroom: the taps had to be pressed down, but the cold refused to turn off and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were told we could use the toilets in the pub, but that's not the point of having an en-suite and is awkward. The bed mattress was uncomfortable and we didn't have a very good night. We chose our food from the menu early as we knew we would have very little time, but when we rushed back to eat, everything we wanted (even the beer!) was 'off'. Apparently the menu was being changed next month (3 weeks hence) and not much was available. The food we did have was well cooked and enjoyable - as was breakfast - and the staff tried to be helpful, but really .... at £95 for a night, it was disgusting and we certainly won't stay here ever again.

  • T Zorichak

  • May 2015

Big mistake - expensive - dirty & scruffy - cramped room - will not be staying again

30 years ago Bacon Arms was a decent old fashion pub - thought we would try it rather than Travelodge, big mistake.

Room was half or less of an original room, like a wide corridor - thin partition not soundproof, could hear every word and snore from next door. Carpet was badly stained and the room smelled stale. Extractor fan in bathroom like a jet turbine - filthy with accumulated dust fibres. Hairs everywhere in the bathroom. Nearly walked out but tired and late so stayed. Good things, plenty of good towels and clean sheets, lots of tea coffee biscuits. Greasy spoon breakfast reminiscent of 1960s roadside cafe - burnt bacon cold baked beans etc etc. Enought said .... Overall - avoid until complete refurb and new management.

  • Donna C

  • March 2015

Mixed bag

My room was in the courtyard and fairly modern and clean and I slept well.

My colleagues were not so lucky and stayed inside and the room was not so lucky. The building is a bit musty. Could do with a referb, although ir looked like the bathrooms had been done. Team were pleasent though.