No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Expectations

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
33 London Street , Reading, RG14PS
This historic building was once visited by Charles Dickens for his public readings. Now it offers a Dickens-themed restaurant serving traditional pub food and a themed bar serving light bar snacks There are 29 ensuite bedrooms that include a TV with DVD player, free WIFI and tea/coffee-making facilities making it a perfect resting pace for business and leisure travelers alike.

Great Expectations is located within the centre of Reading, directly opposite The Oracle Shopping Centre and 10 minutes’ walk from Reading Rail Stations. It is easily accessible to the M3 and M25 and local attractions include Windsor Castle being only 30 minutes drive away and Henley just under an hour away.

Picture of Great Expectations , Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic and scruffy
Basic but tired accommodation right on a main road (but nowhere near where shown on Laterooms). The room was ok but tatty. gloomy, not very warm and no obvious control for heat. Was unable to get the TV working - very large old fashioned type with a freeview box, - 2 remotes but nothing but a blue screen. Wifi worked ok. Bed comfortable
Breakfast was ok
Really -better hotels for price elsewhere

Reviewed by
graham s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beyond Expectation!
Great little place. Loads of character, friendly staff, well organised. Very good value for money. Super breakfast, freshly cooked, not lingering on a hot plate for hours. Only one draft ale in the pub which was extremely poor. Sort that out and we'll be back again.

Reviewed by
Christopher Cook

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Use of key to light room
I had some difficulty in realising how the lights in my room worked. My problem was well dealt with, but I thought full instructions should have been given.

Reviewed by
R Graham

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indulgent night out
Booked, based on price. Far better than other accommodation stayed at in Reading recently. Good bar staff, efficient check in. All good. Room comfortable but could do with a new shower curtain!

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better this week!
Stayed last week, booked again this week as the hotel was mostly great. This week we had a double rather than twin room (luck of the draw on last minute bookings). We'll be back. But... Would prefer the option on breakfast, I don't do mornings!

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value & comfortable
2nd time staying, would book again. Good value for money

Reviewed by
H Last

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you to staff for a wonderful stay and delicious breakfast- only thing was please get a lift! Love the dickens theme and warm atmosphere, very welcoming and perfect for a literature fanatic like me!

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Barnstaple, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab atmosphere!
Had a great time we were going to a festival with friends no hassle booked in great spacious room four poster bed. Slightly dated decor but so clean lovely comfy bed. The staff were brilliant so helpful and friendly and courteous. Our breakfast was scrummy so we went back for our lunch!

Reviewed by
L Sutton

From Stotfold, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inexpensive and comfortable, breakfast was excelent

Reviewed by
michael m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value but bathroom was not clean
spacious room but the bathroom was not clean, would book again

Reviewed by
Hester L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next