No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Expectations

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
33 London Street , Reading, RG14PS
This historic building was once visited by Charles Dickens for his public readings. Now it offers a Dickens-themed restaurant serving traditional pub food and a themed bar serving light bar snacks There are 29 ensuite bedrooms that include a TV with DVD player, free WIFI and tea/coffee-making facilities making it a perfect resting pace for business and leisure travelers alike.

Great Expectations is located within the centre of Reading, directly opposite The Oracle Shopping Centre and 10 minutes’ walk from Reading Rail Stations. It is easily accessible to the M3 and M25 and local attractions include Windsor Castle being only 30 minutes drive away and Henley just under an hour away.

Picture of Great Expectations , Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Expectations
The hotel has every posibility to be very good, it's location is superb and the building is impressive and cleverly themed around CharlesDickens, however the hotel is in need of a refurb the rooms were dated, the plumbing was noisy and the room looked very tired. On the upside the bed was comfy, sheets were clean and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
mark s

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual stairs. One had to go up and then down to get to accommodation. Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Reviewed by
DAVID CE K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
I loved the blue spotlights on the skirting boards into the hotel. The room was spotless had enough room for clothes. The bar is very niceits gor character. I would definitely stay again recommend the hotel to other people.

Reviewed by
J Simons

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and close to centre
Clean rooms and great service, breakfast was also good. Rooms can be noisy before the pub closes. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Doug W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room small but big enough for just sleeping in

Reviewed by
r wearing

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay in reading
This hotel dose quality rooms in the centre of reading, for a fantastic price.
I have stayed at many of the hotels in this area and this is becoming my favourite.
The bar down stairs also has a slightly quirky theme and refreshingly friendly staff.

Reviewed by
a bird

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic and scruffy
Basic but tired accommodation right on a main road (but nowhere near where shown on Laterooms). The room was ok but tatty. gloomy, not very warm and no obvious control for heat. Was unable to get the TV working - very large old fashioned type with a freeview box, - 2 remotes but nothing but a blue screen. Wifi worked ok. Bed comfortable
Breakfast was ok
Really -better hotels for price elsewhere

Reviewed by
graham s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beyond Expectation!
Great little place. Loads of character, friendly staff, well organised. Very good value for money. Super breakfast, freshly cooked, not lingering on a hot plate for hours. Only one draft ale in the pub which was extremely poor. Sort that out and we'll be back again.

Reviewed by
Christopher Cook

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Use of key to light room
I had some difficulty in realising how the lights in my room worked. My problem was well dealt with, but I thought full instructions should have been given.

Reviewed by
R Graham

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indulgent night out
Booked, based on price. Far better than other accommodation stayed at in Reading recently. Good bar staff, efficient check in. All good. Room comfortable but could do with a new shower curtain!

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next