You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Great Expectations

3

33 London Street, Reading, RG14PS

Price From 104.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mark B

  • June 2016

I'm sure if you are used to backpacking in third world countries that you would be happy to stay here.

However, I grew out of that a few years back and expected a bit more. The room was quite neat, but clearly the toilet hadn't been cleaned before I checked in because there was clear evidence of previous visits!. The beer was awful. Not sure if it was more cleaning fluid or just dirty lines but I couldn't drink it (and I tried 2 different ales!).

  • Elizabeth P

  • May 2016

Perfectly pleasant

We were in a twin room (which was actually a triple) on the second floor.

There were a lot of pigeons outside and a noisy fan outside the window which made it hard to sleep but was not too bad. A fan was provided in the room which was much needed. The hotel is clean and the beds were nice but nothing special. The breakfast was a selection of variety pack cereals, toast with jam or marmalade and a fried breakfast (which was basic but fine). The location was very practical, close to lots of restaurants and shops and with a bus stop outside where you can catch the 21 bus to the university (we were staying for a conference).

  • Adrian A

  • March 2016

Filthy but fun

The room was in a terrible condition.

There were wee stains behind the toilet seat that were missed by the cleaner on my first day, and I don't think the toilet, shower or sink were cleaned at all on the second day. The window latch was broken, and my door was left unlocked by the cleaners(I'm assuming cleaners as my bed was made, but nothing was cleaned). Food was good value for money, and the pub is excellent.

  • NICK W

  • January 2016

All good with us

Straight forward booking process - Room was as specified and a good nights sleep.

Morning staff were happy [New Years morning] and grub was good.

  • Kathryn W

  • November 2015

Excellent for a short stay with well appointed, comfy rooms and great location

The standard of accommodation was better than we expected with good sized rooms and bathrooms.

Comfy beds and bathroom. Things were a little dusty and bins hadn't been emptied. However important things like the bed linen were clean. There was some noise from bar next door but hardly the hotel's fault.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing with cheap quality drinks and very salty. Overall though our stay was good value and the hotel location was excellent.

  • Mark G

  • October 2015

Really nice hotel

This was a really good value hotel.

I booked it based on reviews and wasn't let down. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Also when I got there I found there was a microbrewery in the pub downstairs which was a bonus. The pub was a nice place to relax when I had a few hours to kill.

  • Alan J

  • October 2015

Did not meet expectations

Overall quality not good.

Experience made worse by room being just above the noisy beer garden. I didn't have great expectations of the hotel, but even so it fell short by some margin.

  • m wright

  • September 2015

service and food were excellent.staff were freindly.

The room was clean tidy as was the bathroom the bed comfy and firm.No complaints.Nice

  • S Law

  • August 2015

Cannot really argue for the price.

Floor creak all the way leading up to the room.

Breakfast was decent but they appeared to be understaffed that morning. Only 1 waiter running about

  • Catherine R

  • July 2015

Great place to stay!

I stayed here earlier in July for a long weekend with my cousin and her four year old.

The overall stay exceeded my expectations!!. My first impressions were of an impeccably clean freshly painted surroundings, very tastefully and quaintly furnished (with recent upkeep) with Charles Dickens furniture and artefacts. First of all the staff were so accommodating that they went out of their way to provide every comfort by way of providing a trolley bed on learning of my cousins 4 yr old they were quick to see a lower trolley bed was more appropriate than a single one for her and had it set up promptly. Breakfast was a variety of cereals, orange juice, tea/coffee and a delicious cooked breakfast made personally to the individuals taste. I had read reviews of noise but heard no noise!. This hotel was also conveniently situated 8-10 mins walk from train station and 5 mins walk from the oracle and the centre of Readings wonderful shopping mall. I could not fault it!!!