No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Embankment

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7 THE EMBANKMENT , BEDFORD, MK40 3PD
Today the Embankment offers all the modern visitor could want. All bedrooms en suite. All rooms with telephone and television with Sky. Wi-fi available for free through out the hotel and bar.

The Embankment stands in a picturesque location on the banks of the River Ouse, in the midst of Bedford's beautiful riverside setting overlooking tranquil gardens and the Victorian suspension bridge. However it is only a few minutes walk along the promenade to the busy town and shopping centre.

Higgins and Sons of the Castle Brewery founded the Hotel in 1891. The Brewery was set on the side of the old Bedford Castle, which was destroyed hundreds of years before. Today, the Old Brewery building is part of the Bedford Museum complex.
It is just a short stroll from the Hotel for visitors wanting to see the museum and the award winning Cecil Higgins Art Gallery alongside.
The Beautiful and convenient location of The Embankment is just part of the appeal. It is complemented by a warm welcome, friendly pub and a wide choice of meals in the restaurant and pub.

Picture of The Embankment, BEDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our weekend escape
Clean and fresh would be a fair description of this hotel. Excellent food in the evening, Please give my compliments to the staff

Reviewed by
J Dickerson-Jones

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would come back
Attention to detail was lacking but overall the place was clean and tidy. Customer service was fine. Food was standard. Did the job for the night.

Reviewed by
Nathan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant Suprise
We booked this hotel as we were visiting friends in the area, we were expecting a basic bed and breakfast in a pub setting. What we got far exceeded that expectation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean with modern decoration. Breakfast was lovely especially the sausages in the full English. I would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Tracey c

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect position right by the river Ouse.
Room was quite dark but overlooked a private garden so was quiet.could do with a mini refurbishment, but good value.
Very popular venue with seating outside , a good selection of hand pulled beers.
Good food and cheerful helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Jeremy Green

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night Stay
The staff were extremely attentive and could not do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble and they are to be commended. The bedroom we were in (Room 104) had somewhat dated furniture, had no bath, only a shower and the windows could not open which was a problem as the room was far too hot and we had to have a fan on for most of the time which was not ideal. There was what appeared to be air conditioning coming on intermittently in the hotel throughout the night which left us waiting for the next noise. We had asked for a quiet room but obviously these noises could be heard throughout the hotel. However, on the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable, the aspect was lovely and we could easily walk into the town. I don't think we would stay again unless the bedrooms had been updated and with air conditioning installed in all the rooms.

Reviewed by
C Beresford

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Expensive for a room overlooking the car park.
Lovely building only a short walk into the town centre. Single beds very narrow and the room a bit cramped. Would have liked a bath but that's a personal preference.
breakfast quite nice. Beautiful views from the bar. Service not a good as it should be lots of waiting around..

Reviewed by
Mandy P

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very happy with my stay. Perhaps room could have done with a bit of updating, esp carpet!
Whilst the room was lovely, there were touches which could have improved. There was no light bulb in the light by the bed. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and warm! Although there was a party going on downstairs it was peaceful. I thought the service at breakfast was excellent but the food was of poor quality, so didnt really enjoy that.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected Delight
We didn't have a reason to go to Bedford, other than needing somewhere to stay for the Twinwood weekend. The Embankment Hotel was just intended as somewhere nice to crash, but we enjoyed staying there so much that we might even consider going to Bedford again just for the Hotel. Will definitely stay there again next year.

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Embankment is an unexpected, delightful pace
We booked late and also booked the last booking at the restaurant. We rapidly received a courtesy call from the Manager advising that all was received and that they would still serve until a little later for us. This was very kind and helpful. All was fine until we were awoken at 6.45am by loud thrash metal playing for an hour. We think this was coming from next door. Breakfast was fine and staff very attentive. The female manager made no comment about being awoken, which was a bit disappointing. We didn't have time to see much of Bedford but the area seemed lovely by night all lit up and by day the park was full of joggers and seemed pleasant.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Hotel
We stayed just one Saturday night at the Embankment. Everything is good, the room, the food, the staff, the beer.
The staff were particularly friendly. The best full english breakfast I have had for a long time.
I even had a nightcap bought for me by one of the managers.
We shall always stay here when comming to Bedford.

Reviewed by
Robin Headlam

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next