No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wendover Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Desborough Avenue High Wycombe, High Wycombe, HP11 2SU
Recently fully refurbished, the Wendover Arms Hotel now offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi, free off-road private parking is available for all guests. Our rooms have been carefully designed ensuring that they are decorated and furnished with essential home comforts all equipped with a flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron and iron board and tea/coffee making facilities. It is the combination of our customer service, hotel accommodation, competitive rates and location which makes us one of the best places to stay in High Wycombe.

In a convenient location, close to the train station, near the Cressex Business Park plus the town centre and the M40 motorway junction 4.

Legoland, Windsor castle and Bekonscot Model Village & Railway is just short drive away. Wembley stadium home of English football is about 20 min by train. Ideal place to stay when you visiting Hughenden Manor the former home of Victorian Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli, Hellfire Caves West Wycombe, Dorney Lake, Henley Regatta and Bicester Village, Easy access to centre of London (Marylebone)
Picture of Wendover Arms Hotel, High Wycombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
I am a lady in my 60's and was very appreciative of the warm welcome and helpfulness on arrival. Very clean, quiet and comfortable room. Friendly gentleman from reception even brought takeaway meal to room upstairs with plate and cutlery when it arrived.
Only disappointment was the person who checked me out in the morning. Very different from the evening person.

Reviewed by
M Bateman

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but smaller than expected.
The building had recently been modernized and it has to be said that it had all been done to a high standard. The room provided to myself and a business colleague was however smaller than any other I have ever booked and reminiscent of what I imagine would be considered as suitable for solitary confinement . On top of this the staff did not seem trained in any basic people skills and we were told on signing out that we had not paid for our breakfast when indeed we had. No apology was extended for this wrong assumption.

Reviewed by
i davies

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay
We were looking for a budget stay near High Wycombe and the Wendover Arms provided just that.
The breakfast was fairly simple and some choice of coffee, type of toast and some fresh fruit would have been appreciated.
We realised that the hotel is in the process of change and we hope that it 12 months or so it will be flourishing

Reviewed by
david martin

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern Room
Room was very modern feeling, clean and well laid out. Entering through the pub was a bit off putting especially as I seemed to be interrupting a Casino night. Also My room was situated just above the entrance so had people leaving the pub, and whilst they were not especially noisy it did carry. Parking was a bit of an issue, they do have a large overflow car park but it is a bit of a distance.
Overall this was very good, would definitely stay here again. The problems above were very minor.

Reviewed by
Kevin G

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite waht we imagined
The photo on the website makes it look a bit like a country mansion, but in reality it's a pub on a main road. The room was clean, and quiet (round the back of the hotel), but rather small. It was all fine, really, and not bad for £47, but the clever photo raises expectations!

Reviewed by
B Knight

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed that no food was availble although a take away option was offered
the room was fine for the price we paid £37 but certainly not worth anymore
the shower was faulty and the temperature very hot or scalding !!!!

Reviewed by
Susan H

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We visited High Wycombe & surrounds, staying at The Wendover Arms for six nights, with our dog
Staff were polite, always happy to help if you asked. We paid additional for a full English breakfast each morning, prior to each days long day out & about the area, which nearly always included a lot of walking around, site seeing, as we had the dog with us always. The breakfast was great. Lovely to have a hotel welcome us with our medium sized dog, with short hair, who gave them no trouble at all. After each exhausting day out with us, the dog would just happily sleep once we returned in the night. As it's a hotel within good commuting distance to many places, to include London, the banging of doors started early as other residents left undoubtedly on business often, not thinking of others. Fire doors fitted as undoubtedly a necessary, which if you don't hold as they close, they bang & other residence didn't always think of others in the hotel.

Reviewed by
B Sweeney

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We stayed after getting last minute tickets to rewind festival in Henley on Thames, only 10- 15 mins drive after a long day was perfect. Wasn't expecting too much for the money but was really surprised, room wasn't huge but fine for an over night stop off, has been redecorated & bathroom was modern too. Only downfall was fire doors banging in the morning, from about 7 am, if they invested in soft closers on the doors would be beneficial to guests who don't want to be woken early. Reception is in the bar, bit odd, but staff were really helpful & helped us order a takeaway late at night.

Reviewed by
Nicola W

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay

Reviewed by
N Brackley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was extremely hot due to the weather but air con or a fan would of helped

Reviewed by
Rebecca P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next