No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wendover Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Desborough Avenue High Wycombe, High Wycombe, HP11 2SU
Recently fully refurbished, the Wendover Arms Hotel now offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi, free off-road private parking is available for all guests. Our rooms have been carefully designed ensuring that they are decorated and furnished with essential home comforts all equipped with a flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron and iron board and tea/coffee making facilities. It is the combination of our customer service, hotel accommodation, competitive rates and location which makes us one of the best places to stay in High Wycombe.

In a convenient location, close to the train station, near the Cressex Business Park plus the town centre and the M40 motorway junction 4.

Legoland, Windsor castle and Bekonscot Model Village & Railway is just short drive away. Wembley stadium home of English football is about 20 min by train. Ideal place to stay when you visiting Hughenden Manor the former home of Victorian Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli, Hellfire Caves West Wycombe, Dorney Lake, Henley Regatta and Bicester Village, Easy access to centre of London (Marylebone)
Picture of Wendover Arms Hotel, High Wycombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
The room had obviously recently been refurbished and was very clean.
There was a bad smell on the landing on the first night but this did not affect the bedroom.
We were very happy with the price compared to other hotels in the area at the time.

Reviewed by
Mary D

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant one night stay
Generally a nice clean, quiet room. Comfy bed and a warm room. Only criticism is the bathroom light which is sensor activated. It kept turning on when I was trying to sleep and also turning off whilst I was having a shower. Bit odd. Apart from that, all good and I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Hine

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wendover Arms Experiance
Hotel Guest Room was new bathroom shower again new (plastic module) suspect this shower unit will not stand the test of time
Hotel reception bar and dining area was still under construction and was not conducive for a business meeting

Reviewed by
Chris P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Resolve issues and it would be a perfect place
Please be aware this place is still current under construction hence has silly little problems with the electrics and plumbing.
In my room the light did not switch off and had to remove the light bulb to sleep. In the other room the the light flickered on/off and the bathroom smelt of the sewage and it was not possible to open the window. We ask for assistance to open the window in the bathroom but was not sorted out as it was likely a building issue that need sorting.
Apart from this the rooms/building where very nice, in fact if all had worked it would have been a complete bargin, bed comfortable, room well laid out and quality fixtures/fittings.
Hopefully the owners are on top of this but likely to raise the price when all is 100% complete, 'all in all' for the money we paid we where happy.
Will try again in the future... people where nice and polite... give it a go.

Reviewed by
T Jay

From 3800 Matten bei Interlaken, Switzerland
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice modern room and good value for money
Clean and well appointed room with nice bathroom, good shower and comfortable bed. A little noisy on Friday night from the pub below and from people leaving the bar, but nothing too bad. The hotel is still being finished off in places. The way the electrics/lights work in the room is interesting - we had to ask how they worked - if you can't turn the lights off without removing the key card from the holder try flicking the fuse switch by the top of the door! Good for the money though.

Reviewed by
Jo M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was small and very hot, the bathroom light wouldnt turn off and the light on the tv kept flashing,
I booked this hotel through late rooms and so got a discounted price which I feel is the appropriate price, I would not have paid full price for the room.
It was clean and the bathroom was newly refurbished.

Reviewed by
E Cooke

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good!
Was happy clean room pleasantly surprised and quiet considering it was in a bar.

Reviewed by
L Lilley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked in error. Wendover Arms is not anywhere near Wendover.
Customer Service : 1. Arrival - OK, we entered the premises through the pub area. The football on the TV was loud but fortunately not a big match. 2. During Stay - difficulty finding out where to purchase a newspaper due to language barrier, 3. Breakfast - friendly, welcoming, seemed interested and was helpful though shy. Appearance of staff could be sharpened up (jeans and tatty footwear not advisable)
Cleanliness of accommodation: The room itself was very clean as it had recently been redecorated, however there was a smell of rancid fat from the kitchen which was very off-putting.
Quality of room: The room was surprisingly small in view of the supposed original price quoted on this site (£177) and one would expect a double room to supply two reading lamps, one each side of the bed for example. The wardrobe was unstable and not attached to the wall (safety), a box on the wall hiding previous plumbing was loose. The bathroom fan was on and off during the night without any intervention from us. If the fan had been constant we would have been able to sleep more readily. The bathroom shower was of a plastic construction and the floor was unstable as one stepped into it, so that it felt unsafe. The shower trim was held on with duct tape. There were various marks and scuffs on the walls where the new furniture had been squished into the available area - however these had been left. Additional pillows were available in the wardrobe but these did not have covers - an extra blanket would have been appreciated.
Value for money: We paid £47 for the room and this was good value. Breakfast was charged at £7.95 per person - this was daylight robbery. See below...
Quality of Food: As mentioned earlier there are unfortunate kitchen smells. This has an instant effect on appetite. The basic breakfast is very basic. The cooked breakfast was mostly reheated including the tea. The egg was freshly prepared. There was no choice in bread so the bacon sandwich requested was unpalatable and the reheated bacon extremely salty.
Conclusion: The owners are obviously working hard to upgrade the premises and this is being done to a high standard. Whether they will ever reach the intended £177 per room is, in our view, extremely doubtful. However the hotel is within a fifteen minute walk of the town centre (where very nice breakfasts can be bought more cheaply). Externally it is a good looking venue with good parking facilities and easy to find. There is a garden area - which may be very attractive in the summer months - (our visit was in April)

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over to meet up with friends
Room very new lovely and clean. Beds comfortable bathroom excellent showerpod very good as bathroom did not steam up. Needs towel rails and shelves but were asked if room was ok and made these suggestions. We wanted another pillow this was sent straight to our room. We booked one night as worried by some reviews about building work. This work is almost complete and as we slept well so booked a second night.
All staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Angela L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Well furnished hotel , rooms good standard and the management were extremely helpful.Limited evening menu but of good standard.Great value breakfast .Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next