Reviews - Red Lion Wendover


Red Lion Hotel 9 High Street, Buckinghamshire, HP22 6DU

Price From 191.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Everett

  • August 2015

Lovely old hotel

I love this hotel.

Perfect location and for the area, the price isn't too bad. Nice rooms, a bit dated in some, but overall - good. Breakfast is lovely, eating in the main pub. Great base for walking and cycling. WiFi was weak in th room. Would stay again.

  • b Dexter

  • June 2015

warm room

We stayed for 2 nights,food was excellent,a bit pricey for the evening meal,staff were very helpfully,the room clean and tidy only problem with the room it got very warm at night,we both had to sleep on top of the sheets.

  • Roger H

  • April 2015

Red Lion Wendover

Obviously, travelling single is the most uneconomical way, and these prices are pretty standard, but it still seems expensive to me.

The room was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable, and if you stay at an inn you expect a bit of noise til at least midnight. Breakfast was the clincher, though - cooked to perfection and very generous. Dinner too, was exceptional, with attentive, friendly service. So, a good way to end a day's walking and an even better start to another.

  • Chris Howarth

  • April 2015

Last minute decision to break journey. (2 days before traveling)

We found this delightful little hotel/ public house/ restaurant just south of Aylesbury, at Wendover,when we had chosen Aylesbury itself for a good place to break our journey.

Initial contact was very helpful as I am disabled as far as walking any distances ia concerned and they gave us a room on ground level with easy access to the restaurant area even though that night was a busy night for guests. Both bar and restaurant staff were very helpful and accommodating both in the evening and at breakfast. Standard of food and choices were very good indeed. We were able to compare the costs most favourably with the same style of accommodation we had stayed overnight in on our journey northwards. We would not hesitate to use The Red Lion on further occasions as we travel.

  • Fiona P

  • April 2015

My room was fine.

There was some noise from the bar, which I'd already seen commented on under previous reviews, but to be honest that didn't really bother me too much. My main issue was my COLD SHOWER!. I couldn't get any hot water in my shower in the morning. I left the shower running for a while, but the shower tray was filling up so much and not draining properly that I couldn't leave it running any longer otherwise it would have overflowed, so this did not impress me at all. I did complain to the receptionist and she apologised but I really would have expected to have had something knocked off the bill as I don't expect to stay in accommodation in this day and age and have a cold shower and poorly draining shower tray. Everything else was fine but on that basis I wouldn't be inclined to stay here again I'm afraid.

  • D Street

  • March 2015

Lovely Inn

A lovely little coach inn with lots of character.

A warm welcome at reception, a clean room with a great meal in the bar.


  • March 2015

A toilet I could sit on and a hot bath..not much to ask for at £79 a night!

Room and furniture very dated.

Bathroom was very low standard, toilet was very difficult to sit on as toilet roll holder stuck out of wall over the toilet so there was no way you could sit back without holder burying itsef painfully into your arm. Water was luke warm which I only realised after putting plug in and half running, hoping it would warm up as it never did, bath plug then had no means of being removed. Also not very clean in general. I did mention all this at check out and receptionist took £10 off of the bill but I still think £79 was far too high a rate for this accommodation.

Breakfast was lovely though I felt for the two ladies who were doing their best to serve everyone..really needed another member of staff. much credit to those two ladies.

  • Mike Clarke

  • March 2015

Great spot to head out to mtb trails

Friendly helpful staff.

Locked our mountain bikes away securely. A great full English set us up for a good days riding. Definetly stay there again.

  • john b

  • March 2015

Nice people - Dated room

Hotel is fine but the room and bathroom was dated and need a refurb.

Perhaps a room fridge and curtains that actually stopped the light coming in. Hard to regulate temperature too.

On the upside really nice people and great breakfast!

  • Valerie F

  • March 2015

Great stay.

In the first room allocated to us, the TV didn't work so we were offered an alternative room, if we wanted to change.

We took up the offer and were given what was described as the 'Best Room'. This room had it's own front door, a four-poster bed and Jacuzzi bath; it really was a lovely room. We were also given a 10% discount for the inconvenience of having to move rooms.