Reviews - Red Lion Wendover


Red Lion Hotel 9 High Street, Buckinghamshire, HP22 6DU

Price From 143.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lynn Worth

  • July 2014

Overnight stay for wedding guest

Friendly historic hotel in pretty setting.

Staff very friendly and public areas cosy. I found the single bed very hard but otherwise the room was good. I was given a late check out for free in return for "hard" bed

I would recommend this hotel.

  • T Weller

  • July 2014

  • Robert Morgan

  • June 2014

we would go again

The hotel is old with lots of character, the rooms are slightly worn round the edges however this is far outweighed by the very friendly, helpful staff who didn't laugh at us when we couldn't get in the room because we were turning the key the wrong way.

The food was lovely, we booked a meal the first night, it was delicious. We had breakfast each morning, which was equally good, no grease on the plate and the black pudding was the best ever. We stayed in the Cromwell room, as he is said to have occupied it in 1642, I bet our bed was comfier. It's the ideal base for the Chilterns & for rail travel into London. We will highly recommend it, & we will certainly return.

  • James C

  • June 2014

Nice place

Lovely old pub and nice food but restaurant staff were a bit slow during dinner and breakfast.

Room was also directly opposite the beer garden so was noisy on Friday and Saturday night

  • Nick W

  • June 2014

Nice Hotel.

very clean, friendly staff.

Good reception

  • Stephen Williams

  • May 2014

Nice clean room, quality bedding and towels. Only negative, , bed wasn't made properly.

  • J Burke

  • May 2014

excellent place very quaint with friendly staff.

Food was really good

  • K Beels

  • May 2014

Couple of Senior Citizens York

Nice hotel .

receptionist very pleasant and efficient. Room clean and pleasant. We never ate in the dining room but plenty of guests did. Breakfast was excellent (full English) Ideal for what we wanted 1night stay.

  • A Greene

  • May 2014

Nice hotel, good food let down by traffic noise

An inevitable problem with buildings of this age is that the windows don't shut very well.

As a consequence my room being on the front of the hotel overlooking the main road there was a lot of traffic noise. However this would not deter me from staying here again

  • Denis L

  • May 2014

Nice character hotel but in need of make over.

We stayed in this hotel on Saturday (early May) having found a good deal of £69.00 - inclusive of breakfast.

We know of the Red Lion having previously lived in the area and remember it before and after its last make-over, about 2008. It still retains lots of its character and most of the main building’s ‘front of house’ public areas are fine, except the reception which is starting to look a bit dog eared. We were greeted by a lovely Scottish receptionist (from Moray) who proved to be very helpful and friendly, she even helped me juggle our allocated room to one in a quieter part of the hotel. Anyway, we were given room No. 10 which was across from the main building on the 1st floor up some (forgive me – shabby) stairs and along a dark corridor. The interior of our accommodation block looked dated and worn but hey ho, we were on a deal after all. The room was quite old fashioned with a standard door lock (turn the key) and was quite dull and dark. I think the décor of lemon walls, high ceilings, small window and very dark wallpaper on the feature wall didn’t help. Equally, the curtains cut out a bit of light too. I worked out that it was an East facing window, so it was dark in the afternoon but bright in the mornings.

My immediate gripe with the room was the window. It overlooked the outside patio area, which was fine - except for the fact that, being a very old building, the window sill started from knee height, which meant that everyone sat outside (20’ away) could see you from thigh to head if they looked up, and there were no nets or blinds to protect your modesty. It was a case of ‘close the curtains’ plunging yourself into darkness, or expose yourself to the world if you wanted to undress. I did raise this point at reception, so fingers crossed for the next occupants.

Anyway, as I said, an old fashioned room - not overly inviting and certainly didn’t encourage you to want to hang about or swan around in it – it was functional and slightly basic. The bed was only a Queen size unfortunately (4’ 6”) and we’re a ‘stout’ couple, so a bit of a squeeze but the mattress was comfortable and firm. It had two bedside cabinets with table lamps and complimentary bottled water and glasses. One wardrobe in the corner (with coat hangers) and full length mirror next to it with a very comfortable arm chair. At the end of the bed was a good sized wall mounted flat screen TV showing Freeview channels. I found out when we retired to bed that it kept losing its signal however and it was too late to report it to reception, so I left it until the following morning. There was a dresser with chair and mirror with hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and there was another smaller chair in the corner by the window where the door to the bathroom was. There was also plenty of power sockets about for charging phones and tablets. Let me start off with the good news about the bathroom - the towels were the BEST we have ever been graced with. We had two of everything but the nicest part was we had bath sheets, which were also lovely and clean and soft and fluffy as the girls would say. Then it goes downhill. The bathroom looked like something you would see in an old hospital from the 60’s. It was a long thin room with a frosted window along its length which had a roller blind and the room was tiled with old fashioned square 6” white tiles everywhere. It was devoid of colour or decoration except for one string of narrow grey accent tiles in the middle. It had a standard domestic bath, with an overhead shower and could have done with a wall mounted handgrip of sorts. The hand basin had a glass shelf and a nice mirror above it but no glasses or shaverpoint that I could see. There were very few toiletries provided, only 2 small round soaps, a disposable shower cap and a shower lotion dispenser .

The shower was a nightmare, something the receptionist indicated that they were aware of. It took a degree in aqua-engineering to work out how to get the thing to work. Never the less when it did work, there was a good flow both from it and the hand basin taps offering plenty of hot water. The wc was squeezed against the wall adjacent to the door but regrettably had ‘refill’ issues and it took ages before it could be used again. We didn’t eat in the hotel until the next morning when we went to breakfast. We have to commend them for that however, it was superb. The dining room had a small self service area for fruit juices, cereals etc but otherwise it was table service, from a couple of very nice, friendly and efficient waitresses who took your order from a generous menu offering a wide choice. We had toast, full English and a bacon roll with tea. It was all cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful. The portions were good too. The only negative I could comment on was that the dining room filled up quickly and they had to run around trying to make up some more tables between taking orders and delivering meals. We would rate this hotel as a 3 star but it does benefit from offering adequate free parking and they have a nice sunny patio area. It’s a Fullers pub and the beer is great, if a little pricey. We paid about £8.50 for a pint and a small glass of wine. It was £3.00 cheaper in the Fuller’s pub (The Swan) across the road for exactly the same drinks. You might want to note that this is the only hotel actually in Wendover, so if you want to avoid taking the car out in the evening, this is the only show in town. We would stay here again (on a deal) and it might be of interest to learn that the Hotel will be having a make-over in about a year’s time and currently employs the “Oldest Barmaid” in the world, a 100 year old lady who’s been on TV and in the press lately. She wasn’t on duty during our visit however.