No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Wendover

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Red Lion Hotel 9 High Street, Buckinghamshire, HP22 6DU
The Red Lion is a traditional 16th Century Coaching Inn steeped in history and tradition and gracefully combining ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. Situated on the High Street in the town of Wendover, the Red Lion offers the perfect location for a weekend away and being less than an hour by train to London offers a relaxed commute into the Capital.

The charismatic Red Lion Hotel in Wendover was reopened in Spring 2008, after a £1.4m refurbishment programme. The inn now offers a twenty-three bedroom hotel as well as a 96 cover restaurant – and the whole building has been given a fresh new look whilst still retaining the building’s historic past. The building is listed therefore the refurbishment has retained several stunning features, such as the beautiful 17th century fireplace and exposed beams. The site has its own place in history and it is in fact rumoured that Oliver Cromwell once stayed overnight at the inn and addressed his troops from one of the upstairs windows!

The Red Lion are proud of the quality of food they serve and take every care to ensure that only the freshest ingredients are sourced from the best suppliers. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy a range of real ales and wines, carefully selected from around the world.

Picture of Red Lion Wendover, Buckinghamshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dropping people off at Heathrow and wanting a break before travelling back to the Midlands
Great little town - buzzing with people eating out and seemingly enjoying themselves. The hotel right in the middle of everything and staff exceedingly helpful. Our room was on the outside of the establishment near to the beer garden cum outdoor eating area and was a little noisy on a lovely evening which I suppose you could expect. Very busy. Room a little bit on the dated side and needing a little bit of TLC. This is a general comment and not meant as a major gripe. Didn't have our evening meal here but the food looked good with many people eating.

Reviewed by
geoff maiden

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly market town pub with reasonable rooms
Single nights stay for business trip, friendly welcoming staff decent room with good Wi-Fi. Would stop here again.

Reviewed by
A M

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, friendly staff and the bar seemed busy for a week night. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely really old Inn
Rooms very nice and comfortable with some lovely old features. Location in centre of Wendover one little drawback noisy due to traffic if you have a room on the High Street.

Reviewed by
S Fage

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An OK hotel
Stayed for a long weekend. Location good, room comfortable, though shower needed attention (soaking the floor, and user while setting temperature). Stay a bit spoiled by offhand service in restaurant first night (and unimpressive food), by very poor and hurried chambermaid service on Saturday (they were busy with a wedding). Breakfast OK. An OK stay but nothing special. Le Bistro - 5 minutes walk away - is a much better place to eat.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in a lovely English village / town location. Everything was good, only minor issue for me was the window didn't close properley so traffic was quite noisey.

Reviewed by
PETER SMITH

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable night
I can not fault the kind and caring staff, they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Any problems we had were sorted immediately and with a smile. The only thing that spoiled it a bit for us was a few noisy guests, who decided that it was fun to sit outside drinking and the talking and laughing go louder and louder this went on for over an hour around closing time. It wouldn't have been too much of a pain except we had a very early start in the morning.! Why can't guest's think about others just for a change!!!! Thanks for a wonderful breakfast and we will be back again very soon (just hope the noisy guests don't come back when we are there) THANK YOU SERVICE & ACCOMODATION A*

Reviewed by
K Blackmore

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
A beautiful hotel in a lovely area. Friendly staff and really nice individually styled rooms. We have stayed here before and would come again.

Reviewed by
C Simpson

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Service!
What a lovely hotel. We booked the four poster room and a single room for our teenage Son and the rooms were great and the breakfast had lots of variet and did a beautiful vegetarian full english. All the staff were brilliant and very friendly, the receptionist was a credit to the hotel and could not be more accommodating - we will certainly stay there again when we are next due to visit our family there.

Reviewed by
Paula G

From Castleford, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Business trip stay
I was very impressed with the Red Lion; A charming historic inn in the pretty village of Wendover. It was also in a very convenient location, being only a short walk from Wendover Railway Station.The staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout my stay and the room was comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. I would certainly recommend this place. A popular Wedding Reception venue too I believe.

Reviewed by
E Esau

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next