No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Wendover

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Red Lion Hotel 9 High Street, Buckinghamshire, HP22 6DU
The Red Lion is a traditional 16th Century Coaching Inn steeped in history and tradition and gracefully combining ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. Situated on the High Street in the town of Wendover, the Red Lion offers the perfect location for a weekend away and being less than an hour by train to London offers a relaxed commute into the Capital.

The charismatic Red Lion Hotel in Wendover was reopened in Spring 2008, after a £1.4m refurbishment programme. The inn now offers a twenty-three bedroom hotel as well as a 96 cover restaurant – and the whole building has been given a fresh new look whilst still retaining the building’s historic past. The building is listed therefore the refurbishment has retained several stunning features, such as the beautiful 17th century fireplace and exposed beams. The site has its own place in history and it is in fact rumoured that Oliver Cromwell once stayed overnight at the inn and addressed his troops from one of the upstairs windows!

The Red Lion are proud of the quality of food they serve and take every care to ensure that only the freshest ingredients are sourced from the best suppliers. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy a range of real ales and wines, carefully selected from around the world.

Picture of Red Lion Wendover, Buckinghamshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Supposed to be 4* , our room had cobwebs, a cracked basin in the poorly designed bathroom. Breakfast was standard quality nothing special, Ordered steak for evening meal - could not chew it! rest of food was probably better in a greasy spoon cafe!

Reviewed by
Paul Agnew

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Hotel, two day break.
A two night stay at the Red Lion Wendover October 2013. Good car parking space available, We were in room ten, double bed was a bit small, good facilities otherwise, (bathroom, TV, & bottled water in room) apart from the single glazed window, but we knew it was an old coaching inn so you take your chances. The outside drinking/smoking area was only a few yards from our window, so on a Friday forget an early night.
Excellent full english breakfast served by very nice staff (but all staff were pleasant and helpful), and we enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant on the second night. Several pubs in the village plus a wine bar, and would recommend the Chinese restaurant across the street from the Inn.

Reviewed by
K THOMAS

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

G & CA. M
We both enjoyed our 3 day stay and would book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
GWYNNE M

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No title required, what does this mean?
Nice looking, 16th century hotel. Good condition, nice large al fresco area. All areas seem well looked after. Greeted at reception by nice, smiley lady. Bar staff excellent, smiley, chatty and efficient. Same ladies served me at breakfast about 8 hours after I said goodnight (no idea what time they got to bed) and we're still smiling. Good breakfast, including black pud, which is always a bonus when good quality, which it was. I left a tip, which says it all. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Reviewed by
John Nunn

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, Great food and rooms larger than expected, great value for money

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first visit to Wendover.
Wendover is a delightful small hamlet on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. This was our first visit as our son and wife have just moved there from London. We received a warm welcome. Our room was large and with a very comfortable bed and lovely fluffy white towels. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a real treat. If you have a room facing the rear courtyard ,be aware that it is a very popular venue.....

Reviewed by
Carolyn S

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Find
From the start of the our visit everyone associate with our stay was helpful, friendly, well informed and could not be faulted.

Reviewed by
B Burke

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dropping people off at Heathrow and wanting a break before travelling back to the Midlands
Great little town - buzzing with people eating out and seemingly enjoying themselves. The hotel right in the middle of everything and staff exceedingly helpful. Our room was on the outside of the establishment near to the beer garden cum outdoor eating area and was a little noisy on a lovely evening which I suppose you could expect. Very busy. Room a little bit on the dated side and needing a little bit of TLC. This is a general comment and not meant as a major gripe. Didn't have our evening meal here but the food looked good with many people eating.

Reviewed by
geoff maiden

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly market town pub with reasonable rooms
Single nights stay for business trip, friendly welcoming staff decent room with good Wi-Fi. Would stop here again.

Reviewed by
A M

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, friendly staff and the bar seemed busy for a week night. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next