No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Reading Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Road, Reading, RG1 7RH
pentahotel Reading, UK – your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel

What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub.

Not convinced yet?

Then get ready to be wowed by our simple, design-led rooms. Pentasleep is what you’ll experience in our practical, comfortable guestrooms that ensure a sound night’s sleep. There’s no clutter, amazingly comfortable beds and indulgent showers. You’ll find more little extras including free WiFi, satellite TV, free in-room movies and highly covetable toiletries that are just waiting to be taken home. Last but definitely not least, what makes us a cut above the rest is the pentapeople. Forget “customer service”, we like to think that the people at penta are some of the friendliest folk you’ll meet. We’ll make you feel at home, we’re always willing to stop for a quick natter or help you organise a meeting. Just leave everything to us – we’ll make your stay with us a time to remember.
Picture of pentahotel Reading Centre, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Music festival
It was very convenient, since it was close to everything. It is personally the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The breakfast buffet was marvelous. It had an extensive selection. I enjoyed my 25 minute walk from the hotel to the festival.

Reviewed by
R Chan

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent modern hotel
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel lobby and bar area is great and the rooms are very comfortable. Huge bed, great bathroom and I particularly liked the technology panel allowing you charge various devices etc.

Reviewed by
S Button

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent! We will be back!
I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and this was our first trip to Reading. When we arrived, we were greeted and checked in instantly and given all of the information we would need to know. Breakfast was included which was a bonus! Parking is just across the street and Pentahotel give you an additional ticket which gives you a discount, brilliant! Our room was immaculate, a lovely size and very creatively decorated! Very modern and such huge and very comfy beds. I had read the reviews previously which mentioned the comfy beds, and was so pleased when we saw them. Also a lovely and modern bathroom, with a brilliant shower. A TV which worked and had lots of channels to choose from. The bar area downstairs is very nice and spacious, and has a lovely atmosphere for an evening drink. The hotel is located very close to all of the shops and restaurants which was perfect for us. In the evening we ordered some room service, and the food was delicious, very worthwhile. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots of variety and all delicious. Upon checking out, again we received a lovely service from the friendly receptionist. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with our stay and we were both very impressed with the hotel and the service that we received. We will definitely be back, and if we ever visit Reading again we will be staying here. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Carley M

From Southsea, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rude and unhelpful staff
we arrived at 10.30 and were advised that no food services were still available including room service. we then went out and found food elsewhere but staff were not helpful as to where to find restaurants etc. the plughole was completely blocked in our shower and when reported no apologies were made. we were not advised at any time what time breakfast was, as a result we missed it and again no one apologised for this lack of communication. when we checked out we weren't asked how our stay was so comments about the plughole had to be brought up by myself and I got barely a shrug of recognition. It is a pity the staff were so un helpful as the facilities themselves are very good for the price paid, although I am not sure you can call the menu in the room 'late night food' when it doesn't serve after 10.30.

Reviewed by
Amy C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cool modern hotel
Loved the little touches in this hotel, bed was enormous, various gadgets could be connected to the tv via a wall setup, very stylish, and checkout being 12 was a bonus

Reviewed by
G Meek

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not so bad
After reading other reviews i was a little bit worried, however we asked for a quiet room ,which we got,5th floor at the back. We had a huge bed which was comfy. We enjoyed the breakfast,stuffed full.Yes we would go there again.

Reviewed by
d driscoll

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Penta
Find out which side of the hotel your room is on as the side we had was next to the by pass and was very noisy . Requires better double glassing.
However the beds and pillows were excellent.

Reviewed by
R Fry

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of our stay
We found the hotel perfect for our needs although it was late booking after having been let down by another hotel. Our stay worked out very well and we found it an ideal place to stay with my 91 year old mother who has mobility issues. Her wheel chair was easy to use in all areas of the hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Although we didn't eat in the hotel for a main meal as we were attending a wedding the breakfast was good offering a lot of choice and it was easy to find a table. We would certainly recommend your hotel as somewhere reasonable and comfortable in the area. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Frank Titley

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice reception room needs updating
I love the entrance , very nice indeed , lifts incredibly slow , I spent the night in a smoking room so I guess thats my own fault for thinking the room is a bit dated I mean what do I expect. I do have an issue with the tvs though as in poor quality picture quality is shocking and for the room maybe 42 inchcompared to 32 inch might be better , although I love the fact you can watch the latest movies albeit on a poor quality tv. Breakfast is ok....lovely fresh orange great toaster bad greasy rashers of bacon and a confusing middle area which makes the natural flow of a queue turn into a malaise when you get people outside of the queue wandering back and forth to the middle table and queue jumping (get rid of it ). I think the hotel is great value for money but once you add in £69 for the room £10 for the parking and £10 for the internet £89 makes it slightly less attractive . That said its Reading town center and the staff are attentive , if they can get inhouse parking and better tvs then it will tick a few more boxs

Reviewed by
garth k

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Contemporary, stylish and comortable
PentaHotel feels a notch above the novotel/ibis options, but at a very comparable price. It is characterful, a little quirky.
Staff were really personable & conversational.
The lobby feel is very much lounge/bar, to the point that I was actually looking for the check in desk.

Reviewed by
James H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next