No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Hotel Brackley

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
20 Market Place , Brackley, NN13 7DF
Crown Hotel at Brackley is a 3 star 20 bedded property situated right in the heart of the country town of Brackley in Northamptonshire. From the hotel guests are within easy reach of the M40 motorway and just a short drive from Banbury, Buckingham, Oxford and Northampton. Its excellent location is ideal if guests are travelling on business or touring Northamptonshire for pleasure. All 20 bedrooms have been lovingly restored to offer comfort and luxury, providing all modern facilities guests would expect, whilst still retaining the character of the building. Features a comfortable bed and clean crisp linen. The restaurant offers a friendly informal atmosphere where guests can enjoy the best traditional cuisine. Guests can also enjoy a relaxing drink at the bar which offers real ales and a wide range of bar snacks. The wide, tree-lined market place in Brackley with its Georgian and Victorian houses and shops is the delightful setting for its 13th century coaching inn. The Crown’s comfortable surroundings offer a cosy retreat after a long day’s travelling coupled with good old-fashioned hospitality. Enjoy idyllic leisurely walks along bridleways and footpaths with two major walkways, the Knightley and Grafton Ways, both well signposted. Stowe Gardens and Park, the largest landscape garden in Britain, boasts a magnificent Georgian garden full of romantic temples and lakes. For guests wishing for excitement and adventure, Silverstone motor racing circuit and Towcester racecourse are both within a 15-minute drive. The finest medieval castle in England is a superb day out for all the family with ‘Kingmaker’ the medieval household preparing for battle and the chilling dark dungeon and torture chamber.
Picture of Crown Hotel Brackley, Brackley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All services good

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warden
Room up very steep stairs and basic. Receptionist not welcoming.

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very courteous helpful and flexible. Chef was very accommodating on a simple supper
Breakfast was a disappointment
Room was adequate, but over looked the delilvery yard, so not very relaxing.

Reviewed by
Katrina S

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
lovely stay very profesional staff and food was first class

Reviewed by
R close

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could be better lighting in bed and bathroom

Reviewed by
steve clark

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and characterful
Lovely 16th century hotel with the quirkiness expected - beams, huge oak bed, sash windows with the usual mod cons.
Bathroom was clean but could do with refurb.
Dinner was terrible but breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Annie R

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brackley is a nice town.
I arrived at 2pm to check-in and was told I was early (appointed earliest check-in time is 2pm), not a great welcome. Room OK, bed comfy, bathroom clean. Breakfast: cheap orange juice, cheap coffee, scrambled eggs so-so.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for the area, but disappointing
Booked here simply for a mid journey stop-over, so went for it because of the room price. Yes, it was inexpensive considering the area, but even a cheap room should be clean and reasonably well decorated which this wasn't. The food in the bar, while also reasonably priced, was a little bland but certainly not the worst I've encountered. However... we requested a gluten free option for the breakfast through Laterooms and although I appreciate it cannot be guaranteed I would have expected some acknowledgement from either Laterooms or the Hotel but none came!
All in all, next time I would pay a little extra just to get a room I felt comfortable in.

Reviewed by
A Sivewright

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again.
Very dated and not the cleanest of premisis. The food was of canteen quality with a restaurant price. The staff only spoke if they had to. No asking is 'everything ok', 'would you like anything else?'.

Reviewed by
helen c

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very Dissatisfied
The Room was very tiny, It needs to be a single and it would still be small at that. when you walked around to one side of the bed the ceiling was dangerously Low, if we hadn't bent down all the time you would have a serious head injury and no warning on there either. The bathroom was two steps down, lower than the bedroom again with a very small door, we bumped our heads twice each just after arriving. WE are 5' 7 and 5' 2 hardly tall people. The mirror was inadequate and two high to see into for my wife and the dust on the carpets and behind the bathroom door, cleary the room had not been cleaned thoroughly. Definitely not worth the money, very disappointed.

Reviewed by
L White

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next