Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Christchurch Hotels > The Manor House at The Celtic Manor Resort
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Manor House at The Celtic Manor Resort

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Coldra Woods The Usk Valley, Newport, NP18 1HQ
The Manor House at The Celtic Manor Resort

The Celtic Manor Resort has two hotels, one old, one new, that stand together in 2,000 acres of parkland in the beautiful Usk Valley. At the historic 19th-century Manor House hotel original character is all around, from the leaded windows and wood-panelled walls, to the sweeping wooden staircase leading to 65 newly refurbished modern, stylish bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms.

The Manor House offers a choice of places to eat and drink including its own AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, Le Patio, and also has direct access to the larger Resort Hotel where guests can enjoy a whole host of additional facilities including two health clubs and spas, three championship golf courses, a further five restaurants, children’s play facilities and a range of outdoor adventure activities.

To ensure availability of golf, spa treatments, activities and dining reservations during your stay, we recommend that you contact the Resort directly to book in advance of your arrival.
Picture of The Manor House at The Celtic Manor Resort, Newport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I thought this hotel was excellent, we had a brilliant time. Spa was lovely, food was lovely, room was lovely. Would certainly come back again.

Reviewed by
E Newton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and now provides direct access to the main resort hotel which is great! it is quiet and comfortable and great for a get away!

Reviewed by
Lynne G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury at an affordable price
A must for all types of bookings a friendly relaxing experience

Reviewed by
A George

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for
One of my top 5 hotels I have stayed in and I stay away once a week on average.
Health club immaculate, staff polite and food very well presented and tasty all being on the expensive side and rather limited if you just want a bar snack.
Only gripe I have is the checkout took about 15 mins on both occasions I have stayed here as only one receptionist on duty

Reviewed by
DARREN S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Stayed at the hotel before, but on this occasion it was very noisy.
Although I accept it is a golf resort, there seemed to be a large number of male only groups who showed little consideration to other guests when walking through the corridors or waiting for the lift early in the morning

Reviewed by
m parsons

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some good some bad
We were very excited to be going to Celtic Manor and the resort is amazing. However, our room in the Manor House was a "double executive", this was in fact two single beds pushed together - we were not expecting that. The lady on reception offered to let us change rooms but it was exactly the same. It seemed as if the room door was made of cardboard as you could hear everything going on in the corridor. But apart from our disappointment with the room the rest of the resort is brilliant. The bus service taking you around was brilliant and the bus drivers are an absolute credit to Celtic manor with their professionalism and also willingness to assist, information sharing and general demeanour - each bus driver was happy to talk and tell us about the resort, the surrounding area etc. Well done! We preferred the Lodge to have our evening meals and it did not disappoint, the food was very good and reasonably priced. Overall great stay, but don't expect too much unless you stay in the main resort.

Reviewed by
S van Zyl

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

flys in the room
we first got booked into a superior room, but had to be moved due to the room had at least 50 big blue bottle fly`s all over the place.room116. manor house side. we got moved to 310 which was a refurbished room and was excellent. All other parts of the hotel was very nice.

Reviewed by
daniel williams

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, with excellent service. We orderd room service but the quality was very poor, but we complained and the manager was very helpful and apologetic and removed the charge from our bill straight away.

Reviewed by
v jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay but breakfast not as good as the Hilton
We had a lovely one night stay and really loved the hotel. We were however a little disappointed by the breakfast. The food had obviously been sat around for too long and the sausages were over-cooked. Black pudding was hard. Aside from that we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Katherine T

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Celtic Manor Great
Great all round hotel

Reviewed by
F GRAHAM

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next