No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Falcon

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
88 to 90 Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX1 4PX
Located in central Oxford (just a stone’s throw from the City Centre) and with views over Queen’s College playing fields, The Falcon offers bed and breakfast accommodation in two Victorian town houses.

Easily reached from an excellent network of major roads (we have private guest car parking) or via public transport (Oxford’s rail and coach stations are just 1 mile away), The Falcon is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the ‘City of Dreaming Spires’.

All our 16 rooms have en-suite, with shower facilities, and all the other facilities you’d expect of a 3 star establishment including a comfortable guest lounge relax and unwind in after a hard day’s work or play.

Children of all ages are welcome at The Falcon and cots can be provided for the little ones. We also have FREE wireless available throughout the property.
Picture of The Falcon, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfectly happy, highly recommended
Very clean and spacious room. Very clean and modern bathroom with excellent shower. Clean carpet in all areas. Friendly staff. Very good breakfast with English and Continental options. 10 min walk from Oxford city centre

Reviewed by
Doriana C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
The Hotel was just outside the City Centre which was ideal. On site Parking good.
Staff were friendly. Room was ideal for our needs. The hotel made our 2 day break more enjoyable. Breakfast choice was good.

Reviewed by
Bob Griffiths

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint English Hotel
Lovely room. Great bed as it was a four poster! We relaxed in bed and watched tv. The shower worked well and the breakfast was really good!

Reviewed by
Z FISHER

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

like a sauna!
I appreciate that nothing could be done, but our room was in the roof space which, combined with the heatwave, meant we were absolutely boiling! ApArt from this eveything was fine.

Reviewed by
j jones

From Pembroke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything about our one night stay was excellent. The young lady who checked us in was a credit to any hotel, friendly, helpful and efficient. Our breakfast was good and once again the service was excellent. Would definitely recommend the Falcon.

Reviewed by
A COATES

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 12
Great location (few mins walk into town). We had a rooftop room, nicely out of the way, with a window looking out the back (not so much traffic noise). The bed is set very low because of the angled wall/ ceiling being low on one side of the bed, but didn't bother me (5'4" mind!). TV is modern, good picture and neatly placed on the wall at the end of the bed. Bathroom is clean and modern, but again might be a little tight for a 'bigger' person. Perfect for me and my missus tho. Guests-only car park is a good size for such a location too, was very happy not to have to park in the streets. Cooked breakfast, toast, ice cold OJ...spot on.

Reviewed by
Jamie E

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Very friendly staff, we arrived early & were checked in & given the key to our room as it was ready, good that it had a car park, close enough to walk into the centre of Oxford.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need to have a "can do" attitude.
It is now estimated that the UK hospitality industry misses out on £1billion worth of potential business every year by not catering for dietary needs. When asking for a gluten free breakfast I would expect a little more than "If you wanted to bring any gluten free items with you then we would be more than happy to store and prepare to your requirement. We do have plenty of other items to chose from at breakfast..." (sic). Clearly, this was a knee jerk reaction to the request and the person at the Falcon answering the request spent no time in turing it down when they could have done a little research and realised that all it needed was for them to buy some gluten free bread and sausages. We were a little surprised that there was not enough seating for everyone at breakfast and some people were turned away and told to come back later.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible Bed Ruined our stay
While the Falcon B & B is staffed with friendly and helpful people, and the rooms were clean and well stocked, we had an awful night sleep because the bed was springy, a terrible mattress that sank like a trampoline and was impossible to situate ourselves on for sleeping. I only slept about 3 hrs and the experience left my partner and I with back pain and sleep deprivation the following day. We paid extra for a four poster bed and should have stayed at the holiday inn. I would never stay there again.

Reviewed by
V Fielding

From Victoria , Canada
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great position, walking distance from centre.
We stayed here to visit my daughter at Uni. The Falcon is within easy walking distance from the centre, and the car park is a definite bonus in Oxford. We had a family room with a double and 2 single beds and the room was a good size. There was a hospitality tray , well stocked . The shower/WC was clean and the shower was excellent.

Reviewed by
Lynne B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next