No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Head Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green , Bledington, Stow on the Wold, OX7 6XQ
Nestled in the heart of the glorious Cotswolds, midway between Oxford and Cheltenham, this 16th Century village inn boasts idyllic surroundings, delicious food, charming accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking.

The inn is set back off the perfect Cotswold village green with a meandering brook running by. With friendly service, a relaxed atmosphere and plenty of rustic charm, it epitomises all that is great about authentic country living.

They offer rooms above the inn, which are cosy and full of charm or more spacious courtyard rooms (set back from the inn) which have a hint more luxury.

Having been awarded 2 AA Rosettes and featured in The Good Food Guide, they take great pride in providing wholesome, traditional English food, created from fresh, locally-sourced produce.

It’s just 15 minutes from the A44, 50 from Oxford and 40 to both Cheltenham and Stratford-upon-Avon. It ‘s also close to such popular attractions as the North Oxfordshire Cotswolds, Blenheim Palace and antique shopping at Burford, Stow-on-the-Wold and Tetbury.
Picture of Kings Head Inn, Bledington, Stow on the Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit
Only stayed one night, but will return for longer.
Food good and staff friendly great atmosphere.

Reviewed by
J Hill

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, pity about the night noise
Lovely old pub. We were in a room off the very pretty new courtyard. Great bed and thoughtful touches on the tea tray. Our room was beautiful, in the modern style and well furnished, but the bathroom was a huge disappointment. It was very small, the heated towel rail stuck out by the door so bare arms got a hot knock. There were lots of toiletries to choose from. The shower in the bath was powerful but overhead, so for women it was not easy if you didn't want to wash your hair every time a shower was taken. Very squashed in and not what I would have expected from a £115 a night room.
The main problem was when we went to bed at approximate 11.30 pm. There was a mechanical noise that changed from fairly quiet to very noisy and it went on till 3am, when it was loud it was very loud. The staff in the morning looked puzzled but weren't particularly interested when we reported it. On our way out to our car after check out we noticed what looked like an incinerator on the back wall of the
hotel (very near our room).
The bar and restaurant staff were very professional, particularly a young woman, who had a lovely manner.

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Head
Lovely Inn with very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.

Reviewed by
John T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, service, location, food, price, .....
An all round excellent place .... highly recommended! Look forward to going back in the New Year.

Reviewed by
lee l

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Overall
The Kings head is in an idyllic location and well placed to tour the Cotswolds, particularly for walkers with a number of waymarked paths very near by. We stayed in a room over the pub, which was comfortable but the ensuite bathroom needed updating a bit. I understand that this is in hand. The food is really very good indeed and the dinner menu changes daily, with all dishes being prepared freshly in house. Overall, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
S Hampton

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room. Good quality breackfast,best sausage and bacon i have tasted. Need Baked beans,
Enjoyed the stay, would stay again when visiting this area

Reviewed by
R MAYERS

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Only stayed for one night, but the room, food and friendly staff made it an enjoyable stay.
Would certainly return if in the area.

Reviewed by
Graham O

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting, but unfortunately weather was wet.
Enjoyed the rest, but if the weather had of been good it would have been great to sit and watch the ducks etc.. Still enjoyed it though.

Reviewed by
Gillian Wisedale

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Really lovely Inn with good service, lovely rooms, comfortable bed and good food. Made very welcome and on a cold night, the log fire in the bar was a real treat. Superb breakfast after a good night's sleep. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
John Lewis

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building and very helpful staff. Excellent food, the best roe deer ever tasted!
Our room was above the kitchen and very noisy until around 11.15 pm. Also the floorboards were very noisy and the people who were staying in the room next to us obviously couldn't sleep and were walking around from 4am, the creaking was so loud that it sounded like they were in our room. I would stay again but not in the rooms above the kitchen

Reviewed by
Geoffrey S

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next