No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - crown inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
ramsgate road, sarre birchington, Ramsgate, ct7 0lf
Traditional village inn set in leafy grounds with easy access to local attractions and neighbouring business parks. The Crown Inn is Grade 1 listed 15th Century building, fully restored yet still retaining many original features. Brimming with history, the inn boasts visits from scores of glamorous stars of the stage and screen. It has taken centuries for the inn to build it’s reputation as the place for unrivalled hospitality and warm receptions. The guest-house compromises of twelve spacious bedrooms, cosily decorated complete with satellite television, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm-clock, personal desk and telephone.
Picture of crown inn, Ramsgate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Crown
We were attending a wedding in Ramsgate and needed a comfortable bed for the night. Sarre is an ideal location to access all parts of the Isle of Thanet and there is ample car parking space at the hotel. We arrived early and the landlord immediately took us to our room which was conveniently situated on the ground floor. The room was well heated and spacious and contained a large comfortable settee and a comfortable double bed.
We enjoyed a light lunch of omelette and salad and noted that the menu was very reasonably priced compared with the pubs in Buckinghamshire where we live. The breakfast in the morning was served between 8am and 9am and there was a good selection of cereal, yogurt and fruit followed by a full English breakfast and toast which was served by the landlord and his wife.
This is a public house dating from the days of smuggling which is steeped in history and has seen many owners. It was more than 8 years since we made our last visit there and we were struck by the vast improvements which had been made since our last visit.
We would be very happy to stay there again and to recommend it to our friends.

Reviewed by
Michael Pitt-Payne

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money
Lovely large en suite room, even though only booked a single, room was a generous double. Hosts although extremely busy and short staffed were attentive and kind throughout, getting the balance between being helpful and polite but not intrusive just right. Food was plentiful and delicious.

Reviewed by
belinda m

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly couple very good service , rooms very clean, food excellent, on the whole I cannot fault it
Anyone looking for a friendly clean place to stay shouldn't miss this one out it's fantastic.

Reviewed by
elaine silver

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value base/stop-over
The accommodation was quiet, comfortable, and good value: it offers a 'full English' breakfast and a good-sized, well-maintained & well-furnished bedroom and bathroom. It is about 30 mins drive from Dover and I found it a good base for visiting Canterbury (park & ride) and the Kent coast from Whitstable to Deal and beyond.

Reviewed by
Barry W

From France
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don`t believe that we could have been looked after any better. This is the friendliest and most accommodating hotel we have stayed in for a long time. Our needs were anticipated and always met.

Reviewed by
JOHN B

From Lyme Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
The pub is in a great position and is a lovely building. The whole experience is made so much better by the staff particularly Clive who could not do enough to make us welcome .

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the crown inn
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. Clive and co was lovely kind and nothing was to much trouble. If we go that way again we would definitely stay again. I recommend this wonderful place

Reviewed by
Diana R

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover on way to France
Acceptable stay, mediocre food. Witty landlord made the stay interesting with a touch of Basil Fawlty.

Reviewed by
Geoff K

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

met all my expectations, superb value for money
Website picture does not do this beautiful building and location justice. Excellent room, clean, comfortable bed, large bathroom with bath and good shower. Clive and his wife were most welcoming, even offering to reserve food for my late arrival. A nice pint of Spitfire in the warm old style bar on arrival sufficed however! Breakfast was well cooked in enjoyed in the relaxed restaurant. No pressure to hurry or leave and enjoyed a chat with the other guests and Clive over a cuppa. I knocked 1 point off for the dry mushrooms....this was the only minor fault for the whole experience though (grilled tomatoes instead of mushrooms would have scored a 6 !). I will be back.

Reviewed by
Glyn R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful budget accomodation in a great location for east kent attractions.
Really great couple who did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The room was a great budget one but really comfortable all the same. The breakfast was really good and the pub sells great pub food as well. Just a wonderful find and one to which we will return.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next