Reviews - Crown Inn


ramsgate road, sarre birchington, Ramsgate, ct7 0lf

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • V Wakefield

  • April 2015

A weekend break.

We had a lovely room, but no view.

Unfortunately the heating made the room rather hot and had to sleep with the windows open. The Inn is situated on quite a busy road, so as a fairly light sleeper I struggled to get a full nights sleep. I think if the windows had been closed it would have been fine. The owners are lovely, friendly people.

  • edmond a

  • April 2015

Couldn't faulted

My wife and I had an exellent stay at the Crown Inn, Sarre.

Warm and comfortable room which was decorated and furnished in line with the ambience of the 500 year old inn. Clive and Penelope were the lovely and very professional hosts for the 2 day stay. The food was excellent and we thoroughly reccomend the village of Sarre for visiting Thanet and Caterbury. We used our bus passes to get round and see the various Kent seaside resorts and places of interest. The bus stopped right outside the inn and was available every 20 mins or so. We happily left our car behind at the inn. Even without a bus pass the daily bus fare (less than £7) for unlimited on and off busses was excellent value saving car parking fees and the pain of having to find car parking spaces

  • Spencer Simpson

  • March 2015

Great value stay

Attended a funeral locally in Reculver and was seeking a cheap bed for the night.

Crown Inn ticked all the boxes. Clive was very welcoming and greeted me personally upon my late check in. The room was very nice and great value at £55, the full English breakfast was good and accommodated my early morning departure. Clive organised a taxi... My stay was short and sweet, but I would recommend and will stay again if returning to the area.

  • D Ellis

  • March 2015

Very friendly hosts, lovely breakfast, short but pleasant stay

My wife and I stayed at the Crown Inn overnight as we were attending an event in Margate the next day and it was convenient (just a 15 minutes drive) and reasonably priced.

On arrival we were greeted with a very friendly welcome by the landlord, Clive, who made us feel like friends rather than just guests. Our room was a good size with a large en-suite bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities and a small TV. We enjoyed a pleasant drink in the bar talking to the hosts and one of their fellow guests, Jimmy, who was a real character. Breakfast was freshly made to order and was plentiful and very tasty. There was some traffic noise during the night as the main A28 runs close to the inn, although it would be fine if you were a heavy sleeper. Overall we enjoyed our brief stay at the Crown Inn, made all the more memorable by the super hosts, Clive and Penelope. Would happily recommend.

  • vanessa b

  • January 2015

tres chic in the country!

This is the place to stay for home comforts, good food and friendly people.

The locals are welcoming as are Clive and Penelope, nothing is too much trouble and the customer service is in abundance. A nice retreat that is central to get around. Only one drawback and that is that he is a Liverpool fan!!!!. Highly recommended.

  • Michael Pitt-Payne

  • November 2014

A night at the Crown

We were attending a wedding in Ramsgate and needed a comfortable bed for the night.

Sarre is an ideal location to access all parts of the Isle of Thanet and there is ample car parking space at the hotel. We arrived early and the landlord immediately took us to our room which was conveniently situated on the ground floor. The room was well heated and spacious and contained a large comfortable settee and a comfortable double bed.

We enjoyed a light lunch of omelette and salad and noted that the menu was very reasonably priced compared with the pubs in Buckinghamshire where we live. The breakfast in the morning was served between 8am and 9am and there was a good selection of cereal, yogurt and fruit followed by a full English breakfast and toast which was served by the landlord and his wife. This is a public house dating from the days of smuggling which is steeped in history and has seen many owners. It was more than 8 years since we made our last visit there and we were struck by the vast improvements which had been made since our last visit. We would be very happy to stay there again and to recommend it to our friends.

  • belinda m

  • September 2014

Fantastic value for money

Lovely large en suite room, even though only booked a single, room was a generous double.

Hosts although extremely busy and short staffed were attentive and kind throughout, getting the balance between being helpful and polite but not intrusive just right. Food was plentiful and delicious.

  • elaine silver

  • August 2014

Friendly couple very good service , rooms very clean, food excellent, on the whole I cannot fault it

Anyone looking for a friendly clean place to stay shouldn't miss this one out it's fantastic.

  • Barry W

  • July 2014

Good value base/stop-over

The accommodation was quiet, comfortable, and good value: it offers a 'full English' breakfast and a good-sized, well-maintained & well-furnished bedroom and bathroom.

It is about 30 mins drive from Dover and I found it a good base for visiting Canterbury (park & ride) and the Kent coast from Whitstable to Deal and beyond.

  • Geoff K

  • July 2014

Stopover on way to France

Acceptable stay, mediocre food.

Witty landlord made the stay interesting with a touch of Basil Fawlty.