No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fox Country Inn Junction 5 M40

3AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ibstone Stokenchurch, HIGH WYCOMBE, HP14 3XT
In the heart of the Chiltern Hills, within an idyllic location in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, this 300-year-old country inn offers stylish, modern accommodation with contemporary facilities. Located just off junction 5 of the M40, London, Oxford, Windsor and High Wycombe are all within easy reach. With FREE Wi-Fi, the hotel’s function rooms are also available for weddings, Christenings, family events and celebrations of all kinds. Each bedroom is elegantly designed with power shower, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV and mini bar. Our restaurant is committed to serving the freshest local produce in a clean and comfortable setting. Our food is all prepared to order by our team of highly skilled award-winning chefs using local produce, including beef from Great Missenden, Pork from Thame and free range eggs. This high quality local food is complemented by a wide selection of fine wines, lager and spirits as well as draught beers including rebellion beer from nearby Marlow.
Picture of Fox Country Inn Junction 5 M40, HIGH WYCOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a good, ground floor room which I had requested as I am disabled
Good accommodation and restaurant. Our room was ideal as it had doors opening onto a patio and there was a good area to excerciseour dog.

Reviewed by
Ann R

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such high hopes!
It started of so well when I arrived but was soon let down. For the record I am not against foreign workers in the UK but when they cannot understand their own menu, are rude and also moan at me for not being happy with the draught lager quality (taste and liveliness - not choice) I do take umbrage.
It wasn't cheap so I expected a lot more. Will not be staying here again

Reviewed by
T Drew

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure Trip
Very pleasant welcome, excellent room position, cleanliness. All what you would expect. Only problem was that no one knew how to change a barrel as three real ale beers "ran out" on friday evening plus
to lagers, all were on again the following lunchtime. The snack sandwich & chips was great, huge & tasty, unfortunately that was the highlight of the food. It was very hit and miss, they must have had a bulk order of garlic as the chef put it on everything even the mushrooms & tomatoes for breakfast !! Please train chef and barmen! I would stay again, just eat else where. For our needs the position and surrounding area was perfect. Will see if it's improved next year when I'm in the area again.

Reviewed by
N Arnold

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible Hotel if you actually want to sleep at night!
Having stayed once before and limited availability I thought I would give it one more go. Never again. The room and food are average and certainly not in line with other hotels in the area for the price. The biggest issue by far was the fact that I endured the worst 2 nights sleep I can remember in a hotel. The noise from below the room and from the office to the side and rear of the room and the continuing people walking outside the room to go to Staff Area meant that I had to wait until 1.00 in the morning 2 nights running to get anything like sleep. When I complained during the second night I was told that people would be asked to be quite. The next morning I asked for Management to call me to discuss the issues and not surprise, not phone call received. The lack of interest and the fact that they let rooms that obviously are not fit for purpose sums up the experience. Never again.

Reviewed by
Michael A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be going again
Looks are good, room looked good. However looks can be deciving. No hot water, no plug for the basin. The food was cold and late, the staff where training and couldn't handle the situation of a wholegroup of upset people. Then the breakfast don't bother very small and no service.

Reviewed by
C Pearce

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and hot!
The room was very small and hot. There was no window that could be opened, only French windows so we had to sleep with these open. Not ideal as we were on the ground floor. The only plus was that the ground floor was ideal for our dog. The shower was excellent.

Reviewed by
T Fossey

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

added tip
Perhaps there could have been shower caps or a hairdryer as the drench type showers, wonderful as they are, present a few problems for the ladies.
Other than that everything fine for the price.

Reviewed by
rea w

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location, clean
good sized room with friendly staff - would defo stay again

Reviewed by
J Plumridge

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chiltern winery and brewery visit
Clean, comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food and in a perfect location for our visit.
Overall great value for money

Reviewed by
C Goodyear

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
I have stayed here quite a few times during the last 12 months, but on this occasion I was very disappointed. I booked a double room, but it was quite clear that the room I was given was for single occupancy as the room was tiny. To be able to use the bathroom I had to close the door as again this was very small.. I will only stay here again if nothing else in the area is available.

Reviewed by
GARY R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next