Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SQ
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 1 needs renovation
The decoration was standard 'hotel style'. Comfortable small double bed. Thick white fluffy towels, slightly musty smelling. Extraneous holes in bathroom wall. Lack of attention to detail of painting in corners, paint splashed onto bathroom fittings, gaps in finish. Many light lamps not working hence the room dark and dismal. Bathroom sink partially blocked. Bathroom floor stained. Heating very efficient and warm. Bathroom window would not close (very old metal framed leaded light - restoration needed to maintain character of building). We use Travelodges regularly and this small room was of a comparable standard, but also a comparable price.
Extra charge of £4.90 over that which had been quoted and agreed.

Reviewed by
j mason

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, big room, good food and a v convenient location. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lambert Rooms
Comfortable and well positioned.
Room was clean and tidy but slightly worn, broken shower door handle, grimy tile grouting, "sticky" carpets with ground in dirt marks.
Excellent sausages and mash and service at bar

Reviewed by
John E

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall but .....
Nice room although could do with a refurb. Big lump of filler on bathroom wall where a loo roll holder had been replaced and not been rubbed down or repainted. Evening meal was good but service dire - took us 2 1/2 hours to be served two courses! We had an early table too 7pm! Nobody asked us during the meal if it was ok and had to ask for condiments. Know they were busy but. Breakfast next morning was buffet style but very lukewarm and only cold plates offered so made it worse. Next morning it was plated and much better. Why can't they manage this all the time. Overall though nice place and staff.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth a visit
good food and a great service from everyone except the miserable waitress who served us dinner she had a face liked a smacked arse, never once making eye contact or smiling totally different to the rest of the staff and the young man who served us breakfast was a pleasure to know

Reviewed by
j calvert

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenience
Good value. Convenient for Oxford. Understaffed at breakfast. Chicken undercooked at dinner-pink?
Very able hard working manager. A little TLC in bedrooms would cost little if carried out now.

Reviewed by
G Butcher

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay in a wonderful country inn
We stayed for a night over the August long weekend and enjoyed the entire experience. The staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough to help. The rooms are incredibly spacious and have almost all the luxuries you could hope for. All told this is definitely a wonderful little place and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Stuart F

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing room but with awful breakfast...
Booked room 201 apparently one of the largest and it was awesome. Really spacious with large on-suite, all very clean, comfy and lovely. Arrived for breakfast mid way between breakfast time hours so we were not late. We both had "cooked breakfasts" which were small, cooked sometime earlier but now considerably cooler. Sausage(1) was hardly cooked, Potatoes were hard, egg was actually difficult to cut through the white. Seriously a better one could have been achieved for £4 at a roadside cafe but this was apparently worth £25 for both of us! We stayed here a couple of years ago and breakfast was fine then so I wonder what has happened?

Reviewed by
Maurice C

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Reception very friendly and good.
Room fine but noisy as it overlooked the main road.
Food only OK, Roast beef taisty and lots of it but the roast potatoes were the worst I have ever had.
Good value. Tony.

Reviewed by
A Gover

From Venasque, France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointingly modern, TV didn't work with wires hanging out of the back, toilet made loud noise after flushing and shower head needed descalling.

Reviewed by
Rachel Hay

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next