Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Rowant Hotels > The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Aston Rowant, Nr Oxford, OX49 5SB
"AN ORIGINAL COACHING INN....AND PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD

Refurbished to an exceptional standard, The Lambert Arms is an original coaching inn just 15 minutes from Oxford at the foot of the Chiltern Hills - an area of outstanding natural beauty.

You’ll find open fires, comfortable leather sofas, large patio area, real ales and outstanding food in a relaxed environment. There are 44 stylish and spacious bedrooms, gymnasium, plus conference and event facilities for up to 120 guests.

The Lambert Arms is conveniently located just 500 yards from J6 of the M40, making it a popular meeting point between London and Birmingham.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, yet professional style, and relaxed and informal surroundings and hope to welcome you to The Lambert Arms very soon.

Food is a real passion at The Lambert Arms. We believe it is possible to provide outstanding food in stylish yet informal surroundings at sensible prices - we have built a reputation for doing just that. Our accomplished head chef and his team produce delicious, seasonal dishes with a big focus on locally sourced produce.

Our menus feature imaginative modern British a la carte dishes, as well as traditional pub classics. We also offer mouth-watering bar snack menus and puddings that are quite simply, to die for! Bookings are essential in our restaurant, which is open 12pm - 230pm Monday to Saturday, 630pm - 9pm Monday to Saturday and 12pm - 6pm Sunday.

In the last two years we have been awarded an AA Rosette and AA Breakfast Award. We have also been listed in this year’s Michelin Restaurant & Eating Out Guides."

Picture of The Lambert Arms (J6 M40) - a Bespoke Hotel, Nr Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth a visit
good food and a great service from everyone except the miserable waitress who served us dinner she had a face liked a smacked arse, never once making eye contact or smiling totally different to the rest of the staff and the young man who served us breakfast was a pleasure to know

Reviewed by
j calvert

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenience
Good value. Convenient for Oxford. Understaffed at breakfast. Chicken undercooked at dinner-pink?
Very able hard working manager. A little TLC in bedrooms would cost little if carried out now.

Reviewed by
G Butcher

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay in a wonderful country inn
We stayed for a night over the August long weekend and enjoyed the entire experience. The staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough to help. The rooms are incredibly spacious and have almost all the luxuries you could hope for. All told this is definitely a wonderful little place and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Stuart F

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing room but with awful breakfast...
Booked room 201 apparently one of the largest and it was awesome. Really spacious with large on-suite, all very clean, comfy and lovely. Arrived for breakfast mid way between breakfast time hours so we were not late. We both had "cooked breakfasts" which were small, cooked sometime earlier but now considerably cooler. Sausage(1) was hardly cooked, Potatoes were hard, egg was actually difficult to cut through the white. Seriously a better one could have been achieved for £4 at a roadside cafe but this was apparently worth £25 for both of us! We stayed here a couple of years ago and breakfast was fine then so I wonder what has happened?

Reviewed by
Maurice C

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Reception very friendly and good.
Room fine but noisy as it overlooked the main road.
Food only OK, Roast beef taisty and lots of it but the roast potatoes were the worst I have ever had.
Good value. Tony.

Reviewed by
A Gover

From Venasque, France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointingly modern, TV didn't work with wires hanging out of the back, toilet made loud noise after flushing and shower head needed descalling.

Reviewed by
Rachel Hay

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Friendly, well looked after and cracking location and views

Reviewed by
l lambert

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
First impression of car park area a little disappointing however our room was comfortable and in a quite location of the pub so there was little noise from other people or roads. On arrival the receptionist seemed a little abrupt and only interested in checking our credit card. Other members of staff were professional and pleasant. Very pleased with our stay over all.

Reviewed by
Robert Baldwin

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Stayed for one night with my wife and 11 yr old son. Booked a "family room" on Late Rooms, but hotel rang the next day to say they don't actually have any family rooms and offered a Z bed in the room. Not ideal, but was OK. Hotel blamed Late Rooms for the confusion, which may or may not be accurate, it's hard to tell…
Evening meal and Breakfast were good, if a little on the expensive side; room was fine, reasonably good standard; overall the hotel is a picturesque old building (apart from the modern extensions) in a very pleasant setting. We stayed on a Sunday night for £69 and we have no complaints about the hotel, the staff or the food whatsoever, everything was good..

Reviewed by
Martin S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plumbing Problems Plus
Room 202. Four night stay.
The toilet was extremely difficult to flush and the shower dangerous in that hot was hot and cold was cold and it was difficult to get a workable temperature. It also leaked from the top of the shower head and sprayed the bathroom with water. Complaints lodged not dealt with until after three days and a second request when the shower was fixed. The toilet flush system was still difficult to operate.
Reception desk staff seemed disinterested in the customers. Training urgently needed here.
Waiting staff though were charming, friendly, helpful and food very good of its type.
Breakfast however was a disappointment. Having been asked to write down a time for breakfast on our registration sheet on arrival, reception staff did not warn us that our stated time of 9.00am was the end of the cooked breakfast period! The buffet was in a mess by this time with most things finished. The toaster was out of adjustment, there was no brown bread left. When we asked for a cooked breakfast we were told that breakfast had finished. We didn't go back.
Tea tray in the room not serviced with tea bags or milk but willing wait staff helped provide fresh milk and tea bags.
This hotel has a great situation but needs money spending on some refurbishment and particularly staff training. Please stress that service is for the customer's comfort and assistance. This is paramount.
Great bed and flat-screen TV though and quiet in the newer block.

Reviewed by
G Bridge

From Blairgowrie, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next