Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Reading > Pingewood Hotels > Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pingewood, Reading , Reading, RG30 3UN
Reading Lake Hotel is truly a unique hotel, set on a spectacular 33 acre lake, situated approximately 1.5 Miles from Junction 11, M4 and 4 Miles from the Madejski Stadium the hotel is popular with both business & leisure guests.

Following the completion of a £2million refurbishment in July 2006 the 4 Star Reading Lake Hotel offers complimentary car parking and spacious accommodation, with each bedroom having their own private balcony. Bedroom facilities include TV (pay per view), mini-bar, in-room safe and Complimentary internet access via broadband.

The Waterfront Lounge and Bar is open daily until late and the Lakeside Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The hotel also offers 24hour room service.

All bedrooms and public areas are non-smoking.
Picture of Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't fall for the glossy pictures and image the website gives you!!
Expectation. Glossy website, highly acclaims itself. Reality. First impressions, totally shabby. Checked in around 1315 and asked about having lunch in the restaurant. I didn't think this was an unreasonable hour of day to have lunch. Reception told me vaguely the restaurant was closed and only sandwiches were available to order. According to the website, the restaurant is open until 1430!! A quick call to the wife, shared the details and she then called the restaurant direct to be told it was being refurbished and is closed, but now operating from the Waterfront Bar! Very poor communication. No mention of a closed restaurant on the website. Front Office staff who could not care less. I got in the car and drove to the nearest pub and gave them my business. Guess what happened when I return from meetings at 2130 and wanted to eat? Yep, drove 20 minutes to the nearest Indian restaurant to ensure I could eat! Rooms are appallingly in need of total upgrade. Totally worn out. Uncomfortable. Have stayed in better Travelodges. Summary. Don't go near it. Hotel needs closing down and total refurbishment.

Reviewed by
robert karl morris

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We made a last minute reservation at the Reading Lake Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with it's lovely location, whilst it has to be said that the rooms were a little tired they were clean and spacious with patio doors leading onto a balcony overlooking a large lake with wild fowl. The breakfast was very good and the service was of a good standard.
The morning following our overnight stay was cool and sunny and seemed perfect for a walk around the lake after breakfast, unfortunately the footpath is in poor condition and is very muddy and to make matters worse you cannot get access right around the lake because the path is blocked three quarters of the way around which means you have to retrace your steps. What a pity ! such a waste of a good facility- with a nice path to circumnavigate the perfect lake would be a great asset

Reviewed by
Mike P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Hotel was lovely, but they were renovating the main dinning room, will go back in the summer to see the lakes in the sun and sit on the balcony watching the swans.

Reviewed by
Aine M

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory!
Quite satisfactory for a one night business trip. Staff were helpful and polite. The hotel location is quite pretty. The hotel could do with an update by modern standards but is quite OK for most people's purposes. The rooms are fine, but some of the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom could do with upgrading. The balcony views are very pleasant and for a quick overnight stay is was perfectly OK.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading
My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years as it is close to our relatives home, however this was first visit for over a year. On arrival we were met by an unshaven and somewhat miserable receptionist, we struggled to understand his English but guessed at what he was trying to say. The hotel was practically empty.The room we were allocated appeared quite run down and the mattress on the bed was extremely soft. I contacted the reception staff to ask if we could change to a room with a firmer mattress due to a history of low back pain and stated that we had previously stayed at the hotel and on all of those occasions the mattresses/beds were fine. The reception staff explained that there was nothing they could do and that to there knowledge all of the mattresses throughout the whole of the hotel had recently been changed to really soft mattresses (hard to believe why they would choose to do this). During our stay we were kept awake most of the night by drunken guests. A very disappointed stay, needless to say we will not be returning and we cannot recommend the hotel. As a result of sleeping there my back is playing up so if you do have back issues don’t stay at this hotel, please note that prior to booking the hotel we did ask for a room with a firm mattress so don’t be taken in like we were.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Lake Hotel - Stunning Setting
I booked this hotel at the last minute for an overnight stay prior to a business meeting in Reading. It was a freezing cold day and on arrival I found to my surprise and delight that instead of the standard double room I had requested, I was given a suite with a double balcony overlooking the stunning lake setting. It was peaceful and relaxing with a beautiful view. I ordered room service but due to an allergy had to request something that was not on the menu, this was provided without a fuss, not only this but the food was excellent. I particularly recommend the key lime pie that melts in your mouth.

Reviewed by
Catherine W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading
Staffs were amazing in this hotel. All staffs from reception on check in and out, all resturant and bar staffs. I could not have asked for better.

Reviewed by
S Major

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no cover to smoke in the rain
obvious from title, but some of the staff exceptional, others badly trained with no service culture. This is a potentially great hotel that looks as though the owners have lost any real interest. I do not accept any penalty for a critical review.

Reviewed by
A Perry

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay experience
Arrived at 9.40pm after 2 hour drive and looked forward to hot evening meal. The evening receptionist told us the restaurant closed at 9.30pm as was 10 minutes too late to provide hot meal. I pleaded as my child and myself were exhausted from trip but was told sorry restaurant closed 10 nminutes ago. I asked where we could eat and was told there is a pub down the road on the left. I asked to better directions rather than 'down the road' and was told to turn left and carry on. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere and was easy to get lost over country lanes in pitch black darkness. I travelled and eventually found the pub at 9.50pm thanks to luck and not the directions as I also had to turn a few times not 'just turn left'. The pub waitress informed me they also stopped serving at 10pm and I was too late for last orders. Great. The hotel must have known that. I travelled for another 35 minutes and just before 10.50pm found a 24hr McDonalds. There was no choice as I and my son were starving.
Returned back to hotel and straight to bed at 11.20pm.
The room was warm clean but smelt of damp. The toilet roll holder was loose on its single loose screwand and and about to fall onto floor. There was only one tiny container of shampoo for two people.
This is no way near a 4 star hotel but 3 star in my view.
The morning receptionist was much nicer. The breakfast was good and plentiful. bar was good too. Overall poor experience and very outedated smelly room.

Reviewed by
amedeo v

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and a pleasant reception. But unfortunately the rooms are tired, although cleane the bathroom had a dripping tap that couldn't be silenced and unfortunately the bathroom was dated and had seen better days many years ago. There are much more modern hotels out there for similar money and I doubt we shap return. Shabby decor and dated surrounding mad it a less than adverage experience. As well as unfriendly lady at breakfast and black pudding being missed off the breakfast it was a less than medicoa experience all round.

Reviewed by
Kristian M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next