Reviews - Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading


Pingewood, Reading, Reading, RG30 3UN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (51)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Annette B

  • September 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

Awful place.

Toilet didn't flush. Kettle never boiled. Will never return.

  • Zoe G

  • July 2015

Let down by previous guests

Really accommodating and excellent room and food.

Unfortunately let down by the previous guests smoking in the room so the room smelt of smoke. As non-smokers this was off-putting especially when we found a cigarette butt under our sofa. However, the views were lovely and the hotel very accommodating upgrading us when they found out we had just got married. Thank you!!

  • H Langton

  • May 2015

Nice location, clean and good food

  • robert karl morris

  • February 2015

Don't fall for the glossy pictures and image the website gives you!!


Glossy website, highly acclaims itself. Reality. First impressions, totally shabby. Checked in around 1315 and asked about having lunch in the restaurant. I didn't think this was an unreasonable hour of day to have lunch. Reception told me vaguely the restaurant was closed and only sandwiches were available to order. According to the website, the restaurant is open until 1430!. A quick call to the wife, shared the details and she then called the restaurant direct to be told it was being refurbished and is closed, but now operating from the Waterfront Bar. Very poor communication. No mention of a closed restaurant on the website. Front Office staff who could not care less. I got in the car and drove to the nearest pub and gave them my business. Guess what happened when I return from meetings at 2130 and wanted to eat. Yep, drove 20 minutes to the nearest Indian restaurant to ensure I could eat. Rooms are appallingly in need of total upgrade. Totally worn out. Uncomfortable. Have stayed in better Travelodges. Summary. Don't go near it. Hotel needs closing down and total refurbishment.

  • Mike P

  • February 2015

Value for money

We made a last minute reservation at the Reading Lake Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with it's lovely location, whilst it has to be said that the rooms were a little tired they were clean and spacious with patio doors leading onto a balcony overlooking a large lake with wild fowl.

The breakfast was very good and the service was of a good standard. The morning following our overnight stay was cool and sunny and seemed perfect for a walk around the lake after breakfast, unfortunately the footpath is in poor condition and is very muddy and to make matters worse you cannot get access right around the lake because the path is blocked three quarters of the way around which means you have to retrace your steps. What a pity . such a waste of a good facility- with a nice path to circumnavigate the perfect lake would be a great asset

  • Aine M

  • February 2015

Great value for money

Hotel was lovely, but they were renovating the main dinning room, will go back in the summer to see the lakes in the sun and sit on the balcony watching the swans.

  • John B

  • February 2015


Quite satisfactory for a one night business trip.

Staff were helpful and polite. The hotel location is quite pretty. The hotel could do with an update by modern standards but is quite OK for most people's purposes. The rooms are fine, but some of the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom could do with upgrading. The balcony views are very pleasant and for a quick overnight stay is was perfectly OK.

  • D Brown

  • January 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years as it is close to our relatives home, however this was first visit for over a year.

On arrival we were met by an unshaven and somewhat miserable receptionist, we struggled to understand his English but guessed at what he was trying to say. The hotel was practically empty.The room we were allocated appeared quite run down and the mattress on the bed was extremely soft. I contacted the reception staff to ask if we could change to a room with a firmer mattress due to a history of low back pain and stated that we had previously stayed at the hotel and on all of those occasions the mattresses/beds were fine. The reception staff explained that there was nothing they could do and that to there knowledge all of the mattresses throughout the whole of the hotel had recently been changed to really soft mattresses (hard to believe why they would choose to do this). During our stay we were kept awake most of the night by drunken guests. A very disappointed stay, needless to say we will not be returning and we cannot recommend the hotel. As a result of sleeping there my back is playing up so if you do have back issues don’t stay at this hotel, please note that prior to booking the hotel we did ask for a room with a firm mattress so don’t be taken in like we were.

  • S Major

  • January 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

Staffs were amazing in this hotel.

All staffs from reception on check in and out, all resturant and bar staffs. I could not have asked for better.

  • Catherine W

  • January 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Stunning Setting

I booked this hotel at the last minute for an overnight stay prior to a business meeting in Reading.

It was a freezing cold day and on arrival I found to my surprise and delight that instead of the standard double room I had requested, I was given a suite with a double balcony overlooking the stunning lake setting. It was peaceful and relaxing with a beautiful view. I ordered room service but due to an allergy had to request something that was not on the menu, this was provided without a fuss, not only this but the food was excellent. I particularly recommend the key lime pie that melts in your mouth.