The Great House at Sonning

3

Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames, RG4 6UT

Price From 188 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Norman E

  • December 2013

Sonning by the Thames

Very good location, Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

Recommended

Only problem the road is busy around 5.0 pm to cross the bridge

  • Ray A

  • November 2013

Excellent staff

2nd stay here and everything as good as the 1st time

  • Brian G

  • November 2013

A building of character in pleasant surroundings on the banks of River Thames

I always like an older building that has been sensitively refurbished.

Couple it with attentive staff and good food and you cannot go far wrong. Easy to use free broadband was a bonus to staying here. I look forward to returning.

  • Mark A

  • November 2013

Good value

Good service

  • K Bassil

  • November 2013

Very nice hotel.

Would definitely use again.

View from bedroom over the river was lovely.

  • Michael A

  • November 2013

Sleepy Sonning-on-Thames.

Friendly staff, the hotel was clean, tidy and comfortable.

My room was a little bit 'tired' but was perfectly all right, there seemed to be some much more modern rooms in the 'clocktower' section but mine was fine for an over-night. The included breakfast was excellent.

  • J WALSH

  • October 2013

What a change

I last stayed at the Great House 15 years ago and the main building was well decorated, old world with nice furniture and a superbly decorated bar.

Now it is like a Salvation Army Mens Palace, the only thing missing was the smell of pine disinfectant. However, the bed room in the new building was good as was the food and the friendliness of the staff. What a shame the owners couldnt make the mian building match the architecture

  • M Kelley

  • October 2013

Nice hotel in good location

Not sure if I would pay the full price

  • francis c

  • October 2013

good location , hotel needs some work

  • Tim P

  • October 2013

Great location and hotel. Pity about the sausages

Great location on the banks of the Thames.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Only let down was the fried breakfast. Barely cooked sausages and gristly Black pudding. Would still recommend.