No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elephant Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Road , Pangbourne, RG8 7AR
Set in the charming village of Pangbourne beside the River Thames, just minutes from the M4 and the vibrant city of Reading with good access to Newbury and Oxford, this luxury hotel offers free Wi-Fi, car parking and an AA Rosette winning restaurant. This offers a return to the opulence of the empire, where guests come to escape, do business, relax with friends or unwind in style.

Beautiful handcrafted Indian furniture, rich oriental rugs and delicate fabrics all come together to create bedrooms which are individual in style but identical in attention to detail. Each and every one has all modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with over 50 channels, DVD player with a selection of movies available and not to mention the speciality tea and coffee or the bespoke soaps and bubble bath.

There are two dining areas, BaBar which has a bistro feel serving excellent local produce in a simple and classic manner. While the restaurant, Christophs offers an elegant fine dining alternative. You can even choose to dine alfresco in the enclosed garden weather permitting! The ethos continues behind the bar where you will find well conditioned ales from local breweries alongside more traditional tipples.

The business facilities are elegant yet practical, travelling away on business shouldn't mean giving up on home comforts. There are three meeting rooms which can accommodate between ten and sixty delegates. The hotel has wireless network throughout, integrated audio technology as well as lots of natural daylight. Reaching the hotel is simple being within easy access to the M25, M40 and Heathrow.

The surrounding area has plenty to offer, Pangbourne itself rests on the banks of the River Thames, and the meadow is a great walk next to the River with stunning views of the wooded Chiltern Hills. If in need of some serious retail therapy then Reading is the perfect place and with the train station within walking distance there's no need to worry about city centre driving. Thames Valley is awash with places to see and activities and London is only 40 minutes by train. No trip to Berkshire would be complete without a trip to the races, with Ascot, Newbury and Windsor all within close proximity this is the ideal location.

Picture of Elephant Hotel, Pangbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but OK
Strange decor, good (if expensive food), nice breakfast, excellent staff

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disabled room.
This hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. If I had just one complaint it would be that the toilet in the disabled bathroom was very low especially if like myself and my husband we both have osteoarthritis in our knees and it was quite uncomfortable. This issue could be solved for approximately £40 by the purchase of a removable raised toilet seat.

Reviewed by
G Sales

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay - perfect accommodation
Perfect stay - perfect accommodation
Nothing was too much trouble. Room was perfect. Breakfast perfect - could not fault anything

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room... Only gripe is that it was very hot in our room....

Reviewed by
Tim Sach

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely garden
The best thing about the hotel was the large garden to the rear where drinks and food can be enjoyed.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel is really nice - good staff, nice but smallish rooms and pretty good value. No complaints really - not many food options nearby though. Overall really nice stay

Reviewed by
C Forrester

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in many ways
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Elephant, the room was clean and large and breakfast was delightful.

Reviewed by
Alison Rogers

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No need to take the management to 'Tusk'
From the initial welcome by the manager, Peter, throughout my stay, the staff were helpful, friendly and very efficient. The full English breakfast was one of the best I have sampled in years.Whilst spacious for one, the room would have been cramped for two.The weather meant one was unable to take advantage of the wonderful garden. The bar food represents excellent value for money, but unfortunately time did not allow me to savour the fine dining room menu.

Reviewed by
trevor wardle

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Engagement party overnight stay.
The hotel has an excellent location for the rail traveller, being only a few minutes walk from Pangbourne station, and it's an even shorter walk to the town centre. The room itself was small but very well maintained and clean, and home to an extremely comfy bed.
Breakfast was a choice of cereal, continental, and several cooked dishes -as well as a handy "something for the hangover" selection. As with the room, the restaurant area was very clean and well presented, and the food itself went down very well.

Reviewed by
Marc B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully relaxing stay...
As a treat, my husband booked for me to go to The Elephant on my own for a good nights sleep. After months and months of early starts and broken nights (I have 3 children aged 5, 3 &1), this was a lovely idea. I was in a room in the adjoining annex so it was lovely and quiet. The room was big and clean. The complimentart products were luxurious, the coffee was cafetiere coffee, not the instant stuff! The bed was enormous and comfortable, but most importantly, the bedding was just like my bedding at home! Feather pillows & duvet! But if feather doesn't float your boat, there is a "pillow menu" to choose from. The staff were all friendly and I had dinner and breakfast in my room. Both arrived hot and both were perfectly cooked. Another brilliant thing? The water pressure on the bath is amazing!!! No complaints at all from me and my husband is now sweating a little as I told him I would like to make a regular thing of it!

Reviewed by
Helen K

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next