No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bridge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
4 Bridge Street , Thrapston, NN14 4JP
Set in the delightful ancient market town of Thrapston in the heart of Northamptonshire, The Bridge Hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome and a wealth of character and charm.

Old oak beams, log fires and period furniture are sympathetically combined with the requirements of the modern day traveller. Flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary WIFI, free on site parking, ensuite bathrooms and tea & coffee making facilities are offered in our guest rooms as standard.

Our informal cosy dining room hosts a wonderful atmosphere and as it’s one of the oldest parts of the hotel, it affords original oak beams. Although our superb cuisine varies from traditional British fayre to dishes influenced from around the world, we pride ourselves on using only the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

Thrapston is a fantastic location near to Kettering, Corby and the market town of Wellingborough. Within just 1 mile of the main A14 and adjacent to the River Nene, The Bridge Hotel offers a convenient, quiet and relaxing stay to our business and leisure customers.
Picture of The Bridge Hotel, Thrapston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap night in a clean hotel with better than average breakfast
No cups in the bedroom and failure to remove empty toilet roll and provide spare suggested cleaning not fully working.
Staff not that interested a very quiet hotel but did find a room away from road as requested. Good value at under £50 and very close to business visited.
worth a return

Reviewed by
Guy F

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than you first think
The picture on the web site shows a slightly false impression so that when we arrived I was a little disappointed with the decoration. However the room was comfortable, convenient and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
pauline k

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay at the Bridge Hotel
The photos illustrated the room accurately, but the shower was not very clean. If the room had not been discounted, we would have asked to be moved.

Reviewed by
Mandy D

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make sure you have at least 6 pints before trying to retire at the Bridge Hotel.
The initial appearance on the Late Rooms list of photos was appealing. I immediately thought of a cosy hotel by an old town/ village bridge with a river flowing by. The bridge had no appeal and if you fell into the river you would probably dissolve. When we parked up and approached the hotel it was clear to see that the building was in need of refurbishment. The owners have probably left the ivy on the front elevation to keep the structure stable!. Inside as soon as we saw the state of the foyer we new we had made a mistake booking. The whole place needed a good cleaning and a total redec. We were shown 3 bedrooms as we were not happy with the first one backing onto a garage & tyre outlet. The second bedroom was the one we chose as the 3rd option was next to the 1st one next to the garage. The room itself was clean but small with a 4ft bed. I turned the light switch off and was in bed before the light went out, that's how small it was. Apart from the noise coming from the kitchen which sounded like a refrigerated HGV had pulled up outside and the non flow electric shower we managed to get through the night. The breakfast was good and there was a good selection for a small hotel. The coffee was warm not hot and was delivered from a flask with a pump action.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Things that go bump, bang and clatter in the night
The room was extremely noisy due to staff moving furniture/barrels or other heavy objects late into the night. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was too small to wash in. But, the worst came at breakfast when, after waiting 25 minutes for it to arrive, and there were only six of us waiting, I was served a full breakfast with two poached eggs that looked like something from I'm a Celebrity, they were grey underneath. None of the other guests had anything good to say about the accommodation either

Reviewed by
Michelle Bell

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff, room needed updating
Good
Breakfast
Comfy clean bed
Helpful & pleasant staff
Bad
Room with no windows
No plug for sink
Shower didn't work
Bar menu choice & quality
Telly remote broken

Reviewed by
S Tanton

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
On arrival the hotel looked old but quite distinguished, with a pleasant riverside setting, plenty of car parking and on entering a most pleasant ambience in the reception, lounge and bar area. Lots of comfy chairs and nooks and alcoves to sit with an enjoyable drink or two. The receptionist, poor girl, was on her very first shift and a little unsure of herself, but extremely polite and helpful for all that. We found the staff in general to be polite and helpful and the full English breakfast was excellent.. The room was clean, welcoming and adequately furnished if a little dated in the window department.. The bed was comfortable with spotless linen. The bathroom clean. All in all a pleasant enough room. However, my two negatives are that the room had an odd chemical smell which I found quite annoying after a while. I think that the bathroom had recently been re-floored and the smell was either the new vinyl, adhesive or sealant. So that should not be a problem for long. My real gripe is that throughout the whole evening and quite late at night there was a consistent white noise thrumming which seemed to permeate the entire building. We were tired and were ready for an early night and a good sleep. This was not possible. In fact, we both got up at 1030pm ish to get dressed and go out for a walk to get away from it for a while. On our return the noise had abated to a reasonable level and we were eventually allowed to sleep around midnight. I do not know if the noise was the kitchen extractors, air conditioning or what, but for this reason alone I would not recommend the hotel if you require an early night.

Reviewed by
Alexander A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
A great hotel, very warm and comfortable, loved the room and the staff were great too, especially the young lady who checked me in when I arrived. A pleasure to stay there and would most definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Phil Dyke

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay!
Stayed here one night on business, lovely atmosphere, staff extremely courteous and helpful!
Good room, good food, good beer! would definitely use again!

Reviewed by
Ed L

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Accommodation good, service smart, would visit again

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Immingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next