No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
210 WEST WYCOMBE ROAD , HIGH WYCOMBE, HP12 3AR
The Clifton Lodge Hotel has been established for several years and offers a wide range of facilities to guarantee your comfort during your stay.

Bed and breakfast, lunches, dinners, small weddings, functions, Sunday lunch (Pre booking required) and barbecues are catered for up to 65 people with traditional English and vegetarian dishes available.

All bedrooms have central heating, colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities. A telephone is in the room for incoming calls. Complimentary soaps and shampoos are given. Full en-suite rooms with their own toilet facilities are available. We also have family rooms

Free Broadband WiFi is also available

Our large garden and patio is available for guests to use

Parking is free and the car park has security cameras

All the catering/events need to be pre-booked The Bar is open to guests and for functions on request
Picture of Clifton Lodge Hotel, HIGH WYCOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Guest House
I will not stay here again.Its a guest house and I could stay in a hotel for same price.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feed back.We are a small friendly independent Hotel with a character Edwardian building.This has been modernised internally to meet modern standards. We have a large garden for guests use, bar, restaurant, free parking and free Wi-Fi.It is true we cannot be compared with the standard branded bed factory hotels in the area. They are large faceless, high rise concrete buildings, no gardens, impersonal and are promoted nationally on TV with slick expensive advertising. Our prices on average are about half the cost of some of these main branded hotels and 30% less than the branded budget hotels. Most of these branded hotels charge you extra for parking. That is if they have it plus extra for WiFi. Their breakfast price can be over £20 each. This is three times our breakfast charge. David,Clifton Lodge Hotel

Reviewed by
s dalvi

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No customer care don't stay in room 27
There was no hot water for a shower and they never put the heating on when they was informed they said they will look at the boiler then came back saying I dont know what's wring with it but it's on and should be working! 'Clearly it wasn't' I upgraded to a double plus room as there was 2 of us here but only one cup to have tea. As it wasn't being resolved I was told I'd have a full refund. And it will be refunded to my card. A week passed and I phoned them up to which I was basically called a liar and the night manager never said he'd refund me. that's one way of shutting up an unhappy customer for the stay. 2 weeks later still no refund £70 for a cold bed n cold shower. I was told I'd have a 50% refund the last time i spoke to them. And will do it straight away anyone in this position get it sorted before you leave. Disgraceful will never recommend it the night manager needs managing and a lot of training,

ManagementResponse

We thank you for your feedback you are clearly an unusual person to deal with.You arrived off the street asking for a room for one person at 10.30 pm.We informed you there was no vacancies for a single room.The hotel was full.Then you make a booking for a room at our hotel on your phone at 10.36 pm for a double bedded room via late rooms in our hotel reception  to arrive at 2.00 pm (already gone). Our stated terms state we do not accept  bookings/arrivals after 9.00pm from LateRooms.However our helpful staff managed to find you a vacant double bedded room that appeared to be a non confirmed arrival. This room was set up for one person ie one cup etc. Just to clarify this again that was what you originally asked for (one person). Then you complained via our room phone to the staff that there was no hot water or heating in the room. This was not correct.Our helpful staff then showed you how to operate the shower and how to get the hot water out from a standard shower control. They also turned the radiator up in the room for you and sorted out a boiler boost to get the room even warmer.They never discussed anything about refunds. Why would they. They showed you how to use the standard equipment and it was all dealt with. Then you rang up days later after leaving. You informed us that you were going to complain on LateRooms about having no hot water and heating unless we gave you a refund.Please excuse us. it is difficult for us to deal with someone who appears to be making unjustified comments to make a gain

Reviewed by
A smith

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of a major refurbishment
Hotel is dated and in need of a lot of work to bring up to date. The bed was old and uncomfortable it creaked so much it was impossible to sleep

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feed back.Sorry the bed is a four poster antique bed and was obviously not your thing. The ensuite shower, bathroom with TV in this roomhas just been completely rebuilt and modernised TWO MONTHS AGO. Did you not notice?. The other hotel rooms have all been modernised over the last 2/3 years.The guest waiting room has been modernised 6 weeks ago. David, Clifton Lodge Hotel

Reviewed by
A creed

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent value for money, customer service very good, had a four poster bed and a bathroom to die for including a jacuzzi bath and a strange chrome square set flush into the the bathroom wall. Thought it was the remote panel for the jacuzzi, turned out to be a TV which amazed me! Especially when it was £65 for the night. If i was in the area again, I would be staying right here.
Having just seen the options below I must say I only stayed the one night and was at a wedding that day and evening so am not aware if it is good for Groups of friends, city breaks etc

Reviewed by
Kay T

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic ,friendly,and clean hotel.
If I visited High W again I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.Yes ,a lot of contractors use it,but in fairness,you wouldn';t know they were there,Danii wasx ace and friendly,The S.African gent who's name eludes me was funny,friendly and all in all a brilliant stay.Left well relaxed. Well done.

Reviewed by
Tony Chesterson

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best bed ever
I enjoyed my stay, staff very friendly and helpful, the bed was amazingly comfortable

Reviewed by
R Probert

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room nowhere near as advertised, carpets very dirty
Upon arrival we were given room key, I had booked 4 poster bed with Jacuzzi bath, tv in bathroom and flat screen tv in bedroom. The room we were given had no bath at all, a double bed not 4 poster and a very chunky tv. We were not told about this by the receptionist but when I informed them of it she simply said there had been 'a problem with room 2'. She said we were in an 'executive room' that was therefore the same price. Totally unsatisfied especially with no bath as I have a six month old baby. The stair carpet up to the rooms had clearly not seen a hoover recently, the receptionist seemed more bothered about being outside smoking than assisting, resulting in a very unpleasant stench of tobacco and what I will call related products in the reception area.

Reviewed by
A Rollett

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff

Reviewed by
rebecca o'dell

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honeymoon ( One Night)
We have stayed at the Clifton Lodge quite a few times over the years and have always found the staff to be very accommodating. This time we found the room to be cold as we didn't get there til early hours of the morning. I found the bed to be uncomfortable but my husband didn't, but everyone is different. The staff got us a heater the following morning and our room soon warmed up. The breakfast was lovely and such a big amount I couldn't eat it all which was a shame as it was very nice.

Reviewed by
M Wallen

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant
First i'd like to say Thank You to the staff for a very pleasant stay. Always helps when you get a "Good Morning" or just a "Hello" from people , rather than big hotels where the staff can't be bothered. 10/10 for the staff.
Booked 2 rooms in this hotel (Four poster bedroom and the Family room). Both rooms were superb and very clean. Kids loved the jacuzzi .
Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area or Legoland as we did.

Reviewed by
P Lee

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next