Reviews - The Highway Inn


117 High Street, Burford, OX18 4RG

Price From 104.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew G

  • October 2015

Great spot

  • Anne H

  • September 2015

Very good

Good hotel .

Food really good. Only problem is parking but it was a bank holiday weekend.

  • Lexi Stevens

  • August 2015

Lovely night in clean sheets

My boyfriend and I had been working away on an event nearby and I was overjoyed to see clean sheets and white towels.

The people here were really lovely, honoured by request for a bath and the bed was really comphey.

The road outside is fast at night and a bit noisy but i loved the place all the same.

  • Graham Laker

  • July 2015

Great historic olde inn - built in 1480.

In the heart of town.

  • john s

  • May 2015

The Highway Inn

Comfortable, clean and quaint

  • Colin Campbell

  • May 2015

Unexpected short break

Fabulously situated in centre of Burford and full of character.

Owners and staff excellent hosts. Food in evening and breakfast both brilliant - one of best steaks I have ever eaten. Room lovely with only fault being that it was a bit cold for my wife - heater did not appear to be working. Would I stay again. Most definitely and will!!

  • A Farr

  • April 2015

Bursting with Character

I loved the old style building & my room.

I was surprised to see the bathroom for my room was actually next door, not ensuite, but it didn't cause me any problems. Customer service was good. The chef even came in earlier the next day (at short notice) to make my breakfast as I wanted to get away early. Breakfast was delicious too...

  • John G

  • April 2015

Charming, friendly, great location.

Burford bustles during the day but quietens in the evening, so our stay was peaceful and our room very comfortable.

  • Ellie Mann

  • March 2015

warm and friendly.

Friendly welcome, cosy room, bathroom with bath.

Great night's sleep --- it was very quiet. Delicious and substantial breakfast, pot of coffee by request.

  • Susan Squire

  • March 2015

Was very expensive as the condition of room and service from the b&b we have stayed at less expensiv

Drawer handles were missing so could not use , curtains at windows were far too long and spoilt the over all look, on arrival as we were early was the only b&b that we had to wait until official check in time.

Towels in bathroom were a bit stained, on the first evening we ate at the b&b had quite a few items missing off menu, our 1st b/fast we were offered either continental or full English breakfast, we were puzzled as this was the only b&b we have stayed at that didn't offer cereals as well as full English as the cereal was only included with continental. We were out for most of day to return to our room and it hadn't been cleaned. We saw reception and they said would get onto it straight away so we had to vacate again while it could be done. The towels in the bathroom were not changed or bed linen. On our last morning we went down to breakfast most items were cold when brought out. On paying for our stay we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay but perhaps they thought better of it.