No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highway Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
117 High Street , Burford, OX18 4RG
The Highway Inn dating 1480 is full of great Character with modern subtle touches. We are a leading family owned and run cosy Inn, right in the heart of Burford, in-between Oxford and Cheltenham. Rivers, fantastic walking, wildlife and great independent boutiques and shops are all close-by.

We are very proud to have been awarded 4 star Inn status by both the AA and Visit Britain. We are also proud of our Seasonal menus, with a focus on locally sourced ingredients and homemade food wherever possible.

As one of the few Free houses left in the area we pride ourselves on the largest range of local beers which goes hand in hand with our local producers and suppliers for our food, along with an extensive wine list 15 wines by the glass. Recently, we have added a new cosy Cellar Bar and Function room, which is open at weekends and for organised events, we also have a restored medieval courtyard at the rear for those warmer nights.

Picture of The Highway Inn, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double booked!
I arrived at the Highway Inn only to be told that they were double booked! This was despite making the booking several weeks earlier. I was sent around the corner to 'The Angel' where I was greeted warmly and shown to a very pleasant double room. The breakfast at 'The Angel' was smashing. I can recommend this public house to anyone who likes to stay in a small, quiet, cosy establishment with bags of character.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel again

Reviewed by
Kevin B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character and warm atmosphere
I stayed here for one night for business and found its central location in Burford very handy. Parking can be difficult as there is no dedicated car park, but I managed to get a space outside the hotel later in the day. The hotel itself is a characteristic old inn, complete with creaky floorboards, low ceilings and narrow staircases, with interesting little features and decorations scattered about the place. My room was overlooking the main street, so the odd lorry whooshing past is inevitable, but I slept very well. Some of the cabinets and drawers in my room were missing a handle here and there, but as I wasn't using them, it was no great problem. Overall I loved this place and would stay here again, especially for the locally sourced eggs and fresh orange juice I had at breakfast. One of the nicest breakfasts I've had in a long while!

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

have stayed at the highway 5 times now. Always warm and welcoming

Reviewed by
ALBERT DAVISON

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gorgeous inn
I booked a last minute overnight stay at the Highway Inn at a very good rate. Often in these circumstances you tend to get a pokey room at the back of the hotel overlooking the bins. This was wonderful, a lovely front room room overlooking the pretty high street, with a little complimentary carafe of sherry on arrival - a lovely touch. The room, linen and big brass antique bed were all beautifully kept and very comfy. I had missed dinner but a nice board of cheese and biscuits were quickly rustled up for me which seemed to be no trouble at all. A lovely spot - I shall return.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Stamford, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Unforgettable Place
Situated on a hill, this place assumes a character of its very own within a town where time seem to have stood still. The main dining room is the hubbub of the inn where guests are welcomed. As we climbed the staircase to the first floor, one notes the privacy of the rooms you pass by with names such as Windrush before we had to turn a corner to reach our designated room. The proprietor suggests that we have been chosen for a special treat, offering the 4 poster bedroom during our stay which was indeed, very special.
The ambience as night draws in the dining room changes with the flicker of the large candle in the middle of each table. The food we ordered was presented with panache which complimented the wine we chose.
Breakfast on the following morning was more than adequate, sustaining us for the next lap of journey, which is home.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
Rey R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent break
Stayed before and our break over half term was just as good. Great service and excellent food and beer

Reviewed by
M Upton

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Booking
I booked this room as i was making a last minute business trip, booked through laterooms so i could search by postcode. I wish i had stayed elswhere as i arrived late sunday 10.30 expecting the Inn to be open (normal opening times) i was greeted by an abrupt owner exclaiming i should have phone ahead, as i was so late. I was very qucikly taken to my room and deposited there. No offer of refreshment or a drink, which after a long drive was not what i expected. I would not stay again. Which is shame as i was looking for a well run hotel for more regular visits. I'll stick to large chains in future

Reviewed by
Mike S

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highway full of character but a little more needed!
Unable to open bedoom window for some fresh air but I think this was due to be repaired. Room was very clean and along with the rest of the Inn was full of character eg sloping floor, roof arch / support through the bedroom floor! However, it was on the 2nd floor and was a bit of a struggle with suitcases. Cold tap only just worked. We had a meal onsight but was a little disappointed as the 'special' was off as was the 'pie of the day' leaving a much reduced choice. The meal we choose though was very good as was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Martin

From Shipley, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recent stay
This was a charming hotel with friendly owners. Very comfortable but I noticed cobwebs on the ceiling above the bed and some mould around the window in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
Gillian T

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3