No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 2RA
Ideally located in the beautiful Chiltern countryside, this privately owned hotel & restaurant is but a short distance from the M1 and M25 motorways and a brief walk from Hemel Hempstead railway station that serves both London Euston and Birmingham New Street. For those on business, the Maylands Avenue and Buncefield industrial estates are a ten-minute drive away.

The 25 en-suite rooms are all warm, inviting and comfortable with most of them featuring scenic views over the quiet and tranquil gardens. All rooms include FREE Wi-Fi and satellite TV (including Sky Sports and movie channels), an iPod docking station, hairdryer, ironing facilities, trouser press and hospitality tray providing tea, coffee and biscuits. With rooms types ranging from good sized doubles to spacious family suites and elegant four-poster rooms, there is something to suit everyone whatever the occasion.

The award-winning Conservatory Restaurant offers fine-dining in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The Head Chef’s passion for creating wonderfully dishes is exemplified by the extensive use of fresh locally sourced produce and ingredients, including Mr Waller’s Aylesbury duck and Rickett’s Butchers fine meats. Such commitment has resulted in a seasonal menu that serves up a delightful array of contemporary and traditional English dishes. The Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday evenings from 6.30pm and on Sunday from noon where diners can enjoy a traditional 3-course Sunday lunch. If you would like to dine in the restaurant please ask to reserve a table when making a booking. Please note that the restaurant is closed Sunday evenings, but a selection of sandwiches will be available.

For those seeking leisure activities there are many options close by; the Snow Centre for skiing and snowboarding, riding stables and a number of golf clubs too. The hotel is also ideally located for visiting Woburn Safari park, Whipsnade Zoo, Waddesdon Manor and Warner Bros, Studio Tour – The Making of Harry Potter. The hotel is located in a 'Designated New Town' which means that it was completely redesigned and rebuilt after World War 2 though the 'Old Town' as affectionately referred to by residents is still standing. In the town, there is a plethora of things guests to the hotel can do such as The Snow Centre offering indoor skiing and snowboarding on a 160m main slope with perfect conditions all year around. For those looking for something a little slower, Little Hay and Shendish Manor both have 18 or 9-hole Golf courses with 'pitch and putt' and Little Hay also offers tuition.
Picture of Boxmoor Lodge Hotel, Hemel Hempstead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We needed somewhere local to the Harry Potter Studios and thought this Hotel Looked like it fitted our needs. When we arrived we were greeted in a friendly manner.
Noise wise we found it a little noisy being in close proximity to a main railway line and main road.
We also found the walls a little thin as they transmitted anything other guests were doing in their
rooms.
The rooms were well equipped and the beds were clean and comfortable.
The bathroom however could have been a little cleaner, the toilet in my room was not clean under the rim, you could see this when showering.
And the other room need the shower cubicle cleaning as it had green mould? in it.
At breakfast there was plenty of choice and again the staff were nice and friendly.
Overall it was ok but I think at £194 for one night for a family is a bit rich for my budget.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Average room, so thought it wasn't value for money as I didn't get a lot for my money.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming & comfortable. I specifically asked for a quiet room as I always do, and was very pleased with the accommodation allocated.

Reviewed by
John P

From March, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Harry potter studio weekend
Just spent a weekend at the Boxmoor lodge, with very few negatives, the only downside was the bed were a little uncomfortable, the mattress was quite hard. The room was very basic, but super clean, and I don't think we could expect more for £25pp including breakfast. The food was outstanding, and the staff went out of their way to make sure my fussy eaters were happy. Cheryl on reception was very accommodating and happy to help us out with any questions we had about getting around the area. Location was perfect, with only a 10 min (slow walk) to the nearest train station, which have is a direct train to Euston station to enable us to travel into the city.
The intention of our stay was to enable us to visit the Harry potter studios in Watford (amazing by the way) and this was about a 15 minute car ride journey away, was the perfect location for the studios. If not travelling by car there's also the train that stops at Watford station too!

Reviewed by
Fiona K

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top place to stay
From driving into the car park we were very impressed by how pretty & well kept the grounds were. The restaurant was immaculate & tastefully decorated & furnished.
A lovely setting with friendly staff who were keen to help & nothing was too much trouble.
I have already recommended this hotel as a place to stay with family & friends, we visited the Harry Potter studio's which was only a ten minute drive away.

Reviewed by
Sandra Williams

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Breakfast in Town
A real gem in Hemel Hempstead, very friendly staff, good rooms and safe parking. Great food and a breakfast to die for!

Reviewed by
Steve P

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant Stay
Very friendly staff. Nice set up. No complaints. Comfortable and relaxing.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden treasure!
What a fantastic place to stay.
The room we had was excellent and cosy on the ground floor: a small lodge style room. Free Wi-Fi was available which we found useful for planning our trips in to London.
The Lodge has a restaurant which servers stunning food. They catered well for our fussy daughter, providing her with half a rib eye steak and chips at very little cost.
Hemel Hempstead train station is a 2-minute walk down the road and, from her, a 30-minute train journey will take you to Euston.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with directions.
We will certainly be using Boxmoor again if we fancy a London trip.
Superb! 10/10

Reviewed by
Mike K

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Fantastic - A Must Go To Hotel
My wife and I stayed there for one night, we had the most fantastic evening, staff were friendly, efficient and went the extra mile to ensure that you felt at home. The food was amazing and overall was one of the best places we have stayed for a long time.

Reviewed by
G Hunt

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room lovely, bath too small, bed too hard, kettle why bother.

Reviewed by
l davies

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next