Reviews - Boxmoor Lodge Hotel


London Road, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 2RA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gary Watson

  • July 2015

Clean place and good parking

Myself and my wife only stayed a single night here.

Room was a twin bed as no doubles were available. Beds comfortable. Plenty of free parking on site. The room itself is OK, TV was rubbish where only a couple of channels worked. Bathroom was OK, shower worked well and provided plenty of hot water. Toilet took ages (maybe 10 minutes) to re-fill before you could flush it again.

  • Chris H

  • June 2015

Good value

Only downside was that room was above a party that went on until 11pm.

Sounded as though it was in our room. Nothing a glass of wine in the lovely outside area didn't fix. Have to drive on the "magic roundabout", which for a northerner is anything but magic.

  • B Clark

  • June 2015

One night stop-over

My niece and I needed a room to break our journey.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was very good value for money. The hotel itself was very picturesque but the location on the main London Rd may be a little busy for some. The breakfast was excellent and set us up perfectly for our continued journey.

  • Chris Finch

  • June 2015

Boxmoor Lodge

Excellent value for money.

  • Andrea L

  • June 2015

A lovely stopover for my daughter and I.

Quaint little lodges, great breakfast and no hassle checking in/out. Friendly staff in an ideal location. Would certainly consider for the future.

  • P Purvis

  • May 2015

Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Although this hotel is on a busy road, the rooms were in a courtyard setting and very quiet.

The room was spotless clean and the beds very comfortable. The room may have benefited from a fresh coat of gloss paint but that is only me being picky. The breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. Staff attentive and pleasant. Dining room immaculate and welcoming. We dined out in the evening and found several other restaurants within walking distance. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Valerie Docherty

  • May 2015

Two night stay at Boxmoor Lodge

A lovely welcome when you arrive, and throughout the stay the staff were really nice.

Breakfast was good, didn't have an evening meal but the menu sounded superb. My only gripe is that I am used to a super king size bed so having to sleep in a double size bed was not good for me. I did ring and check to see if they had king size beds but was told no. It didn't put me off booking it though, and I suppose this would be the only reason that I wouldn't return. But don't let that put anyone off as we did enjoy it.

  • Chris W

  • May 2015

Great place to stay

Comfortable and clean place to stay.

Owners clearly take pride in the place. Great food.

  • D Cornish

  • May 2015

A great get away

We booked this at the last moment.

The price was excellent, the rooms clean and well equipped, the breakfast was good, and the staff friendly. What more could we ask for?

  • C Kuruppu

  • April 2015

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay

Spent a night here during April.The lodge it very nice presented and the rooms are welcoming and feels homely..Friendly staff and very nice breakfast with a quick service.Would stay again and recommend to friends and family.