No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money in a beautiful location
I was really impressed by the Queens Head. It's the cheapest non-chain hotel I've found close to central Oxford by a wide margin, and the room we stayed in was lovely. While it was a little small, space was well-used and being able to park the car metres from the room was a huge bonus. It was convenient having an external door to the room, and given how hot it was during our stay we greatly appreciated finding an electric fan in our wardrobe! Everything was clean; there was a spare pillow, which I always find useful; we were glad of the Freeview TV and DVD player. The restaurant is extremely pretty - near to a corner shop, also convenient. The only minor issue I'd mention is that we couldn't check in until 5pm on a Monday (only realised this the day before arriving, so had to reorganise the trip a bit), and the QH observes restaurant opening hours so there was nobody there when we checked out (or when we had a crisis at 8am the morning before!). Just a slight inconvenience though, and it certainly wouldn't put me off staying here again. Thank you! :-)

Reviewed by
Katy E

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay if you need a room in the area, shame they were pushing us out the door!
Lovely staff at check in, very helpful and arranged us a cab to the wedding. Good quality room and facilities. In the morning the cleaner came into our room at 10am even thought check out wasn't till 11. She again came in the room at 10.45 and told us check out was at 11. Shame to feel so unwelcome at the end of our stay!

Reviewed by
charlotte w

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value - gateway to Oxford
My other half and I stayed at the Queen's Head as we were attending a wedding close by. We didn't actually spend too long at the hotel but the staff we encountered were all really friendly and our room, while a wee bit small/cosy, was all that we needed. It's a traditional English pub with a few rooms attached - don't expect the Ritz but expect attentive staff and, brilliantly, £2.50 for a pint!!

Reviewed by
Mark L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room near to the pub and nearby park and ride

Reviewed by
Cor K

From Haren, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice place to stay. good accommodation and food.
Very comfortable. Warm welcome. Continental breakfast in the room was very convenient. Meals in the restaurant were good. Excellent local beer was a bonus.

Reviewed by
D Bayliss

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, cosy accommodation.
We went to Oxford to see a concert, to be told as we were arriving that the concert had been cancelled due to illness! Not a great start to our break.
However, we decided to continue, as there's so many things to do in Oxford anyway. So glad we did.
The accommodation was spotless & the owners were very friendly & helpful. We also spoke to several of the locals for advice where to visit. They were all very welcoming & polite.
Although we only stayed for one night, we will definitely stay here again, should we visit Oxford in the future.

Reviewed by
leslie d

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy nest
Nice, clean, cottage style accommodation with all mod cons. The hot water tap in the bathroom sink wasn't working when I was there but I'm sure that was only a temporary thing and there was still hot water for showers. Overall, a pleasant experience and I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely community atmosphere
This was a nice little public house, very friendly owner and staff even after I had asked if we could be moved to a room inside the accomodation from the one we had been given. I was dissapointed that we had an annex room at the back of the pub right next to the car park. I was worried about noise and light coming in through thin blind. We were willing to pay extra but no other rooms were available but were assured that it was very qiuet at night and the lights would go out which turned out to be true.
The breakfast was very adequate for the price but again was strange to be eating it in our room.
The bed was very comfy, the room very clean but felt like we were in a box and estranged from the main body of the pub!
This was a good place if you want complete solitude but was not the quaint old English pub experience I had expected!

Reviewed by
Janet L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good nights sleep.
The Inn is a very friendly location - good food and drinks. Happy people at the inn and a very comfortable room. We were only a couple, but with the mezanine floor there were two extra single beds, so a group of four or a family would have fitted in - no problemmo. A hair dryer was not supplied and this was the only blemish on the excellent room.

Reviewed by
Graham Trafford

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodating service
I came with some specific requirements, ie a second duvet for under the bottom sheet for hip pain and cooked vegetables for breakfast, as well as for dinner. All of these were provided with great willingness.
The only thing missing was a hairdryer in my room, this is being attended to. The ironing board is one that fits on a table, ironing a long dress was a bit problematic. I am sure that if I had asked for a different ironing board I would have been given one.

Reviewed by
Zoe Grace Cozens

From Harleston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next