No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chiltern Hotel Luton Airport

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Waller Avenue , Luton, LU4 9RU
Free WIFI at this modern business hotel within easy access of the M1. The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Situated on the outskirts of Luton town centre the Chiltern Hotel is within close proximity of Luton Airport and London.
From the moment you arrive at The Chiltern Hotel you can expect to receive the warmest of welcomes from the friendly staff, who will be on hand throughout your stay to guarantee comfort.

Please also note that our complimentary fitness centre has just opened on site.

The informal restaurant at the Chiltern Hotel Luton is the ideal place to meet friends or colleagues, and enjoy excellent fare and a great selection of wines. Should you wish to meet with friends before you head out into the Luton nightlife, why not pop into the hotel bar. Here you can lounge in sumptuous style enjoying an expertly prepared cocktail or your selection from a wide range of fine wines, spirits and beers.

Children Go Free - children up to the age of 12 stay for FREE when sharing a room with two adults, and if you are having breakfast, we will include the children's breakfast at no extra cost. FREE onsite Gym.

Picture of Chiltern Hotel Luton Airport, Luton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist, Ash, was as helpful as possible but the hotel room needed some attention. The shower tap was hanging loose one side, the dial and button the other side didn't turn so water temp could not be adjusted and there was no remote control to use the TV. The risotto I ate that night was fried rice with onion and a sprinkle of mushroom not mushroom risotto which was disappointing but I was hungry and ate it. I wouldn't rush to recommend it but I've stayed in much worse!

Reviewed by
Karen B

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's fantastic and I enjoy the privacy.
Positive, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Teddy A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible. Not worth the money!
We chose this specific hotel due to its apparent location - listed as an airport hotel (We flew to Luton to see Pearl Jam in concert) To our surprise, we were £17 in a taxi to the hotel (15 mins away) Unless its my naivety i would not consider a 15 minute drive as an "airport hotel".
From the car park the hotel looked great but within seconds of stepping out the taxi my partner almost caused himself serious injury tripping on the loose tiles at the front entrance.
Credit where credit is due, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, promplty checking us in and issuing our room key.
When we arrived at our room we found the temperature in there was immense, no air con was compensated with a small electric fan (which we had to use the entire time during our summer stay)
The dresser drawer contained mouldy pork pies and someone's left over sandwhich, must have been missed by the cleaners. The bathroom had no soap/wash provided and the bathroom drawers were broken.
Given the chosen location we were prepared to not expect much around about us for exploring that evening so decided to eat in the hotel. We called reception and they kindly booked us a reservation for 7pm. When we arrived we quickly realised that no reservation was necessary, not a single guest was to be seen, we were literally the only guests eating in the hotel...not a great sign. Again the staff were very friendly and showed us to our seat. The table cloths were very tired looking having been through the wash too many times, as were the cloth napkins (which we didnt even feel comportable using) The cutlery wasnt clean and had to be changed and we were pestered by the constant swarming of flies. We also found what can only be described as "small curly" hairs on the table cloth. Looking back i have no idea why we stayed for the meal after the intial impression but we decided to be fair and give the food a go. We ordered 2 starters and 2 mains. The chicken satay skewers arrived cold and chewy with no satay flavour whatsoever, i reckon these were just frozen and chucked in the oven for 10 mins before serving (not home-made, probably from a supermarket!) I had mushroom risotto for my main and it was made with basmati rice....not a risotto at all. The chips were also from a freezer bag. The beers served were flat so there must have been some issue with the barrell. The waiter although very pleasant must have asked us half a dozen times during our hour meal if we were enjoying the food etc, i eventually gave in and told him we werent and the chef agreed to remove the risotto from our bill and we left. I was still left hungry so were ventured along the road to the corner shop - not something you would want to do alone in this area, every house seemed to be having a party with not so friendly drunks in every second garden that we passed. We quickly grabbed a snack and headed back to the room to watch tv before getting some sleep, even this proved a challenge with a broken tv. The staff arrived within the hour and got things up and running for us. The matress was terrible and worn down needing replaced.
All in all i would say the staff are being left to deal with a very bad situation in this hotel and i felt sorry for them, its in need of some serious rennovations, a good clean and a new chef. We paid £160 for 2 nights and i would suggest they are punching way above their weight with that price - its more of a £50 per night hotel maximum. One of our taxi drivers boldly questioned our choice of hotel saying "its well known for having a bad rep"
LateRooms should consider removing this hotel from their site.

Reviewed by
J Knowles

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, but maybe I just struck lucky. The room I had was recently refurbished and very pleasant with all the amenities you would expect. The public areas were a little tired, but this is a busy hotel. It is on the main road with some traffic noise, but then the location makes it ideal for the business traveller. Staff were accommodating and friendly and were willing to go out of their way to help which is unusual in this day and age.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again!
On the whole was a very disappointing stay! Firstly was left waiting at reception while receptionist took call after call, not a problem but at least acknowledge our presence! I am going to cut a long story short! One bath towel,when i clearly stated on the booking and that we were a couple! Heating didn't work,so got given a portable one which after about 1 minute stopped working and took the tv with it! Payed extra for better room with King size bed only to find two singles pushed together! I can live with that but not when you find yourself falling in-between them at stupid o'clock! I don't mind paying! I never have, but i just want what i pay for!! Never again!

Reviewed by
mark b

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's ok.
It's clean, but needs an update everywhere you look. I think they rely on the weekend wedding market more. I did have a basic sandwich, it was ok, like a sandwich out of a petrol station with a few crisps scattered over it. As said, if you need somewhere to lay your head down or have a little meeting it's fine. I'd say the value of the rooms should be around £45 max.

Reviewed by
Steven Bennett

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall opinion
I work at night and had to book the hotel for three nights when I only needed two days. My problem. I booked the room but could not get to the hotel until the day after I should have taken up residence. To cover myself I rang the hotel and told them that I would not be at the hotel on the first night of the reservation and that I would be there at 6am the following morning. When I came to check in my reservation had been cancelled. The receptionist didn't seem to know what he was doing and it took about 15 minutes to book in. After a long drive and 10 hours at work it was not what I wanted.
Later that day I left the room to go to work and told the reception desk that I required my room to be serviced, towels changed etc. On returning to the room nothing had been done. At six o clock in the morning and having worked for 12 hours I was not in the mind of trying to get my room cleaned.
The bathroom wash basin did not drain properly and even when cleaning my teeth it filled up and did not drain away for some time. Cobwebs on the curtains, hairs on the bathroom floor, dust in the corners of the bathroom and blood on the bathroom door makes you feel very uneasy.
This is the sort of hotel I would stay in as a last resort and I was. Cheap but not cheerful. I would stay here again because of the price not because it inspired me. No good for family.

Reviewed by
Stephen Paul

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good staff and great value hotel

Reviewed by
Debra Read

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
we had a comfortable enjoyable stay, the staff we helpful and the room and food very good. we would definitely come to the Chiltern again.

Reviewed by
Ava M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bestvalueformoneyhotel
We really enjoyed our stay at the Chiltern Hotel, Staff were friendly and courteous at all times. It is located in a convenient location.
Gerard Minogue.

Reviewed by
C Minogue

From Castlebar, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next