No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CHEPSTOW ROAD , NEWPORT, NP18 2JN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Surrounded by picturesque Welsh countryside in the affluent village of Langstone, The New Inn is a family friendly hotel on the rural outskirts of Newport, just minutes from the M4 motorway and close to some of the best golf courses in the UK, including Celtic Manor.

Cardiff and Bristol are both less than 30 minutes away on the M4, making the New Inn a relaxing base for doing business in either city, or planning a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is ideal for meetings and away days too.

The hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms including family and pet-friendly rooms, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Fayre & Square pub restaurant and Wacky Warehouse on site.
Less than 20 miles from Cardiff and close to Newport, historic Caerleon and the famous Celtic Manor course, the hotel is conveniently located just 1.6 miles off junction 24 of the M4, on the A48 Chepstow Road.
Picture of New Inn by Good Night Inns, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed in a downstairs room at the end of a long corridor, we had our crated little cavalier dog with us..and assume that was the dog rooms..however we paid the same price as any ther room , but were not charged for the dogs... it was a little unnerving late at night going down the corridor as their were alot of single workmen staying in the rooms and when on my own felt uncomfortable. The room was quite dark and very hot due to hot water running through the pipes..our friends were upstairs in a much nicer room but there was a query that we had only booked one dog when my email had stated that there would be one dog in each room required.. we were made to feel like we had tried to sneak a dog in which is not the case by a young receptionist.. however the rooms were clean and the food at the inn was lovely, beds clean and comfortable and we would stay again ..regards Sheena Player

Reviewed by
s player

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Ok for an overnight business stay.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Security and a bit of lighting wouldn't go amiss
Arriving late at night both nights the front door was not properly closed so anyone could have walked in. Plus the fire escape door was wedged wide open. Reception was closed, not a soul in sight. Didn't seem secure to me.
Two lights in the room didn't work and the other bulb was so dim it was useless.
Reception were helpful enough. I chose this place on price so wasn't surprised the room was small and basic. But security and working fixtures should be a given wherever you are.

Reviewed by
Rebecca A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bill was a positive surprise
I used the New Inn with very short notice. Value for money meal. In the morning, there was no power in the sockets, so no tea. when I mentioned it to reception they discounted my stay without me asking for it which was more than fair

Reviewed by
Herluf T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in New Inn Motel - very cosy little hotel with friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Anna C

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate low priced hotel - Wales
It was OK

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

honeymoon
we thought the hotel was brilliant everything that you needed friendly staff should be able to get cash out of the atm for free not having to pay 1.99 for it clean hotel will recommend it to family and friends would love to stay there for the xmas offer if i could pay when i get there

Reviewed by
jenny palmer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accomodation at a reasonable price
In previous years when in the area I had stayed at the Premier Inn, just up the road, but thought I would try this Inn, as it was much cheaper and seemed to offer similar facilities. The room looked as if it could do with a new carpet and was very dim, even with all the lights on, but it provided all you needed for a comfortable stay. There was plenty of convenient car parking and it matched all the facilities of a Premier Inn, but without the bath! The connected restaurant/bar served decent real ale, and the food was fine if you like burgers, pies, steaks or fish and chips, but lacked many healthy options. I only ate there once during my 4 night stay as a result. Overall I thought it was an excellent choice, good value for money, and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Derek H

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with size of ensuite bathroom

Reviewed by
William H

From Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only complaint struggled with wheelchair, had to go outside in rain to get to restaurant- too many stairs.

Reviewed by
s harris

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next