No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CHEPSTOW ROAD , NEWPORT, NP18 2JN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Surrounded by picturesque Welsh countryside in the affluent village of Langstone, The New Inn is a family friendly hotel on the rural outskirts of Newport, just minutes from the M4 motorway and close to some of the best golf courses in the UK, including Celtic Manor.

Cardiff and Bristol are both less than 30 minutes away on the M4, making the New Inn a relaxing base for doing business in either city, or planning a last minute short break. With free parking and a fully equipped meeting and function room, the hotel is ideal for meetings and away days too.

The hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms including family and pet-friendly rooms, all with flat-screen digital TV, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests and tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and a Fayre & Square pub restaurant and Wacky Warehouse on site.
Less than 20 miles from Cardiff and close to Newport, historic Caerleon and the famous Celtic Manor course, the hotel is conveniently located just 1.6 miles off junction 24 of the M4, on the A48 Chepstow Road.
Picture of New Inn by Good Night Inns, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good budget hotel
On the whole this hotel was comfortable & good value with polite,helpful staff available 24hrs.We arrived at 10.30pm after a day travelling &, after ringing the bell on the reception desk a member of staff came promptly from the on site pub & checked us in.The room was very clean but the mugs for tea/coffee looked like they had just been swilled under the tap rather than taken to the kitchen to be cleaned properly.The hotel was quiet & relaxing & a refreshing stopover for our travels.We would use it again as a stopover point.

Reviewed by
M Lloyd

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value clean accomodation

Reviewed by
E Hare

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good experience-as expected
welcoming good on arrival-room welcoming and nicely furnished-under cover access to pub next door. Would have booked another night if had the extra day to use. Loved the fresh fruit at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel, shame about the restaurant
We booked into the hotel; bit surprised that there was only a shower cubicle and no bath - can't remember that being specified anywhere to be honest but it was adequate. Would have been very disappointed had I paid full price for the room though.
We went into the restaurant for dinner; ordered starters that came quite quickly and were very nice. However, the main meal took over three quarters of an hour to arrive. I had fish, which was OK but very small considering the price (I ordered the "cod father" which was nearer a fishfinger), and the jacket potato I had with it was also very very small. My partner ordered the steak medium rare - it was rare and not medium so half of it was inedible. And cold, as was my potato. My fish was nice and hot but small. We were too tired by this time to make a fuss and send it back, having waited for so long. Very disappointing considering the price, and the fact that what we ordered didn't fit into any of their special offers like "2 for" deals so we paid a lot more than I would have expected for somewhere like this, well outside a city centre.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night near Newport.
The photo displayed on the 'Late Rooms' site was misleading, I thought we were staying in a pretty, white, old country inn, when in reality it turned out to be a horrible modern block behind the 'inn'. The room was as you would expect for this type of 'chain' except everything was 'screwed down' and there was no complimentory soap, shampoo or bath gel. However the worse thing about it was the stiffling 'heat' as we walked up the stairs it got worse, and you could not open the windows any wider than about three inches. they were fixed. Needless to say we could hardly sleep in this airless atmospher. Most uncomfortable. The extractor fan in the bathroom was also very loud.
The good things were, it was very clean and the bed was comfy.

Reviewed by
maureen lockyer

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cycle-Friendly Accommodation
Wanted to share our experience of staying overnight at New Inn with other cyclists - we stayed here at the start of three week cycling holiday. We had driven there at start of trip with bikes in our van, hoping that staff would let us leave van in car park whilst we cycled across Wales and back. A tall order, given the length of time involved. We were delighted then when the receptionist not only agreed for us to park there, but also suggested putting it under their CCTV camera and securing the key in their safe ready to collect on our return. No charge, either! Customer service at its best! Fab start to fab holiday in a fab place with fab people - diolch!

Reviewed by
D Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The pub attracts many families with young children and can be very noisy.

Reviewed by
Brian Skeet

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accommodation
We stayed 2 nights at the New Inn at Newport in July 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside but the rooms were spacious, very clean and nicely decorated; we were very pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast was fine and we had an evening meal which was great value and very nice. Could not fault the staff who were all really helpful and pleasant. All in all it was great value and we would definitely stay there again. Well done to the New Inn!

Reviewed by
Mary G

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay

Reviewed by
k beesley

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
New Inn Motel was fine, adequate for my purpose. Breakfast was ok, plenty of it.

Reviewed by
Carmel B

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next