No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Steventon House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Milton Hill, Steventon, Abingdon, OX13 6AB
Nestled in the heart of the Oxfordshire countryside, Steventon House Hotel extensively refurbished is an ideal destination for anyone who appreciates fine comfort. Offering fabulous accommodation and exquisite cuisine, our establishment is perfect for the weary business traveller or for those of you who just fancy a well-deserved break.
Steventon House Hotels rich history has shaped the property. Creating an elegant setting for contemporary luxury living with a vintage twist. Featuring 23 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, an outstanding brasserie restaurant, striking wine bar, classical library and spacious conservatory function suite. Steventon House Hotels breathtaking interior is combined with unfaltering personal service - ‘it will be your home away from home…’

All our 23 bedrooms are individually designed and either evoke the classic charm of this wonderful property and its bygone era, or provide you with a contemporary base where comfort and mod cons are combined to meet the needs of even the most discerning clientele.
Each of bedrooms are decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard, providing all the modern amenities desired.

Free wi-fi and car parking is available.

For the business user the hotel is very convenient for Milton Park, Harwell Business Centre, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Infineum complex and the Core Training Centre, all of which are within 3 miles of the hotel.
Picture of Steventon House Hotel, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, nice place and location.
I have in the past stayed here on many trips but had not had the occasion to come back for several years. When I walked in the front door, the staff immediately recognized me and even recalled my name. Very nice. I will be back, given a chance. Feels very comfortable, like a big bed and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Win
We booked at the last minute and wasn't sure what we'd get, but when we turned in to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the place looked. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were not in the main building, but in the annex. The rooms were a little dated, but perfectly serviceable. The pillows were tiny, but I found proper sized pillows in the cupboard.

Reviewed by
E Casson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Very nice welcome on arrival. Staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Spacious room which had all the facilities you really only need for a night away.
Excellent location.
Only qualm would be the drinks are pricey. We were both on soft drinks but managed to walk away with quite a hefty amount to pay on that front.
Definitely would stay again and would recommend to a friend. Can imagine it would make a really great wedding venue!

Reviewed by
Kristina S

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always been a nice hotel always get a nice room
Nicely situated, very quiet; rooms are very nice. The reception girls are lovely; good deal if you can pick up a room at a special rate.

Reviewed by
Jayne Mclaughlin

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Really enjoyed my stay. Food was amazing and staff very pleasant. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Dan D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here with colleagues twice during August. We were working long hours and Steventon House was just what we needed at the end of a long day. The food was fantastic, they have an extensive menu and every single thing we tried was delicious. Clean plates all round!!
The rooms were comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good. All the usuals for continental and then you could order cooked food which was all very fresh and tasty (the toast was hot!! cold toast in hotels is a pet hate of mine).
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it as a good base for exploring the area or a good stop over point if you're just passing through.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel, in a beautiful rural setting. Good choice of restaurants in the village as well as the hotel.

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room pity about the breakfast
We were given an upgrade on arrival and the room was large and well presented. It was clean and comfortable and made up to a high standard each day.
The problems came when we went to breakfast. The presentation was extremely poor, and the sausages in particular we're definitely not to our liking. On the last day we were presented with a disgusting buffet ....the bacon was cold and swimming in a fatty/watery liquid the eggs were overlooked the toast was cold and even the tea was tasteless. Other guest were going table to table trying to hunt down butter....and any positive feelings we had were immediately negated.

Reviewed by
Stephen Johnson

From Brechin, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend staying here.
I was upgraded to a luxury room due to a cancellation. The room was clean, well presented and very comfortable. The staff here are very good, they made us feel very welcome and are very friendly.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.