Reviews - Miskin Manor Country Hotel

4

PENDOYLAN ROAD, Pontyclun nr Cardiff, CF72 8ND

Price From 133.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • chris s

  • March 2015

Sums me up clean, comfortable, old fashioned and value for money

Fine old country house set in an estate so quiet location not that difficult to find - ideal for me for my purpose - if you can avoid function nights it would seem to be quiet and well ordered, can't speak for what it would be like when busy , but that's when they make their living so must surely get it right.

Bar small in lounge , lounge food fine , didn't use restaurant but breakfast buffet was good ( I was early) but I expect standard was maintained.

  • Melanie B

  • March 2015

Not my kind of hotel

The room was not very clean, the toilet had been used and not flushed and the whole room had a musty smell.

However, when I raised my concerns the staff were incredibly helpful, checked me out with no charge and very efficiently and were very apologetic. You cant ask for more than that.

  • c thomas-white

  • March 2015

Miskin Manor Country Hotel

Fabulous staff, especially lovely manners from a waitress.

Lovely stay and will go back!

  • John T

  • March 2015

Room not cleaned

Stayed here for 3 nights on business over the weekend.

Friday and Saturday night loud music due to functions. On return to hotel on Saturday evening found my room hadn't been cleaned, called reception to complain, no sympathy whatever. Same thing happened on the next 2 days, room not cleaned. Again called reception to complain, this time some sympathy but no action. Room was ok but tired, restaurant food was good. Will not be returning as customer service is poor to non existant.

  • R Thomas

  • March 2015

Excellent stay in a quality hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

I was impressed by the helpful staff who provided a quiet room well away from wedding festivities.

Excellent meals with attentive service staff.

  • John S

  • March 2015

Great Place ,Great Staff, Great Food...Don't go Saturday Night

Miskin Manor has been beautifully restored by the current owners, and as such has a wonderful atmosphere about the place, both in the interior and the lovely grounds it stands in.

The staff where lovely, very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very clean and tastefully decorated, we stayed in one of The Cottages connected to the main part of the house. We had both afternoon tea and an evening meal during our stay and the food was of a good standard, although we had a one hour wait for the main meal to be served, though it has to be said we were pretty relaxed and in no rush to get back to the bar or our room. The only real problem (and it was a big one) was the noise on the Saturday Night. At an establishment like this you naturally expect Weddings and party events to be staged at the Weekends, and with that you expect a certain level of activity and noise, which is mentioned both on the Miskin Manor website and on your booking form when you get it. What you don't expect is a P.A. system next door to your room. Luckily we were out on the Saturday evening and didn't return until 11.15. But we still had 45 minutes of the loudest music I've ever experienced in a hotel, to get an idea of how loud it was, we had the telly on full blast and we couldn't hear it. Thankfully at midnight it stopped. But if you're planning a romantic weekend away, I think I'd avoid Miskin Manor. If we'd have been there all evening we wouldn't have been happy at all. It's a shame because this hotel rates very highly in many areas. Yes we'd return to Miskin because we loved so many aspects of it, but it would only be a midweek stay.

  • David G

  • February 2015

Miskin Manor Country Hotel

Room a little dated but good quality and fitted with the atmosphere of the hotel.

Dining experience was excellent - food good and service very attentive at both dinner and breakfast.

  • Barbara T

  • February 2015

Room a bit chilly on arrival, ok after boosting heater.

Took almost 10 mins for hot water to begin filling bath.

  • anne h

  • February 2015

I have stayed before and it was very good; however this time it was a very noisy and poor experience overall.

Some of the service was careless and demonstrated very poor training. However other staff members were very good. As usual, finding people to provide tea and coffee and a drink was a hunt and a hide and seek exercise. The lamb was tough and I left most of it on my plate. Scrambled eggs should be fresh.

I looked forward to staying but not sure if I would do so again.

  • K Brown

  • February 2015

Miskin Manor

i booked a single ensuite room, on arrival was shown to a massive double room.

The hotel is beautiful - although a little chilly the staff couldn't be more helpful-they fetched me an extra heater for my room without hesitation and I was so warm after that it made a huge difference. Breakfast was lovely, buffet style hot & cold but if requested they will make anything not there - poached eggs for example. The decor is a little worn and the hotel appears dated - but let's face it-the place is older than all of us!. The only off putting thing was the cat that seemed to live there-I am not a fan of cats and to find it at the top of the stairs and on the seat in the hallway was creepy. If I was with my partner I feel we'd have had an issue as he is allergic to cats-maybe it should be mentioned before booking.