No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THROSTLES NEST

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
344 Scotland Road , LIVERPOOL, L5 5AQ
A superb 18th century hotel recently refurbished, and one of the most famous pubs in Liverpool. Your stay at this Bed & Breakfast Hotel is a real experience, providing you easy access to Liverpool City Centre - just a quarter of a mile away!!

Close to all major attractions, explore all that Liverpool has to offer, from its magical nightlife to the peace and tranquility of our two, amazing Cathedrals and of course a visit to Liverpool would not be complete without seeing our world famous football clubs - LIVERPOOL FC & EVERTON FC - all a five minute ride away!
Picture of THROSTLES NEST, LIVERPOOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel
My stay here was excellent and would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone travelling to Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Elvis G

From Bridgetown, Barbados
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise
Friendly helpful staff apologetic when I complained about traffic noise and said room we were in could not be double glazed because building is listed. Offered to reduce price if we visit again. Avoid room 101!

Reviewed by
J Lawson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel 10 minute walk into the centre of liverpool.
The hotel from the outside didn't look much but when you got inside the welcome we got was fantastic. They really went out of the way to help us. I would definately stay there again and would also recommend it to all my friends and family.

Reviewed by
Martin Williams

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lesson learned: Not to judge a book by it's cover
When we arrived I was 100% sure we were not staying in that hotel. From the outside it looked grubby and the arealeft much to be desired. The kids refused to leave the car.
It was my intention to speak to Tommy the proprietor to explain that we simply couldn't stay.
Once inside Tommy was very pleasant and understanding.
He offered to show us the room which was not what I was expecting. It was clean and well presented.
Tommy explained the area was going through a regeneration project and although it wasn't at it's best it was a fairly quiet area.He won me over so it wass my turn to do the same with the kids.
When I finally convinced them (and the husband) as they had already found another hotel .Once inside we were made to feel welcome. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was okay. Nice to have a vegetarian option of sausages. All in all despite it not being the type of place we would usually have stayed.we had a very pleasant stay.
My sons words 'I guess you shouldn't judge a book by its cover eh mum?' I think I d tend to agree.

Reviewed by
P St.Louise

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame about the street
A really nice, clean hotel and the staff are really welcoming and look after you. Unfortunately, the hotel is located in a very run down area on the outskirts of the city centre. Don't let this put you off as a 5 min taxi ride (£4) will have you whisked into this vibrant city. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again (but only with my friends, not as a romantic break).

Reviewed by
Neil J

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and friendly
We arrived 2 hours before advised check-in time and were immediately given our room which was clean and had everything we needed.
The staff were chatty and friendly and gave us great advice on where to go and what to see in Liverpool.
Breakfast was good with vegetarian choices and friendly waitress.
Good value for money. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
SUZAN W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
A 20 minute walk from Liverpool Lime Street. Friendly and helpful staff. Room pretty basic which didn't matter as I was using it as a base only.

Reviewed by
David E

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
We stayed at the Throstles Nest over the weekend of the 23rd and 24th of May. Accommodation was closer to the city than expected and service from all staff was brilliant! Thanks again!

Reviewed by
David McCrory

From Motherwell, Scotland
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice little hotel within easy walking distance of the city centre
I booked this hotel after being disappointed at the high prices of seemingly every other hotel near the centre of Liverpool. I was not disappointed - Throstles Nest was good value, and the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.
The room was perfectly nice, and the walk into the centre of Liverpool took about fifteen minutes. Alternatively, there's a bus stop right outside the hotel.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
C Arthurs

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel and very nice staff
We traveled there for a football match and booked 3 twin rooms. We were welcomed by a very friendly service and were shown to the rooms. The hotel we quiet and clean and tidy. They advised us were to go for food / taxis and were to head to town .
The breakfast was nice and they were even kind enough to mate one of my lazy mate a bacon sandwich to have when he woke up !
Over all a nice stay and would stay there again.
Ps we parked on a local street no issue and it was free !

Reviewed by
David C

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next