No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sun Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Main Street, Cumbria, LA22 0NT
With free parking and free Wi-Fi, The Sun Inn offers charming rooms with period features. In the heart of the Lake District, the inn is metres from the shores of Black Beck. Set in a 17th-century coaching inn, the cosy bedrooms at Sun Inn feature bare stone walls and stylish decor. All rooms have a private modern bathroom, handmade furniture and a flat-screen TV. The popular restaurant serves a traditional British menu using fresh, local produce. The bar offers light meals, snacks and beverages, and generous breakfasts are served daily. Situated in picturesque Hawkshead, The Sun is surrounded by walking tracks and cycling routes. Ambleside can be reached in 10 minutes’ drive, and beautiful Lake Windermere is just 3 miles away.
Picture of Sun Inn, Cumbria at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor of the rooms was not what I would have chosen.

Reviewed by
William L

From Carrboro, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect stay
From the time we arrived, to the time we left it was a wonderful stay, the food was fantastic and the staff were very helpful, stayed there quite a few times, would stay there over an over

Reviewed by
L Carter

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money lovely room managed despite low ceilings and my husband been 6 foot six
Good value for money
Lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
M Billinghurst

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Don't expect five star luxury...................what you will get is amazing olde world charm along with great service excellent food and great beer.
It was a wonderful stay

Reviewed by
Stephen Carr

From Carrickfergus, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sun Inn Hawkshead
Very clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast. Excellent location for walking in the Lakes. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
A Rhodes

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasent stay.Room very nice.Food excellent.Would recomend this accomadation too friends.

Reviewed by
J Gray

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Sun Inn Hawkshead
As we arrived at the Sun Inn we was greeted by the owner who was very pleasant. He supplied us with a pass for free parking in the main car park 100 yards away from the accommodation and showed us to our room. The room was very clean and cosy with digital tv, tea and coffee facilities, and a clean warm shower. We had tea on site which was excellent and reasonably priced, also had a great selection of local ales which i enjoyed. They have also got big screen sky sports, and a pool table which the owners dog Sasha (boarder collie) loves to watch. Breakfast in the morning was great, a big english breakfast or you could choose cereal. Over all our stay at the Sun Inn was excellent it is very pleasant and has a great homely feel. We will be back again soon thankyou.

Reviewed by
Craig Rhodes

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sun Inn Hawkshead - what a great find
We booked the Sun Inn through late rooms just 1 day before we stayed, and really did not expect to find anything this good. On arrival we were offered a free upgrade to a room with a 4 poster bed, the room and the Inn in general is very old with masses of character. The room was a little dark but with an Inn this old it would have been out of character if it wasn't. Everything was very clean, all the staff were very helpful, and the location was perfect, right in the village which is very historic and straight out of a picture postcard. We booked this break to mark my wife's birthday and the Sun Inn and Hawkshead really made it a special day. Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise as the late rooms confirmation said it was excluded. We did not take an evening meal at the Sun so cannot comment but the menu looked ok.

Reviewed by
Des Q

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality, delicious food, cosy room
A great place to stay. A warm welcome from all the staff, quite casual and a relaxing atmosphere. Bar area cosy and inviting. Food was excellent!! Breakfast area in need of sprucing up and a bit on the dark side, but clean and tidy. The room we stayed in (number 3) was lovely. Beamed ceiling and lovely stonework, very quaint. As we are both quite tall it suited us better than the attic rooms, as we heard they had sloping ceilings which may have proved difficult to move about in. Thought we would mention the plumbing as it is a sani flo system in operation. It is a bit noisy but you can live with it and didn't spoil our stay.
Overall a really pleasant stay and would stay there again no problem

Reviewed by
Norma Oliver

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Country Inn
We arrived at the Sun Inn in the pouring rain on a dark December afternoon. But our cheery welcome more than made up for the weather. The room was cosy but not cramped. All the facilities were excellent, including free wi-fi. Dinner was excellent. We had the local duck. Breakfast was cooked to order and set us up for the following day. My only quibble would be that because this is a very old building sound travels, especially the plumbing and extractor fan in the room above. However the very reasonable bar prices and excellent local ales ensured a good night's sleep.
The best thing was the welcoming attitude of the owners and their staff who made us feel like genuine guests and not just customers. Free car parking was a bonus. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mike Stanton

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next