Gliffaes Country House Hotel

4

GLIFFAES ROAD, CRICKHOWELL, NP8 1RH

Price From 233.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P James

  • March 2015

Relaxing stay

The staff were very attentive and friendly and the hotel was very comfortable.

  • Jane L

  • October 2014

Lovely setting, disappointing stay

It is set in amazing countryside but the decor looks tired and the room was tiny.

If I'd been warned it would have been ok but for over £100, because it was a late booking, I expected more. Will not go again.

  • Alice F

  • October 2014

beautiful decor

Beautifully done in every part that I saw.

Beautiful grounds in a lovely setting. One thing I would say is that the evening meal is very expensive although the chef is obviously very good. Also, some of the staff were a little frosty.

  • Mandy R

  • August 2014

Good weekend

Very nice hotel,friendly and nice food and lovely location.

Would stay here again.

  • philip coy

  • May 2014

Splendid and spacious clean room.

Bedding was turned down for us every night. Nice size bed. Could not fault anything with the room.

  • Joan K

  • March 2014

For a treat........

Go to the Gliffaes.

There you will find a country house hotel with personal service and wonderful food in an idyllic setting.I wonder why it hasn't got a Michelin star ?

  • clare f

  • August 2013

Lovely little find hidden away - well worth a visit and great staff.

  • Lynn H

  • August 2013

The room was a little cramped and the bathroom fittings were not quite up to standard, the floor was particularly poor.

The grounds and public rooms are wonderful as are the staff. Breakfast was the only meal we took but was superb on each of the three days we were there. Overall I feel the room we had was overpriced but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider staying again should I be in the area.

  • Lewis Jenkins

  • July 2013

Great stay and even better dinner

We stayed one night at the hotel to celebrate the wife's birthday.

Arrived just after 2pm and were checked into our River View room immediately then had a light lunch on the terrace. In the evening we had a magnificent dinner: only one course for me comprising lemon sole with chorizo and coriander and new potatoes. Probably the best lemon sole I've ever had. My wife had chicken breast with pancetta and she said that it was probably the best chicken she's ever had. The weather was very hot so we slept with the windows wide open and it was very pleasant to wake up in the morning to hear the house martins chirping outside the window. The only (slight) criticism I would offer was that the heated towel rail in the bathroom was hot, and as the pipe ran under the floor the bathroom was warm when we needed cool. Special mention for the staff who were all unfailingly helpful and friendly. A memorable stay.

  • Patricia U

  • June 2013

A very comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff.

The bedroom was beautiful although pricy!!!The food was good but a little limited with regard to the menu and my egg florentine and poached egg for breakfast were both hard boiled. The dining room was pretty and inviting and the china complemented the decor and was a luxury touch

The grounds are a delightful feature of the hotel as is the excellent tennis court.