No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ty Newydd Country Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare, CF44 9SX
At the Ty Newydd Country Hotel we have everything you have been looking for - tranquility, comfort, excellent food - and some of the most beautiful scenery in Wales right on our doorstep.
Picture of Ty Newydd Country Hotel, Aberdare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless service
Hotel in lovely setting with plenty of parking.
Staff really accommodative, friendly and caring.
I needed to stay a second night and my sister was accompanying me for this and the staff attended to our needs seamlessly.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
M Salsbury

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Food, Good central location for commuting.
Excellent hotel, nice helpful staff in a relaxing location. Food was excellent and would stay there again. We stayed in room 9, and only minor things that I would mention which are constructive comments, was that in the bathroom, the lovely large metal bath had deep sides and did not have any grab rails on it, nor did it have a anti slip mat in it. A shorter or maybe elderly person would have found it difficult to get in and out without grab rails, and a anti slip mat was I thought most definately needed for that purpose. A small area of the grouting behind the bath needed attention, and a vanity shelf with mirror would have been useful by the hand basin. The bedroom was fine, but again it only had a side table at one end of the bed, and a dressing table or side table with mirror would have been useful. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were too flat, so quality bouncy pillows would be a have made a difference.

Reviewed by
A WILLIAMS

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at this hotel. The location is perfect no traffic noise and the rooms seem well insulated as I didnt hear any noise from other guests. I had a really large room with ensuite,lovely big bath ,even a bidet. everything you would expect from a country house hotel. The only thing that let the place down for me was1. the pillows,which were foam and so flat they were probably at their best 10 years ago ..badly need replacing. It didnt bother me too much because I had brought my own feather pillows 2. No decaffeinated coffee in the room.
3. No real coffee at breakfast only instant sachets of coffee which you have to make yourself.I did buy my own real coffee from the supermarket
When I book a place like this I expect a little bit more and these things would be very easy to rectify. Other than that I would definitely stay again .

Reviewed by
dawn a

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TY newdd country hotel
I enjoyed a one night stay on Thursday the 19th of June and booked the hotel due to work commitments over in Treorchy. I found the place to be ideally located from were I was working with just a short little trip over the hills to arrive there which I found very easy to do and on a clear day the views are beautiful. On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming,helpful and pleasant to deal with and this continued with the rest of the staff who I met which is always a nice start to any type of break. The room was better than I was expecting and the hotel looks really nice everywhere which would explain why people choose this as the ideal wedding venue. I am a coeliac sufferer and this did not stop the hotel staff trying to accommodate my dietary needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I am ever in the area again I will look to book here. Well done to the hotel and all the staff.

Reviewed by
J Marshall

From Nottinghamshire, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location and lovely staff
We arrived very early after thinking that the check-in was at 12 (it's 1500hrs). However, the woman on Reception was very accommodating and went to find us a room that was ready - despite the fact we hadn't requested an early check-in.
They don't do room service but we missed Supper after spending the day walking - they very kindly offered to make us a selection of Sandwiches.
Room was large and prettily decorated in a style fitted for the building. The only thing that let the room down was the bath products - very small and not enough for two people!
Breakfast - staff were wonderful and very friendly. However, the lack of choice was an issue. It was full English or full English. Although they did cater to my request of boiled eggs which was very kind....

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
John C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Country Hotel
Great value for money. Food really good, if slightly small quantities. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast
We stayed in an annex overlooking the back of the hotel , the room was spacious , but bit tired , old furniture and the curtains and table cloths could do with leaning and updating , bit too flowery , made the room look dowdy
We hadn't booked eve meal but they squeezed yes in , the dinning room lacked atmosphere , no music pictures on the walls. Thought the starters were over priced for the amount of food as was the main course , I ordered the sea bass which was lovely, served with a veg bhaji and chips , but wold have been nice to see some veg , we had the roasted pineapple dessert , the pineapple was very chewy and sliced very thinly whichever seemed to make it hard to cut , and served with some sort of doughnut , described as pastry in the menu , food wasn't value for money ,but we were so hungry we are it sell, staff were-friendly,cooked breakfast was excellent , self service , so you could have what you wanted , also cereals, yoghurt and juices.

Reviewed by
Gillian Butler

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly/warm /food excellent/cleanliness excellent
This was a wonderful place to stay everything about it was excellent - we will be ging back again before Christmas

Reviewed by
Jennifer Jones

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely stay again.
What a gem, lovely building and grounds, full of character yet with all modern facilities for the business traveler. Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was quick, hot and tasty. Overall superb value for money and I would recommend to anyone (in fact I have recommended it to the company I was visiting already). One final positive - it is signposted off the man road so easy to find on a dark and rainy Welsh night, a real plus as it is tucked away in a lovely quiet corner.

Reviewed by
D Hill

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next