Reviews - Ty Newydd Country Hotel


Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare, CF44 9SX

Price From 165.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Hurrell

  • October 2015

Ok Hotel

This hotel is beautiful from the outside, but the rooms are very basic and on the small side.

The TV didn't work, the shower wasn't warm so had to have baths instead, the carpet had stains on it.

  • David Cleaton

  • October 2015


I needed somewhere to stay within easy travelling distance of Cardiff where I was attending 2 quarter final matches in the Rugby World Cup.

This was an excellent choice being within 10 minutes of Aberdare rail station to travel into Cardiff. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and I enjoyed my conversations with them. My room had everything that I needed including en-suite facilities and tea/coffee making equipment. I arrival back at the hotel at midnight and as the hotel had a night porter this did not cause any problems. The breakfast was sumptuous with a selection of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt so as well as the full 'English'. An excellent place to stay.

  • Krista Louise S

  • June 2015

Excellent overall

The staff couldn't be more friendly here, the receptionist was very helpful and local information readily provided.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and breakfast had varied choice and was also delicious. The restaurant was new and modern and the hotel itself was stunning with beautiful garden to the front. My only disappointment was the room, although very clean, was a bit outdated decor wise ( room no 6) n had a lovely view but was above to conservatory roofs which, as it was stormy and raining all night, made quite a bit of noise and the window was also just above an air con vent. None of this would have mattered if the window was shut, but because of the humid weather, ours was open

  • g linham

  • May 2015

such a shame

when I went to my room , there was a bag of rubbish on one chair , the shaving mirror lights didn't work , the toilet flush was hard work , the tv was absolutely awful , the flickering and freezing picture really annoys , each tv would need a signal booster .

Caradogs menu was limited and not appealing , although the lamb was beautifully cooked , the menu combination was eeugh . The breakfast was good and the service was excellent .That was my 9th stay there and not sure about the 10th

  • P Dunn

  • April 2015

Needs a facelift

The room size and location were great as was the restaurant.

The actual contant of the room was very tired and mouldy shower curtain didnt help. Furniture was a bit battered also.

  • T Hay

  • April 2015

Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Booked a standard double.

Very standard. No dressing table/mirror. Asked to borrow a mirror but ended up being moved rooms where there was a mirror on the wardrobe. Bigger room but very uncomfortable bed and noisy room above kitchens. Ate at hotel restaurant. Reasonable choice and quality.

  • David Greenwood

  • February 2015

Fit for purpose

I was looking for a bed for the night and that was what I got.

Very pleasant staff, adequate single room, no frills. Restaurant was a big surprise. Very nice and modern, with great breakfast and really good staff. The down side is that it shows up the accommodation side as they are at opposite ends of the quality scale. I would stay again, but would hope that investment is put in to making the experience match on both rooms and food and beverage.

  • David Tennant

  • February 2015

Excellent food and good service.

Room was shabby (dirty ,torn paper drawer linings). Also maintenance poor - two light bulbs were not working and the shower screen allowed water to spread over bathroom floor.

  • Kenneth M

  • October 2014

Ty Newydd Country Hotel weekend break

We chose this hotel as it was near to relatives in Aberdare, the restaurant & lounge look to have been recently updated ,unfortunately our room no 9 was rather dated & badly lit with only one bedside cabinet & no well lit mirror plus the wardrobe hide a connecting door to room 8.

However as this was a last minute deal I don't think we can complain too much. We had dinner on the Sunday evening scallops & sea bass which more than made up for the room, all the staff were friendly & helpful.

  • D Gibson

  • October 2014

Ty Newydd

This hotel is convenient for stays during work.

It is comfortable and the staff are friendly. The restaurant is more expensive than I'm prepared to pay during work. I prefer a simple bar meal and eat out when possible.