No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Unicorn Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Trentside Gunthorpe, NOTTINGHAM, NG14 7FB
Staying at the Unicorn

This 17th century former coaching house is situated on the banks of the River Trent in the picturesque village of Gunthorpe. This hotel offers a very warm welcome and is ideal for business travellers and tourists alike.

Following a major refurbishment throughout, this riverside pub now boosts 14 individually styled bedrooms. Stunning river views and walks are enhanced by local tourist attractions such as Sherwood Forest, Clumber Park and Newark (famous for its antique shops & fayres). The Unicorn offers family friendly service with fabulous cask ales including Marston’s Pedigree and Cumberland Ale.

Eating at the Unicorn

Rotisserie chicken is a house speciality and there is always a good selection of homemade specials. Occasions such as engagements, anniversaries or birthdays are catered for. Why not treat yourself and stay in our luxurious “Rose Room” and either enjoy a cosy meal for two or a family meal around our individually styled ‘Tavern table’.

Picture of Unicorn Hotel by Marstons Inns, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
a few maintenance problems, and lack of staff to man reception.

Reviewed by
John Anderson

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK fior overnight stay

Reviewed by
S Hull

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy Stay
Overall this is the third time we have stayed here and cant fault it for service and comfortable rooms cosy and warm, the food was excellent and was served hot, breakfast was more than adequate. The only problem was no matter what you did not want it still came up on the plate. TV was not working came up as poor reception, no matter.

Reviewed by
J Houlton

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain break
Stayed for four nights could not fault the room or service made to feel very welcome.The breakfast was spot on and plentiful (I take a lot of filling) .
My only gripe would be the quality of the food served at night very basic and sometimes burnt the last night my wife had a mixed grill was not good.
Over all though a good place to stay with good quality beer.

Reviewed by
sean hunt

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A GREAT SURPRISE!
We thought for the price is may be not quite up to standard - but what a great surprise - it was extremely good. Large clean rooms, good food, pleasant staff and nice food. What more could you ask. As a party of four ladies on a shopping trip, we were very pleased and would not hesitate to re-book should we decide to go back to the area again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer L

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern Spacious Room
A modern spacious room with full size bath. Quiet and comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable rest and evening staff very pleasant and helpful this was our 2nd visit and we will certainly come again

Reviewed by
tina field

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chesford Grange - QHotels
Very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unicorn Hotel by Marstons Inns
Lovely reception and bar/food.

Reviewed by
peter r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value - Lovely Setting
Bedroom was very comfortable
Having spent the past few months house hunting and using various hotels this was by far
the best - the breakfast could not have been better.

Reviewed by
Jean S

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next