No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Unicorn Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Trentside Gunthorpe, NOTTINGHAM, NG14 7FB
Staying at the Unicorn

This 17th century former coaching house is situated on the banks of the River Trent in the picturesque village of Gunthorpe. This hotel offers a very warm welcome and is ideal for business travellers and tourists alike.

Following a major refurbishment throughout, this riverside pub now boosts 14 individually styled bedrooms. Stunning river views and walks are enhanced by local tourist attractions such as Sherwood Forest, Clumber Park and Newark (famous for its antique shops & fayres). The Unicorn offers family friendly service with fabulous cask ales including Marston’s Pedigree and Cumberland Ale.

Eating at the Unicorn

Rotisserie chicken is a house speciality and there is always a good selection of homemade specials. Occasions such as engagements, anniversaries or birthdays are catered for. Why not treat yourself and stay in our luxurious “Rose Room” and either enjoy a cosy meal for two or a family meal around our individually styled ‘Tavern table’.

Picture of Unicorn Hotel by Marstons Inns, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value all round

Reviewed by
Charles B

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lovely. Bar/restaurant somewhat tired.
Room and everything in it was very nice indeed. The seats in the bar/breakfast area badly need recovering as they are covered in unsightly stains. This won't be breaking news; I'm sure Marstons are aware of this.
There was a discrepancy of £5 between the price quoted by Laterooms (£50) for our stay and the price charged by the hotel (£55). I explained to the lady on the desk that I was happy to pay the additional £5 but Laterooms need to be sure prices are matched in the hotels. She did offer to refund.

Reviewed by
N Sales

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel , the website doesn't do it justice, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you need to make your stay a relaxing one . only down side was TV not working but we told a member of staff and they sorted that out . great value for money . lovely bar and restaurant, Me and my boyfriend have already said we will visit again. Thank you to all at Unicorn Hotel .

Reviewed by
sandra a

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Pub/Inn accommodation with nice modern bathroom. Friendly service with a good, cooked breakfast - great value !

Reviewed by
rod h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Unicorn Hotel in Gunthorpe
We were pensive when we booked the room as it seemed very cheap for this time of year and also the riverside setting, totally unfounded! From the quality of the accommodation, the food (breakfast & evening meal), the service and lovely nature of the staff we could find no fault. I have already recommended this venue to several people. Excellent, thank you RJ Brewer.

Reviewed by
RJ Brewer

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room ok , but!
Nice enough room. Nothing to see out of the window apart from concrete. Outlet for noisy airconditioning unit outside window, turned off about midnight. Food was very good and staff friendly. Nice location easy to find and large carpark.

Reviewed by
SIMON A

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My daughters Hen Party
We stayed overnight mainly for accommodation which was spacious. The beds were comfortable and rooms were as clean as possible. The rooms are in need of refurbishment and this makes cleaning difficult. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful; as were the staff who served breakfast. The breakfast was below average, the food was not very hot, and the sausage and bacon were inferior quality. But we were happy overall with the price we paid for B&B :-)

Reviewed by
K Hawksworth

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be repeated
The room was oppressively hot. The windows opened on to a flat roof with direct access from the noisy beer garden.
We waited 40 minutes for breakfast - 15 minutes to order (we were the only diners and the waitress was absent) and then 25 minutes for it to arrive. It was partly cold, partly oily and very salty.

Reviewed by
D F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Made to feel very welcome and staff dealt with our check-in efficiently even though the bar was busy when we arrived. Fantastic room and comfy bed. Lovely location to sit outside on a warm evening and enjoy a drink and food. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Sean T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value pub accommodation
Well-located, popular pub with rooms. Good facilities, including updated en-suite.

Reviewed by
rodney h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next