Reviews - Olde House by Marstons Inns


Loundsley Green Road .Newbold, Chesterfield, S40 4RN

Price From 135.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jennifer F

  • August 2015

Short Break

Room had not been checked before allocation to us it may not have been used for a little while.

The soap container by shower was empty. The taps on the basin were loose and when turned on water leaked onto the outer surface. The shower head needed adjusting to have a proper shower and then water leaked under the shower door onto the floor which was missed by the cleaner. When we advised the reception they were very helpful and promised to get sorted for the next customer. The food was good but on our last day at breakfast they could have done with more staff as we had a very long wait for the food.

  • d henshaw

  • August 2015

olde house

wasn't very welcoming when we turned up..told us to come back after half two to book in.

we knew we couldn't book in till then but we were just being polite letting them know we had arrived normally hotels let you fill the paper work in so you can park your car then come back later to get in your room... no reception as such ..just booked in over the bar with a miserable young girl. room had a constant buzzing all night like a generator or a side breakfast waitress was lovely polite and efficient food, red hot plates, hot lovely egg bacon sausage n beans 10 mins after sitting down breakfast was there...compliments to the chef..and waitress .....also had a steak later on which was also very nice bit pricey but nice. beer very nice too.

  • Nick T

  • June 2015

Olde House- One Night Stay

Staff friendly, room clean and tidy with plenty of towels.

Nice breakfast. Convenient venue for Chatsworth and good value.

  • Chris S

  • February 2015

Excellent get away

Arrived just after lunch.

The pub was busy. Plenty of staff on duty. Ordered a meal and a drink. Very polite staff. Food was excellent. Checked into the room was a good size, lighting was a little dark if you wanted to read, couldn't open the window (later found out it just needed a hard push so hinges probs needed adjusting). Bathroom was clean and bright, great power shower.

  • Dominic F

  • November 2014

Nice room, shame about the food

Lovely room, nice and clean and tidy but the evening meal was bland microwave rubbish and the morning breakfast was a major disappointment.

Yes, breakfast was cooked but I'm not quite sure when - certainly not just before it was presented to me. I spoke to friends in the area who all had the same impression - nice place, shame about the food.

  • ivor o

  • November 2014

Great place to stay !

great place to stay, just outside Chesterfield & about 20 mins from Sheffield Arena.

Nice welcoming place, staff very helpful & friendly, rooms equipped with everything you need, good choice of food & plentiful breakfast.

  • G Newberry

  • November 2014

The Olde House Chesterfield

  • Geoffrey S

  • November 2014

Lumpy bed

Board outside offered rooms cheaper than Late Rooms.

Bed mattress very lumpy, could feel every spring. Good sized rooms but not Executive Rooms as stated in their advert, in need of a refresh, basic furniture, no tissues. Very friendly staff and a good breakfast.

  • anne wilding

  • October 2014

olde house

Pub OK, staff fine, room clean and tidy but, for us, the mattress was too soft and lumpy.

  • Barbara W

  • October 2014

The hotel and staff were excellent.

The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was included and very nice. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in this area.