No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton Chambers Hostel

3Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
15 Hilton Street , Manchester, M1 1JJ
Hatters at Hilton Chambers is a modern hostel offering 3 star accommodation in the heart of the popular and bohemian Northern Quarter of Manchester’s City Centre.

Weekday events include our famous pub crawl, games night, film night, free food night and a free city tour of Manchester!

The hostel provides both shared and private en-suite rooms and is within walking distance to Manchester Piccadilly Station and Metrolink services. A FREE continental breakfast and FREE WIFI is included in your stay along with 24 hour access to our self-catering kitchen and free tea and coffee making facilities.

Soak up the rays out on our courtyard garden area or head inside to our comfy lounge, put your feet up and pick out a film from our eclectic range of DVDs. We also have darts, a Playstation, mini snooker and foosball to keep you busy throughout the day.

Our friendly and approachable staff know everything there is to know about Manchester and are more than happy to book activities and tours for you and share their local knowledge and general wisdom to help you get the most out of your stay in this fine northern city.

Terms & Conditions:

Please note that photo ID is required to stay with us - passport or drivers license and a valid debit/bank card**

Cancellations must be made by 12pm the day before arrival otherwise the first night will be charged if you fail to arrive or cancel late

*** GROUPS OF 7-14 MUST PAY 1 WEEK BEFORE ARRIVAL. IF THE GROUP HAVEN'T PAID BY THIS TIME WE WILL CHARGE THE CARD ON THE BOOKING. *** **

Cancellations for 7-14 must be a week before arrival otherwise you will be charged the full accommodation

**All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us**

* *You may also be required to put a deposit down on arrival in cash for groups of 6+ at receptions discretion***
Picture of Hilton Chambers Hostel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very unpleasant stay
This was the worst hostel I' ve ever stayed at. It looked nice online but was located at a very dodgy area. The rooms were dirty, not cozy and with no heating so it was really cold. Choosing this hostel was a bad decision since it completely ruined my vacation. I actually spent the last night at the airport since I felt that it was more comfortable over there than at the hostel.

Reviewed by
Erofili Papadaki

From Helsinki, Finland
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Few days in Manchester
We choose this hostel beacuse of location in the city center, and it was good enough, but room quality and tidiness wasn't worth of its money. Breakfast, is to big to say. I will think twice before I'll stay in hostel again.

Reviewed by
M Kulińska

From Poland
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, good location and facilities
Helpful staff, hostel handy for trains and buses, warm comfy bed. Everything worked. Space to eat breakfast and helpful to have area with sofas available after check-out time.

Reviewed by
Elsie A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tight fit
four sets of bunks in the room was too many-- three sets would have been better. no space for suitcases and they were all in the middle of the room. this may have just been the size of this room and other rooms may have been more spacious.
staff above and beyond helpful-- swapped my room out for me to a different room that better suited my needs.
bathroom sooooooooo clean and newer facilities. big kitchen, well stocked with cooking utensils. pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
r h

From Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for, I guess
When I saw some of the pictures and the price I thought it couldn't be as good as it was for the price, but then I realised the rooms I was looking at were a bit more expensive. I booked a bed in a 4 bed dorm and the price I paid it was actually a good deal.
Having not been to Manchester before It took me a while to find it as it wasnt sign posted and my taxi driver drove past it, granted it was 9.15pm and also raining.
The Room was basic but I had not expected much for the price and I was in a mixed dorm which confused me as my experience of staying in hostels before was that dorms were single sex only. I had a few ''sets'' of roomates during my stay but they were all friendly and chatty so I guess I can't complain.
It was only on the 2nd day of my stay when I realised how close I was to Piccadilly gardens which was good to know as my google maps directions made it out to be waay further away.
Overall, It was a good place to stay if you are a tourist and on a budget or a group of friends visiting the local area

Reviewed by
M Urquhart

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hostel
Sick hostel in the heart of Manchester !! close to clubs pubs everything !! Staff were friendly and helpful and great vaklue for money :)

Reviewed by
Simon Woods

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Completely Mis-leading
*Warning* Dont book this if you are after a 'En-Suite Single Room sleeps 1' as advertised here on LateRooms as this is not what you get and you can get a cheaper / same price single room elsewhere!
I booked what I thought was a 'En-Suite Single Room sleeps 1' at Hatters Hilton Manchester only to find when I got there that the hotel didn't infact have any single rooms but only shared dormitories. I am fine with staying in dormitories, if that's what I had wanted to book- however this night was the beginning of a tour I was on as a musician and a good nights sleep with travelling is very important to me. I was woken up at 1 in the morning by loud italian guests coming into the room and turning on all of the lights. As is the nature with hostels, I understand that- just I didn't actually want to book or think I was booking a hostel and there were no other options when I told staff this.
It was frustrating as I know I could of got a single room and better nights sleep at another hotel I'd stayed previously round of the corner, just got shot down for trying somewhere new. So Laterooms whole advert about Hatters hostels is completely mis-leading. It is not single room and doesn't sleep 1. I was informed by staff at the hostel that they have regularly informed LateRooms of this mistake but nothing gets changed. So why not? - a big conspiracy to mislead, rip off and tire out young struggling musicians when they try and tour?- that's what it seems like.

Reviewed by
T Emm

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff & decent nights sleep
Very friendly staff and got a good nights sleep in the bunk bed. Had a 6 bed dorm to myself which was quite luxury!

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hostel
A great place for everyone who requires a cheap roof over their heads for a night. Staying in a four-bed-dorm with two male and one female traveller the bathroom turned into a lake after the first shower as the water protection does not seal properly. The hired towel was full of hair from previous travellers and I would recommend to bring your own. The provided key card did not work instantly and I had to walk several times back to the reception. Wifi access in the common room keeps the room more quiet. Comfy bed but the whole building gets shaken by passing cars.
I would not expect a lot more from a budget accommodation, the dirty towel and flooded bathroom was the only really annoying part ...

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Germany
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
good hostel in an excellent location

Reviewed by
Les B

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next