No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton Chambers Hostel

3Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
15 Hilton Street , Manchester, M1 1JJ
Best value in the city!

Hatters at Hilton Chambers, is a Hostel not a hotel, city centre accommodation in the heart of the trendy Northern Quarter. Surrounding by some of the local's favourite bars, cafes and restaurants, our friendly, multilingual staff will be more than happy to provide a free city map and highlight the great city spots to explore.

Walking distance to all major attractions and transport hubs, including MEN Arena, Arndale Shopping centre, Piccadilly Gardens, tram stops to Old Trafford and Etihad Stadiums, and Piccadilly train station.

Your room choice includes a stylish variety of private rooms and shared dormitories, with secure key card access and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Plasma TV included within all private rooms.

Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the communal areas (Wi-Fi also available in rooms and internet cafe).

Free continental breakfast is included in your room rate and is served between 7:30-10:00AM. The fully equipped self catering kitchen has free tea/ coffee and is open 24hrs per day.

Reception provides 24hr customer service, with travel desk and free luggage storage on check-in/ check-out dates. Security lockers are available in communal spaces, with a security box at reception and CCTV throughout the building.

Hatters welcome groups of all sizes, simply contact us direct. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Terms & Conditions:

Please note that photo ID is required to stay with us - passport or drivers license and a valid debit/bank card**

Cancellations must be made by 12pm the day before arrival otherwise the first night will be charged if you fail to arrive or cancel late

*** GROUPS OF 7-14 MUST PAY 1 WEEK BEFORE ARRIVAL. IF THE GROUP HAVEN'T PAID BY THIS TIME WE WILL CHARGE THE CARD ON THE BOOKING. *** **

Cancellations for 7-14 must be a week before arrival otherwise you will be charged the full accommodation

**All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us**

* *You may also be required to put a deposit down on arrival in cash for groups of 6+ at receptions discretion***
Picture of Hilton Chambers Hostel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for, I guess
When I saw some of the pictures and the price I thought it couldn't be as good as it was for the price, but then I realised the rooms I was looking at were a bit more expensive. I booked a bed in a 4 bed dorm and the price I paid it was actually a good deal.
Having not been to Manchester before It took me a while to find it as it wasnt sign posted and my taxi driver drove past it, granted it was 9.15pm and also raining.
The Room was basic but I had not expected much for the price and I was in a mixed dorm which confused me as my experience of staying in hostels before was that dorms were single sex only. I had a few ''sets'' of roomates during my stay but they were all friendly and chatty so I guess I can't complain.
It was only on the 2nd day of my stay when I realised how close I was to Piccadilly gardens which was good to know as my google maps directions made it out to be waay further away.
Overall, It was a good place to stay if you are a tourist and on a budget or a group of friends visiting the local area

Reviewed by
M Urquhart

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hostel
Sick hostel in the heart of Manchester !! close to clubs pubs everything !! Staff were friendly and helpful and great vaklue for money :)

Reviewed by
Simon Woods

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Completely Mis-leading
*Warning* Dont book this if you are after a 'En-Suite Single Room sleeps 1' as advertised here on LateRooms as this is not what you get and you can get a cheaper / same price single room elsewhere!
I booked what I thought was a 'En-Suite Single Room sleeps 1' at Hatters Hilton Manchester only to find when I got there that the hotel didn't infact have any single rooms but only shared dormitories. I am fine with staying in dormitories, if that's what I had wanted to book- however this night was the beginning of a tour I was on as a musician and a good nights sleep with travelling is very important to me. I was woken up at 1 in the morning by loud italian guests coming into the room and turning on all of the lights. As is the nature with hostels, I understand that- just I didn't actually want to book or think I was booking a hostel and there were no other options when I told staff this.
It was frustrating as I know I could of got a single room and better nights sleep at another hotel I'd stayed previously round of the corner, just got shot down for trying somewhere new. So Laterooms whole advert about Hatters hostels is completely mis-leading. It is not single room and doesn't sleep 1. I was informed by staff at the hostel that they have regularly informed LateRooms of this mistake but nothing gets changed. So why not? - a big conspiracy to mislead, rip off and tire out young struggling musicians when they try and tour?- that's what it seems like.

Reviewed by
T Emm

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff & decent nights sleep
Very friendly staff and got a good nights sleep in the bunk bed. Had a 6 bed dorm to myself which was quite luxury!

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hostel
A great place for everyone who requires a cheap roof over their heads for a night. Staying in a four-bed-dorm with two male and one female traveller the bathroom turned into a lake after the first shower as the water protection does not seal properly. The hired towel was full of hair from previous travellers and I would recommend to bring your own. The provided key card did not work instantly and I had to walk several times back to the reception. Wifi access in the common room keeps the room more quiet. Comfy bed but the whole building gets shaken by passing cars.
I would not expect a lot more from a budget accommodation, the dirty towel and flooded bathroom was the only really annoying part ...

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Germany
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
good hostel in an excellent location

Reviewed by
Les B

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A high quality hostel
Stayed for 1 night on the 28th January 2014 the staff were friendly and helpful and my room was clean, I have no complaints.

Reviewed by
K Asgill

From Chigwell, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Man U lost again :(

Reviewed by
Stefan Nilsson

From Furulund, Sweden
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and comfortable and clean
Very impressed with our first stay at hatters. Our room was excepionally clean and comfortable and very helpful, friendly staff on reception.
A little noisy in the night, however this was expected due to location.
Will definitely be booking again.

Reviewed by
Lucy P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay at Hatters
Brilliant value for money, great staff, great room, awesome location (head to the bar across the road on a saturday night!), more like a hotel than a hostel, no complaints from me!!!

Reviewed by
James P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next