Reviews - Glendorgal Hotel


Lusty Glaze Road Porth, Newquay, TR7 3AD

Price From 153.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kelvin W

  • July 2015

Glendorgal Hotel

  • C lowe

  • June 2015

probably wouldn't stay again

when we arrived the hotel looked beautiful.

Its in a stunning location. Check in was fast and easy. We got to our room and the standard had slipped. The curtains were half hanging off the rails, the balcony outside was full of rubbish and cigarette butts. The shower drain didn't empty very quick so were stood in a tray full if water. My mother-in-law stayed in another room and her curtains actually fell down. The beds were hard and the hotel was noisey. The swimming pool was nice, very warm and we were the only people in there. We didn't stay for breakfast as felt £10 per adult and £6 per child was too expensive. They could do with re-decorating and a bit more cleaning.

  • arun a

  • May 2015

Tea and coffee making facilities: Not enough milk, coffee powder and sugar.

  • Y Leung

  • April 2015

Weekend stay at Glendorgal Hotel

Great location on the door step of Porth Beach.

At low tide the beach can be accessed directly from the hotel via some steep steps that are part of the South West Coast Path. The staff on site are helpful and attentive and the hotel is generally a quiet and family friendly place to stay.

Please however note that none of the family rooms has sea view. Rooms on the second floor will have more open street view than those on the ground floor. For direct sea view, try booking the twin/ double rooms as some even have a balcony. Be prepared to negotiate with many internal stairs inside the hotel. If taking breakfast, please enquire the charge before ordering as the menu does not list any price. On checking out, my family was initially charged £36 for the cooked breakfast of 2 adults and 1 child. It was subsequently reduced to £26 but I still felt that the breakfast was slightly overpriced specially when considering some other hotels in nearby area only charge £10 for a pre-booked evening meal.

Overall a great clean and quiet hotel for a weekend short stay in Newquay. Will definitely return in my next family holiday in Cornwall.

  • David M

  • April 2015

Great hotel, great location

Stayed for one night in a double room.

Room was great (although a hair dryer would have been handy!). Certainly worth paying extra for the great sea view and the hotel is ideally placed next to Lusty Glaze. Centre of Newquay is an easy walk and parking at the hotel was very good. Would certainly stay here again

  • Martin Wonnacott

  • December 2014

Fantastic location and staff

I would like to thank Lee the gentleman behind the bar on Saturday night, great company and made us feel really welcome, please keep up the good work!

  • L Weatherill

  • November 2014

October Getaway

The hotel was well placed to explore the area, the staff were friendly and the room, although a little tired, was clean and comfortable.

My eldest child, a teenager, used the gym every day which was fine for his needs and myself and my youngest son used the swimming pool and had it all to ourselves. The hotel has stunning views over the sea although our room being the family room, did not have a sea view, it did not matter as we were out and about every day. The restaurant/ bar has the views over the bay which we enjoyed. We were happy with the accomodation and would stay again.

  • David Smith

  • October 2014

Beautiful Setting

Located on a cliff overlooking the bay the hotel provides an amazing view of the sea and surrounding area.

Our room was a little tired but still comfortable, we had an evening meal at the hotel which we enjoyed and all in all found the hotel to be value for money.

  • Peter A

  • September 2014

Prices have gone up. Parts of the hotel are beginning to look a little tired.

This was a good hotel for the price, but I am not sure it is now worth the £78 I was charged for a single person.

Staff were friendly. My biggest issues were a rusty radiator, and the hallway carpets were pretty grubby, and I would not expect that for the money. It does have great views from the dining room and good location to a beach.

  • emilia k

  • September 2014

average hotel in beautiful location