No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elms Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
70 LONDON ROAD , RETFORD, DN22 7DX
Set in the historic Nottinghamshire market town of Retford, The Elms Hotel is a grand, former Georgian residence dating back to 1792. Grade II Listed and featuring attractive landscaped gardens, the hotel sits on the old Great North Road between York and London. Its location makes it an ideal stopover hotel for business travelers and for those booking a last-minute trip to visit the many attractions in the area.

There are 15 en-suite rooms at The Elms, each with flat-screen TVs and unlimited free Wi-Fi and convenient access to a friendly Fayre & Square family pub restaurant.

The Hotel is easy to find, sitting on the A638 just a 10 minute drive from the the A1 or a pleasant 15 minute walk from Retford Train Station. Retford itself is ideally located too, with Robin Hood Airport, and the towns and cities of North Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire all within easy reach.
Picture of Elms Inn by Good Night Inns, RETFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lift
The lack of a lift was a bit of a problem for me as I am disabled.

Reviewed by
Adrian Lomax

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good though basic accom, but better lighting needed
The family room was large enough for a double bed and sofa bed which were comfortable. However, entry to the room was a little tricky as the energy saving lights for the room were so low we could not see where we were walking. They really were very very low. They perhaps need replacing. Though the bathroom and floors were pretty clean, all lights were covered with dust and cobwebs-perhaps an oversight.

Reviewed by
G Howe

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for short stay
Arrived late in evening to friendly welcome. Room in ex stable complex which was basic but clean and acceptable. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasantly surprised executive room for one night stay after a day at sundown adventure land.
Great value for money,clean comfortable and friendly! We will be back.

Reviewed by
Jackie Hanley

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

chose hotel as it was in the area we was going for a three day weekend break room good value for money staff very frendly with a good service all round with plenty of parking room would stay again if in the area m holloway northampton

Reviewed by
michael holloway

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff and food were excellent but the room was in great need of refurbishment. the bed was ok and the room was fairly clean, just a bit dusty. The floor was creaky, so you could hear every movement of your neighbour and I'm sure they could hear us. The taps in the shower room were very difficult to turn off, so were constantly dripping. The shower was in need of replacing as there was a lot of black mould and there was leakage around the bottom which made the floor wet and was possibly the cause of the slight bad smell in the room. Also the lock on the door to the entrance (we were in the stable block outside) was broken so security was reduced.

Reviewed by
O Hart

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Victoria Ineson

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for money!
Nice room, not much space as the sofa bed was out - but fine for the one night stop over that we needed. Lovely staff, very helpful and welcoming. Only down side was I was kept awake by the noise from the road, as there is no double glazing - just lovely big old windows! Unfortunately I am a very light sleeper and this didn't seem to bother anyone else.

Reviewed by
A Lewis

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in need of a facelift. We were unable to fully shut the windows which was unfortunate as we had a ground floor room!

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just as required, although room over warm, perfect for needs

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE C

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next