No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elms Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
70 LONDON ROAD , RETFORD, DN22 7DX
Set in the historic Nottinghamshire market town of Retford, The Elms Hotel is a grand, former Georgian residence dating back to 1792. Grade II Listed and featuring attractive landscaped gardens, the hotel sits on the old Great North Road between York and London. Its location makes it an ideal stopover hotel for business travelers and for those booking a last-minute trip to visit the many attractions in the area.

There are 15 en-suite rooms at The Elms, each with flat-screen TVs and unlimited free Wi-Fi and convenient access to a friendly Fayre & Square family pub restaurant.

The Hotel is easy to find, sitting on the A638 just a 10 minute drive from the the A1 or a pleasant 15 minute walk from Retford Train Station. Retford itself is ideally located too, with Robin Hood Airport, and the towns and cities of North Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire all within easy reach.
Picture of Elms Inn by Good Night Inns, RETFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sons wedding
We stoped here for one night as the wedding was here Nothing was to much trouble
The room was a good size as it was a family room it had a bed settee for the children to sleep on
Every thing was lovely and clean and the wedding and the buffet was excellent
breakfast in the morning was very good all in all a most enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
stephen i

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Liz F

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay before waddington airshow
Very helpful staff food excellent and priced well would recommend and stay again

Reviewed by
D Porter

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming little historic hotel in its own grounds. Our room (at the back of the house overlooking gardens) was clean, comfortable and quiet and we had a very pleasant two night stay. It has a bar and small restaurant serving good quality food at a very reasonable price.

Reviewed by
David C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room at a reasonable price. Plenty of parking and good value food served.

Reviewed by
s coburn

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty basic - more like a motel
I stayed at the Elms on a saturday night whilst working away from home for work. The room we were allocated was rather more basic than I would have expected for the £65 paid. It was pretty clean but all the furniture and fittings were of obviously poor quality and very dated. The room was in the 'stables' block and the thin partition walls and loudly creaking floors made sleeping there a rather noisy experience, and we could clearly hear people talking in the yard outside even though their voices were not raised at all. I asked to change rooms but was informed that none was available. The girl on the desk said that if I stayed again I should request a room in the main building, which was quieter. The main door of the block we were in was not closed at night, so absolutely anybody could come and go in the corridor outside our room - and when I pointed this out I was informed that this was preferable to leaving people locked out, which the staff seemed to think was the only possible alternative. It is basic accommodation which is adequate for a nights stay, and I have to say that the bed at least was reasonably comfortable, but the experience was not worth anything like what we paid.

Reviewed by
Jessica C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Old Building
The stay very pleasant and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and worth the money

Reviewed by
Geoff G

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Nights stay in double room in old stable block at rear.
Room was very nice & good value for money, nice and quite at night round the back in the old stable block which had been converted to individual rooms with their own door to the outside court yard on the ground floor. Room was quite modern in style & decor and seemed like it had been reasonably recently modernised. Very reasonable for a short bed and breakfast stay (I paid £65 for B&B I think).

Reviewed by
M Haslam

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute arrangement
Hotel was clean and tidy staff very polite food was good

Reviewed by
j walker

From prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elms Inn
Enjoyed my stay there quite pleasant hotel nice

Reviewed by
c brown

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next