No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elms Inn by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
70 LONDON ROAD , RETFORD, DN22 7DX
Set in the historic Nottinghamshire market town of Retford, The Elms Hotel is a grand, former Georgian residence dating back to 1792. Grade II Listed and featuring attractive landscaped gardens, the hotel sits on the old Great North Road between York and London. Its location makes it an ideal stopover hotel for business travelers and for those booking a last-minute trip to visit the many attractions in the area.

There are 15 en-suite rooms at The Elms, each with flat-screen TVs and unlimited free Wi-Fi and convenient access to a friendly Fayre & Square family pub restaurant.

The Hotel is easy to find, sitting on the A638 just a 10 minute drive from the the A1 or a pleasant 15 minute walk from Retford Train Station. Retford itself is ideally located too, with Robin Hood Airport, and the towns and cities of North Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire all within easy reach.
Picture of Elms Inn by Good Night Inns, RETFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at The Elms
Comfortable clean accommodation with all required facilities. Liked the clever idea of converting the old stables into the guest rooms.
Only one small disappointment. Bed was made up with a duvet and we had requested sheets and blankets if possible.
Sorry, no comment for the food as we did not at at the hotel. Menu looked tempting and reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
M Foister

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfied customers
The room was comfortable and clean the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Jill G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel to stay in! The only thing; it was difficult to see from the road, it didnt really stand out! & the postcode if entered into a sat nav took us further than what it's actual location was!!

Reviewed by
Suzanne Gardner

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family stopover
A clean pleasantly decorated room booked late for a bank holiday Sunday for a family travelling to norwich . Friendly staff good choice of food for all family and well priced.quiet night we got what written paid for.

Reviewed by
m ferguson

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stables
We stayed in the stables rooms ,excellent accommodation would recommend definitely,and will have a return visit real soon

Reviewed by
A Leach

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst nights sleep ever
I never normally review hotels, but this one was atrocious. I was woken up at 4am by people storming around the corridors and drunkenly arguing all night. I will never book in here again.

Reviewed by
S Lee

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous night
My husband and I travelled with our 6 and 8 year old daughter - the inn was incredibly welcoming, check inn was smooth and quick and we were able to eat at the pub which was very family friendly even on a Friday night and we could stay in there until past 10pm - great atmosphere, great prices. The room was clean, comfortable beds. The only negative was the sink drain was blocked and the remote controls to the two TVs were missing in action. We stayed in the family executive rooms in the old stables - really well laid out. No complaints.

Reviewed by
Kathryn B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Invasion of privicy
This room approached straight off the path into the bedroom. It was very compact and lighting is an issue. The bathroom was spacious enough but had broken tiles over the bath. The knob on the tap from bath to shower just came off in my hand, it wasn't even attached. The towels were old and worn. The very worst part about it was housekeeping just walked into our room whilst we were asleep in bed. They never even knocked but on invasion of our privacy, did laugh and say 'Oh sorry!' A simple check would have avoided this situation. Certainly wasn't worth the money paid and after our experience, we refused to pay the full price for our stay. However, we could not fault the food. It was 1st class for a F & S

Reviewed by
J Walker

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sons wedding
We stoped here for one night as the wedding was here Nothing was to much trouble
The room was a good size as it was a family room it had a bed settee for the children to sleep on
Every thing was lovely and clean and the wedding and the buffet was excellent
breakfast in the morning was very good all in all a most enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
stephen i

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Liz F

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next