Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
56% would recommend it to a friend
I read some pretty hash reviews about this place after I had booked & arrived expecting the worst.
I booked a single room for a week but was given a double en suite room which was spacious & comfortable. The bed was clean & I slept well, there was ample tea & coffee provided & the staff I met were all friendly. On the down side the furniture in the room was a bit tired, there were some marks on the painted walls & the carpet needs cleaning. All in all not as horrific as some people would have you believe, accomdation in Cambridge is expensive & this is at the cheapest end of the market, you get what you pay for.
Friendly staff.. Decent place
Good location close to hospital..
Friendly staff.. Comfortable room.. Bit overpriced though..
Very bad hotel.
Dirty , transparent curtains, very uncomfortable mattress
Cambridge B & B
Drab and nasty.
Awful bed (springy) - sheets - tap in sink slightly broken.
Basic, but functional
Clean, simple comfortable.
Very thin walls & I could easily hear the conversation of the guy 2 rooms down, but not a problem really. What I wanted was a decent bed & shower & that was what I got
Aylesbray Lodge is a quirky and very charming spot, very convenient location for the station and the town centre.
The staff was very welcoming, the room was clean and had everything we needed. For such central accommodation in cambridge, the Lodge was also the most reasonable in price. Unfortunately we were leaving in a rush and so didn't get to try the food, but nonetheless we had a very satisfactory time.
Couldn't be more helpful
The staff and management couldn't be more friendly and helpful.
I have a bad back though and I found the bed uncomfortable and the toilet a bit confined, but when I told the manager that I was disabled he went to a lot of trouble to find us a room on the ground floor.
Dirty, disgusting and dated
I stay away from home a lot for work but I have never slept anywhere as disgusting as this!
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that the room did not meet your expectations. You booked Budget Room as shown below with a shared bathroom and not one of my en-suit rooms.
"Single basic room .SHARED BATHROOM. ROOM ONLY option. Free parking & Wi-Fi.a budget room with a shared bathroom"
You booked this room for one night on one of the busiest graduation days when the whole of Cambridge was full with families attending the graduation and presumably you were intending to book something different if there was availability. The room does what it says on the tin. Our opinions differ and can I only confirm that all the rooms at my guest house are made spotless
every morning after being cleaned and that the all rooms are serviced daily.
You had to share a bathroom with two other guests which when we clean it in the morning we make it spotless. We don't control how clean the other guests leave the bathroom during the rest of the day and night for the other guests after they have used it. For that I apologise.
Reasonable location and convenient and clean but compact, noisy and out of date.
We booked late for a last minute event.
The hotel is easily accessed from the Cambridge inner ring road on which it sits but its not that close to the city centre.. The manager was welcoming and efficient, and clearly the hotel is a family run business with minimal staff. The room we had was best described as a compact double with a similarly compact shower ensuite. There was a ridiculous four poster bed in the room, the posts and trimmings causing a real feeling of lack of space and obstructions to knock into. Such beds in these compact bedrooms are a nonsense and of no value except in making the room feel cramped and too small.. The décor was at best 1980s and floral - the room is long overdue a redecorate to meet modern minimalist and "clean line" expectations. Everything appeared well cleaned however. We had a road front bedroom and the traffic could be heard easily when around, especially as a window had to be open to provide some air circulation to prevent overheating and stuffiness. The inter bedroom walls were obviously thin, and noise from other rooms and door closing transmitted through easily. The dining room looked as though it had been redecorated recently including a laminate floor but the effect was destroyed by the elderly mahogany style dining furniture and doors that remained. The breakfast menu was reasonable and the home cooking acceptable and edible. No continental cold meat and cheese and fresh fruit style was available though. The patron was however attentive and polite and helpful. This business would be much believe if it was modernised. I would stay again if no other place was available at the price - it is verging on poor value for money given the issues and the availability of much better bedrooms at similar or slightly higher prices.
Very convenient for addenbrookes
Excellent owners, very pleasant.
BB is very clean although outdated and bathrooms are a little off putting although you can tell they have been thoroughly cleaned.