You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Aylesbray Lodge


5 Mowbray Road, Cambridge, CB1 7SR

Price From 147.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Kari H

  • July 2016

Fine place to stay overnight

Nice place, quiet athmosphere.

Hotel fulfills all Basic needs for staying overnigh. Nice, helpfull owner.

  • Nigel E

  • November 2015

Comfortable accommodation

I read some pretty hash reviews about this place after I had booked & arrived expecting the worst.

I booked a single room for a week but was given a double en suite room which was spacious & comfortable. The bed was clean & I slept well, there was ample tea & coffee provided & the staff I met were all friendly. On the down side the furniture in the room was a bit tired, there were some marks on the painted walls & the carpet needs cleaning. All in all not as horrific as some people would have you believe, accomdation in Cambridge is expensive & this is at the cheapest end of the market, you get what you pay for.

  • Manish K

  • October 2015

Friendly staff.. Decent place

Good location close to hospital..

Friendly staff.. Comfortable room.. Bit overpriced though..

  • Stephanie M

  • June 2015


Very bad hotel.

Dirty , transparent curtains, very uncomfortable mattress

  • Rachel S

  • March 2015

Cambridge B & B

Drab and nasty.

Awful bed (springy) - sheets - tap in sink slightly broken.

  • l coloma

  • March 2015

Basic, but functional

Clean, simple comfortable.

Very thin walls & I could easily hear the conversation of the guy 2 rooms down, but not a problem really. What I wanted was a decent bed & shower & that was what I got

  • Jessica J

  • February 2015

Aylesbray Lodge is a quirky and very charming spot, very convenient location for the station and the town centre.

The staff was very welcoming, the room was clean and had everything we needed. For such central accommodation in cambridge, the Lodge was also the most reasonable in price. Unfortunately we were leaving in a rush and so didn't get to try the food, but nonetheless we had a very satisfactory time.

  • R Harvey

  • December 2014

Couldn't be more helpful

The staff and management couldn't be more friendly and helpful.

I have a bad back though and I found the bed uncomfortable and the toilet a bit confined, but when I told the manager that I was disabled he went to a lot of trouble to find us a room on the ground floor.

  • Damien S

  • October 2014

Dirty, disgusting and dated

I stay away from home a lot for work but I have never slept anywhere as disgusting as this!

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that the room did not meet your expectations. You booked Budget Room as shown below with a shared bathroom and not one of my en-suit rooms.

"Single basic room .SHARED BATHROOM. ROOM ONLY option. Free parking & Wi-Fi.a budget room with a shared bathroom"

You booked this room for one night on one of the busiest graduation days when the whole of Cambridge was full with families attending the graduation and presumably you were intending to book something different if there was availability. The room does what it says on the tin. Our opinions differ and can I only confirm that all the rooms at my guest house are made spotless

every morning after being cleaned and that the all rooms are serviced daily.

You had to share a bathroom with two other guests which when we clean it in the morning we make it spotless. We don't control how clean the other guests leave the bathroom during the rest of the day and night for the other guests after they have used it. For that I apologise.

The Manager

  • david s

  • October 2014

Reasonable location and convenient and clean but compact, noisy and out of date.

We booked late for a last minute event.

The hotel is easily accessed from the Cambridge inner ring road on which it sits but its not that close to the city centre.. The manager was welcoming and efficient, and clearly the hotel is a family run business with minimal staff. The room we had was best described as a compact double with a similarly compact shower ensuite. There was a ridiculous four poster bed in the room, the posts and trimmings causing a real feeling of lack of space and obstructions to knock into. Such beds in these compact bedrooms are a nonsense and of no value except in making the room feel cramped and too small.. The décor was at best 1980s and floral - the room is long overdue a redecorate to meet modern minimalist and "clean line" expectations. Everything appeared well cleaned however. We had a road front bedroom and the traffic could be heard easily when around, especially as a window had to be open to provide some air circulation to prevent overheating and stuffiness. The inter bedroom walls were obviously thin, and noise from other rooms and door closing transmitted through easily. The dining room looked as though it had been redecorated recently including a laminate floor but the effect was destroyed by the elderly mahogany style dining furniture and doors that remained. The breakfast menu was reasonable and the home cooking acceptable and edible. No continental cold meat and cheese and fresh fruit style was available though. The patron was however attentive and polite and helpful. This business would be much believe if it was modernised. I would stay again if no other place was available at the price - it is verging on poor value for money given the issues and the availability of much better bedrooms at similar or slightly higher prices.