No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeyfield Guesthouse

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2 Rustat Road , Cambridge, CB1 3QT
Affordable Accommodation on a room only basis(NO BREAKFAST and shared bathrooms), from £25-00 per night, in a very clean, spacious, comfortable house located in a quiet residential street near the Cambridge Leisure centre, just a few minutes walk from the Rail station, and the historic City Centre. Ideal location for easy access to the Colleges, Addenbrookes hospital, M11 and A14. All Rooms have colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking and free wireless internet access throughout the house.

Please note that we use the credit card to secure the room. On arrival, we would expect you to pay us in cash please or by cheque with a cheque guarantee card.

Since we do not have permanent reception staff at the guest house, we would be grateful if you could call us 10 to 15 minutes before your arrival at the Guest house

CONDITIONS OF BOOKING
Credit cards are used to secure the room only. Payments are by cheque or cash on arrival. There is no permanent reception staff please call us 15 minutes prior to arrival to have someone meet you at the guest house.

Cancellation: If cancelled up to three days before arrival , 50 percent of all nights will be charged. If it is cancelled later on in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. For group bookings (2 rooms or more), our cancellation policy is one week’s notice prior to the day of arrival.For group bookings, (more than 1 room) our cancellation policy is one week’s notice before the day of arrival.
Picture of Abbeyfield Guesthouse, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owner needs to put up a sign to enforce quiet time so that other guests do not slam their bedroom door EVERY time they enter and exit their rooms. This happened during my stay every every evening and every morning.

Reviewed by
R Sankey

From Eastend, Canada
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice value for money
The room was nice and clean. The bathrooms were ok, clean enough. I appreciated the towels.
The only drawback was the neighbours, I was welcomed by a host of nice but very loud guys and the guys in the next room went to bed really late and left early in the morning, which would have been ok with me if they hadn't been really loud and the sound insulation really poor. Good value for money though.

Reviewed by
Emeric B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbeyfield Guesthouse
I think there should be opportunity for breakfast.
At some periods of the day especially in the morning; dawn; it gets too cold in the rooms.

Reviewed by
OLUSOLA O

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
Exactly as described and expected. Good price, good location, much cheaper than others in similar walking distance.

Reviewed by
d humphries

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good service

Reviewed by
Ivan Lim

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth your money or time!
I was staying in the family room for the night, the room was tiny with three beds cramped into one small space, the bathrooms were in a terrible condition and this cost me £80. Not worth anyone's money when in such a poor state.

Reviewed by
hanah a

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor cleanliness
Our bedroom was marginally clean until we opened our beds. The covers still had stuff stuck to it from previous room users. It was not stains that couldnt wash out it was stuff you can scratch off with your nail. Not that we did. There was some of that stuff on the walls as well.
The bathroom was shared and you would expect that there would be constant check ups to see if all is in order. I had a shower after i washed down all the black hairs that was on the wall and bathtub.
Cleanliness maintanence should be regular as you are kind off left to your own devices there.
Overall it was ok ish as we slept over, but would not recomend it if you are staying longer than a night.

Reviewed by
H Hattingh

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

d
d

Reviewed by
cosse jean-francois

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never stay here again, the room was filthy.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, I am the manager who welcomed you when you arrived. I am very sorry to hear that our guesthouse did not meet your expectations. I disagree with your comment; the room was and still is spotless. Although we are a budget guesthouse we clean the whole place daily. Although we have hundreds of people all week that come back week after week and they are very happy with us, we usually get negative comments by people who booked the cheapest room one night on a Saturday night. It usually happens on a very busy Saturday when the whole of Cambridge its full I know that it's difficult when this guest have been staying in hostel the night before sharing a room with a number of strangers having very low expectations and would have been a great shock to you to suddenly being upgraded and having a Twin room all on you own. It probably felt for you as if you were checked into a four star hotel. You were so thrilled that you complimentary tea and coffee in your and that you drunk all of it and then you pretended that there was no free team in the room when you arrived. You called me out to come and give you additional tea and then I am sorry that somehow you managed to trip off the electricity late at night for all the rooms in that part of the house. You called me out again to come and solve the problem for you. We provide a dining room for the guests to eat so that they do not in their bedrooms. I am sorry we had to clean the room you stayed in which you dirtied with the takeaway food that you brought in and should have been consumed in the dining room. We try very hard to please our customers. It's sad that out of the thousands of satisfied guests we always we get the five or so that like to leave a negative review to make themselves feel superior. The Manager

Reviewed by
Cathy B

From Hillsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Room was basic, but enough if you just want somewhere to get your head down for the night and don't want any frills. Room I had was adjacent to a dining area and was noisy when some of the other residents returned and brought supper in the shape of a Chinese meal with them!!

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next