No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Walton Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walton Wellesbourne, Stratford upon Avon, CV35 9HU
Sitting in 65 acres of beautiful English countryside, just 10 minutes off the M40, lies Walton Hotel.

Walton Hotel has been carefully designed to blend in naturally with the surroundings, whilst offering guests contemporary facilities that address the modern business needs of today.

The newly created Walton Hotel is an impressive self-contained venue which boasts its own reception, restaurant, bar, lounge and roof terrace overlooking the Victorian Garden.
Picture of Walton Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Fabuolus
Excellent hotel (even the new part), good rooms, great food and kindly staff. What more could anyone ask. Cannot tell much about the surroundings as it was dark upon arrival and dark upon departure every day. The floodlights looked pretty on the old building though....

Reviewed by
Alec B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff, clean & appropriate accommodation for a business stay.
Will be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark N

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience with a few minor issues
We arrived very late (due to motorway exit closures) and were glad to find the 24/7 check in was true! Arriving late at night it was evident that signposting could be improved but we eventually found our way. Our first issue was that the reception person told us that we couldn't pay for sundries with cash (not true as we found out later) and also only gave the two of us one room key (not good). We were offered separate rooms as there was not a twin room available but we stuck with the double room. We were not asked if we wanted a newspaper in the morning but I picked up a complimentary copy of the "I" from reception in the morning. The fixtures and fittings in the room were very good with very few areas that didn't seem up to par. The bathroom was superb with both bath and shower but the toiletries were a bit stingy for the quality of hotel. The bed was excellent and allowed for a very comfortable night's sleep. Overall I throughly recommend the hotel and would advise anyone in the area to stay there.

Reviewed by
e hwesuhunu

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walton Hotel, Warwickshire
My husband and I stayed at the hotel ( the cheaper modern annex not the lovely old part) for a wedding anniversary. We booked it as there was a special offer than included B&B for under £80. I had requested an upstairs room with patio doors and balcony. I tried calling on two separate occasions prior to the stay to confirm this but both times the phone just rang out with no answer for about 15 mins before the line went dead, not very impressive customer service ! I had read similar comments from other guests so this is by no means an isolated occurrence of such poor service. We did get an upstairs room but sadly not patio door to balcony even, though every second room was of that type, so that was my second disappointment. My third disappointment was the gym/spa area. We had decided to have a relaxing Sunday using the facilities but found out once we were changed and ready to use it that the steam room was out of action, so that left just the pool and sauna. That being said that pool was lovely and warm. Unlike the showers in the changing rooms which were ice cold in both the mens and ladies. The gym was also a disappointment as none of the electrical equipment was working and despite being there for 30 mins no-one came to fix it even thought the receptionist had reported it before our arrival. So our Sunday morning using the gym and spa was a bit of a wash-out to be honest. The restaurant and bar were nice enough but the food was overpriced for what you got. We chose to drive 5 mins down the road back to the village and ate at a lovely, cosy country-style pub called the Kings Head where we both ate for the price of one meal at the hotel and the pub food was really tasty with a fantastic vegetarian selection (unlike the hotels limited vegetarian choice). My final gripe was the bed, the mattress was old and soft and well past needing replacing. Because of this we had a bad night sleep and both suffered from bad backs the next day. On the plus side The hotel was lovely and clean and very modern and any staff that we encountered were helpful, cheerful and polite. The grounds were well kept and lovely to take a stroll around. We really enjoyed the short walk to the old village using the map that had been thoughtfully provided in each room. On a warm day there is a lovely patio at the back of the old part of the hotel and a croquet lawn for guest use.
We would stay again but only if there was another special offer and we could be guaranteed the room that we wanted.

Reviewed by
emma c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second stay this year and again had a very pleasant experience.
The staff are all very accommodating and friendly although checking out was delayed because
only one member of staff manning the desk. She had a big conference group to check in and kept us waiting. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mary C

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and peace full
lovely surroundings . very relaxing

Reviewed by
G Bentley

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good place to have a quiet weekend
The rooms were good value for money and the estate offered a relaxing environment. Clean rooms and facilities, good food but could be better. All round excellent.

Reviewed by
dominic a

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be prepared to take your Waterproofs.
I had a good stay overall but was dismayed to find that my accommodation block was seperate from the main hotel. It looked like another wing of the hotel but it involved a walk outside of about 3/4 mins to reach the main hotel facilities. Not a long walk but in the inclement weather it meant putting on waterproofs purely to go to the bar or restaurant. Not good enough for a hotel of this standard and price. I would stay again but only in a room attached to the hotel. They didnt even provide room umbrellas.

Reviewed by
Alex Brodie

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make sure your staying in the old building
The new building is no where near as attractive as staying in the old building and the rooms are just average.
Also pool facilities were a disappointment , it was cold and overcrowded.

Reviewed by
John M

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

August stay
Recent stay for family wedding, we booked 3 rooms x2 twin & 1xdouble. Rooms were presented in similar fashion i.e. bed(s), side table with chair & tub chair, flat screen tv. One had a balcony, one nad a patio and the other just had normal windows. One room looked like it had had some kind of water leak to the ceiling, other than that they were clean & tidy. Good food during stay & plenty of it. Nice walks round hotel. Unfortunately, if its raining & u can't use the outside seating area they appear to struggle for a large family/group to sit and talk unless u stay in the restaurant. Everything else was fine.

Reviewed by
stephen r

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next