No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
81 High Street, , , Leven, KY8 4NG
The Caledonian Hotel, located in the coastal town of Leven, 45 minutes from Edinburgh, 20 minutes from St Andrews, situated close to the end of the high street, this contemporary, stylish hotel offers free wifi throughout, a fresh varied food menu and great range of world beers both bottled and draught. This accompanies a selection of whiskies and wide range of spirits rounded off with juices and soft drinks, tea and freshly ground coffee. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes from our friendly, attentive staff and the highest quality of food, drinks and accommodation. All rooms feature... Shower & Bath, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Free Wireless Broadband, Television with a selection of Sky Channels, Iron & Ironing Board.
Picture of Caledonian Hotel, Leven at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable visit back home!
The staff were very welcoming when I arrived. The room was very clean but was in need of a little repair. The air filter in the bathroom was unbelievably noisy, I did report it and was immediately offered another room. There was what seemed like water damage under the windows on the woodwork but it did not affect my stay. This is my second stay at the Caledonian this year and I would go back. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and food was lovely.

Reviewed by
M Blyth

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very clean spacious room very helpful staff.however I was left standing at the reception for a while before someone came to check me in. Apart from that everything was excellent

Reviewed by
heather h

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun place for a group of friends. Nice accommodations, good food and beer. :)

Reviewed by
L Searle

From Vernal, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were ok, wouldn't refund a mistake re the breakfast whuch was petty

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and service
We enjoyed our stay at the Caledonian . Nice atmosphere and very helpful staff . Food was very good and not too pricey . Nice clean tidy room . The only negative comment i would make is that the staff seem abit overstretched both at checking in and out we had too wait a good few minutes befoe someone arrived despite ringing the bell

Reviewed by
i watson

From Stonehaven, Regno Unito
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

know, the area, had a few meals here, prior to stay
Room was ok. It was a nice day, but felt cold.
I know that they do good fish n chips! But not this time, but to be fair, I think, I got a bad fish! It's meat was. Black, instead of white, and flaky.
it, the staff, are helpful.
I never sleep well, when away fro home. But I did on this stay.

Reviewed by
Mark Steinson

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liked the Personal Service at Breakfast no selfservice usually offered now-days.
As we are Elderly a Lift would useful.

Reviewed by
A Young

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean, friendly hotel but a bit dated
We used this hotel to meet up with family. Found the room very dated but clean, tidy and very comfortable bed. Staff were excellent nothing too much bother. Meal superb.

Reviewed by
lorna w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay holiday
Centrally situated ample parking large bar which doubles up as breakfast room close to the sae and shops

Reviewed by
b meddings

From rugeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caledonian Hotel
Plenty of parking (Free), the room I thought could do with a make over as it was quite dated but quite comfortable, on suite very good, the food down in the bar area in the evening was very good indeed as was the cooked breakfast the following morning, the staff from arriving to leaving were very polite and would certainly stay there again if in the area

Reviewed by
Terry Cowell

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next