No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lion Quays Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Moreton Nr Weston Rhyn, Oswestry, Oswestry, SY11 3EN
Lion Quays Waterside Hotel and Resort is an independently owned hotel, offering thoughtfully designed bedrooms and extensive on-site facilities to suit couples, families and business travellers. The 4 star hotel offers free WiFi in all public areas as well as in the bedrooms. There are twin, double, family rooms and the suite with crisp linen, LCD TV, power showers, complimentary toilets and rooms with views over the local countryside and Llangollen canal, some also have their own balcony.

Guests have a choice of restaurants on site; from a family-friendly traditional waterside restaurant offering a-la-cart dining, to a more intimate and contemporary dining experience at Nico’s Brasserie. Both restaurants offer a delicious range of British and European dishes and have outdoor areas to enjoy al-fresco dining.

Guests enjoy complimentary access to our country club facilities including, 25m swimming pool with poolside steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi and 75 station Technogym. Lockers and towels are provided during your stay. Lion Quays Spa has a thermal suite with hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna, experience showers and the UKs first snow cave. Guests enjoy discounted Thermal Suite rates. Full menu of treatments are also available, pre-booking is advised to avoid disappointment.
Picture of Lion Quays Hotel & Spa, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing time
The staff were very friendly and courteous. The hotel grounds were lovley and you would never think you were a stones throw away from a Bypass. The pool and sauna/steam rooms were a much welcomed part of the package too, Very relaxing, The food was amazing too. Not much choice but we chose the steak and it was delicious. Another visit is planned very soon.

Reviewed by
lesley thorn

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and friendly . Spa was lovely. Breakfast excellent . Bedroom a little worn and tired. Canal setting very pretty but road noise is a shame but unavoidable and does not take away from the hotel

Reviewed by
N Millar

From Y Felinheli, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3* rooms in a 4* hotel

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Very nice hotel, good facilities (gym, spa, pool .. etc). restaurants were good, but a bit overpriced. We stayed 2 nights, and I was suprised they didn't clean the room after the 1st night (even just to make the bed ?). Overall though, very happy with it, would stay there again, would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Anne K

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK stay
This place appealed because of the canalside setting and we specifically chose an executive room with a balcony view of the canal. Sure it did, but we were disappointed to find that the balcony was standing room only, unlike the ground floor rooms which had terraces with chairs and tables. The room on the first floor below us had somehow squeezed two chairs onto their tiny balcony, but since we only had one chair in our (executive!) room that was not even an option. Thought the place was overpriced for what it was but we enjoyed it nevertheless. Evening meal, breakfast and hotel staff were particular plus points, but we probably won't return.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was good but a little noisy due to proximity of A5. Waterside restaurant served good food but took 45 minutes to serve my first meal.
Spa was excellent staff very attentive,would revisit.

Reviewed by
Jeanette Bates

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely hotel, had a really relaxing time. Free use of Country club facilities was also fantastic!

Reviewed by
Josh M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, needs air conditioning.
the hotel is nice and the rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable, the room was let down by having no air conditioning which meant you had to leave the French doors open and as we were over the outside area of the restaurant was a little noisy.
The restaurant was lovely and cool and the food was ok. The waiting on staff were very nice and polite but rather disorganised. we waited an hour between courses on the first day and the second day we were in and out in half an hour. there were many incidents were the wrong food was been given to the wrong tables so lots of apologies, but they did try and worked very hard.
The spa was lovely and the bistro attached to the bar serves the best mango fruit coolers I have had.

Reviewed by
jeanette w

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit!!!! nice and relaxing.

Reviewed by
Tim Clarke

From Ledsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good stay
Have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. Had a problem with bed side lamps and reception, within, minutes, replaced them. Only down side did email hotel prior to stay with a query and they did not respond!

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next