No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pelham House

4Visit England Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
St. Andrews Lane , Lewes, BN7 1UW
Dating back to the 16th century this beautiful townhouse, now a Grade II
listed property, has been tastefully restored to create a stylish,
award-winning hotel offering 31 comfortable bedrooms.

The bedrooms at Pelham House are decorated in a contemporary style whilst
preserving many of the original historic features of the house. All of our
rooms are en-suite and furnished with comfortable beds with the finest
cotton sheets, and are fully equipped with tea and coffee making facilities,
T.V., telephone, i–pod docking station and complimentary wifi.

The house benefits from a large south facing garden with views onto the
stunning South Downs Way. Excellent food and drink is also provided 7 days a
week by the Pelham House Restaurant.

Situated in the heart of the historic town of Lewes, just 15 minutes away
from Brighton, the hotel is ideally located for all that the East Sussex has
to offer.

Room Types Descriptions:

Standard Double / Twin – 15 m²

Superior Double / Twin - 16 m²

Executive Double / Twin - 25 m²
Picture of Pelham House, Lewes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central hotel
The Pelham is an excellent hotel with lovely rooms with all the necessary fittings for a comfortable nights sleep.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ingrid, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Best Wishes, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Ingrid S

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, great facade, rooms a bit tired
Hotel is centrally located in Lewes. Very atmospheric façade and public rooms but our bedroom was awkward and attic like. We stayed an extra night in a different room and it was even smaller with a shower attachment over the bath. Both rooms had stains on the carpet and just looked a little tired. Staff nice, bar good and breakfast excellent but 'cheaper' rooms definitely a little neglected. Also be warned you need to book your car in if you want to use the small hotel car park, finding a meter when tired is not fun.

ManagementResponse

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time is post this review. I am sorry to hear that your were dissapointed with your room but glad that you were impressed with staff, bar and breakfast. We are continuously seeking ways in which to improve our bedroom and have a refurbishment plan in place so I genuinely appreciate the feedback and will be sure that this is passed onto the managament team. I hope we will have the pelasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Christine B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham house a cosy and chic hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear Fernando, Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that your enjoy our beautiful hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Olivia Birnie, Reservations Manager

Reviewed by
Fernando De Oliveira

From Staines Upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pelham House
We found Pelham House to be a beautiful hotel with stunning views and well worth the money. We went for a romantic get away and could not have asked for anything more. Food was lovely and the staff were all extremely friendly. Would definitely go there again!

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming stay
We had a lovely birthday trip to Pelham House. Our room was a loft room with lovely views over Lewes and The Downs. Elements of the room needed a bit of a refurb; peeling paint in the bathroom and a shower tray which filled with a puddle of water slightly spoiled the feeling of luxury. Our dinner in the restaurant was a mixed experience; lovely service and surroundings but a fairly bland starter of pork rilletes. Overall though, despite the tiny grumbles, this is a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Katherine S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The building and settings were beautiful but the room in loft space small and a little taty we had bad smell of drainage and was so hot stuffy couldn't sleep we did tell rec about smell but nothing done we arrive bck 11.30pm they did say we could change room but was so late if we had known it was going to b so hot we would have shame as was a sip prize anniversary present for my wife

Reviewed by
m budgen

From Snodland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Super
This is a fantastic hotel in a great location. The service we had was great and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for exploring historic Lewes
Perfectly in keeping with the fascinating town, Pelham House shares the town's the lofty ridge and panoramic view across to the South Downs. A comfortable and historic hotel full of character and charm, ideal for sauntering off to explore the many antiques shops and historic buildings nearby.

Reviewed by
R Knee

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right in the middle of Town and by the train Station
Intimate hotel in middle of town with good facilities. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Views onto grounds from the rooms at the back of hotel and the main dining area. make sure you book in advance for parking as limited spaces. Roof was scaffolded and being repaired but their was no noise once inside the room. Reception gave good local tourism advice.

Reviewed by
T Lynch

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

interesting old building in lovely old town. Superb view from our room (9). Staff friendly.
Will be happy to revisit.

Reviewed by
W Munday

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next