You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - ABode Exeter

4

Cathedral Yard, Exeter, EX1 1HD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jacquie M

  • September 2016

Wonderful location

A lovely place to stay for making the most of Exeter.

We had a 'Desirable' room and it was well worth the extra. The view of the cathedral was fabulous. Proximity to shops and cafes was a real plus and its a 10 minute walk to Exeter Central station if you are planning day trips. Only negative was the breakfast so we only had it once. Expensive for what it is and it seemed to be a first come first serve as when we arrived at 9.45 a number of the bowls of fruit and yoghurt were empty so disappointing choice. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant as it's so expensive but the adjoining cafe was fine. We did enjoy our stay and would happily do a repeat visit.

  • N Knox

  • April 2016

Frosty reception from Night Porter but comfy room

Came into hotel very late and had a rather dismissive reception from the night porter.

He also blocked on my credit card an additional £50 to the £80 room charge (which is yet to be unblocked by the card company). Room was small but comfortable and shower was excellent. Shame about the snootiness.

  • S James

  • April 2016

Stylish stopover

Needed somewhere to say between Cornwall and Somerset - nicely done refurb of the County hotel the building shows this clearly once was.

Room airy with lovely high celing - HUGE bed, and rolltop bath - in the bedroom. Chef was able to accommodate request for vegetarian food, to high quality. Main cavil was the other spaces in the hotel - cafe very out of keeping with the rest of the hotel, no service in the champagne bar, the pub STANK of stale beer.

  • S Bailey

  • February 2016

Not as good as hoped

The room was small, couldn't open the window and had a limited view across the 'alley'.

Air conditioning was too noisy. Noisy floor above as the guest walked about all night. Very small hanging space for clothes. Not enough space to put our bags away. Bathroom had no storage space,the shelf meant you couldn't wash your face without banging your head and the taps were right against the wall so you couldn't turn them easily. And the water from the shower went all over the floor every time.

  • Mark G

  • February 2016

Good Service

Very helpful receptionist who sorted me out even though I had made a mess of the booking and ended up being upgraded!

  • M King

  • November 2015

ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

Ok.

  • S Gale

  • August 2015

Stunning!

Being our first night away on our honeymoon, we decided to book through late rooms and secure a night to break up our journey to Cornwall.

Booking was easy and price was reasonable. Quick call to the hotel to explain we were newly weds so to see if we could get a nice room....ended up with a free upgrade to the envy room, personalised greeting card from owners and complimentary chocs on the side. Our view was Exeter cathedral in all its glory.... Staff were very pleasant and hotel very clean....just mind out for the quirky uneven floors as th building is really old. Big thumbs up from Mr & Mrs G

  • Caroline C

  • June 2015

Cathedral views

We stayed for our honeymoon and were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a fabulous room with amazing views of the Cathedral, with a thoughtful card from the Manager.

The bed was huge and really comfy

We ate in the Michael Caines restaurant on one evening, food and service excellent and a definite special treat. There are plenty of other cafés and restaurants within a few mins walk, offering a range of choices too

  • Claire H

  • June 2015

End of term

Standard double compact.

No bath robe (maybe because no bath!). Think room must have been next to air conditioning unit or something as was an on and off engine noise throughout the night.

  • Mike L

  • May 2015

A Relaxing Break

A very nice hotel in a nice setting.

The room was well presented and the staff were very helpful (including a complementary upgrade to a Superior Room). Would definitely stay here again