No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Racquet Club

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool, L3 9AG
Individually designed and themed rooms mean you could be staying in the Japanese Room or in an antique French bed. All rooms are luxurious. We offer splendid bathrooms with Roll top baths or walk in shower, a laundry service and the use of gym facilities and Squash courts. Louise Earl at the Daily Express described our property best when she quoted, ‘What it lacks in size it makes up for in style with each room individually designed in a fusion of country house meets city chic'. The award winning restaurant, Ziba, is open Monday to Friday from 12.00 noon to 2.30pm and 6.30pm - 9.30pm as well as Saturdays 6.30pm - 10.00pm..
Picture of The Racquet Club, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great character and warmth
Lovely quirky old gentleman's squash club with a very good restaurant. After stumbling upon the place and enjoying an excellent lunch, we discovered they had 8 rooms and I booked for two nights. The rooms are furnished with traditional, indeed antique furniture (mine had a leather inlaid desk and marble topped beside cabinets). Luxurious comfortable bed, tight in the heart of the city, only a couple of hundred metres from the Princess Dock, yet quiet and tranquil. Very helpful and friendly staff. A real find. Great gym, and even a waxing salon in the basement. Only downside - the wife signal difn't reach the top floor - it csn't be too hard or too costly to fix that surely? With that in place, it would have been perfect. Loved it.

Reviewed by
Stephen Linstead

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away in Liverpool
The hotel was very well positioned and was in close proximity to the town centre and docks, where you will find most of Liverpool's tourist attractions.
The hotel reception staff were very helpful and welcoming and my girlfriend and I felt very comfortable on our stay at the Racquet Club hotel. The only gripe I have was that I thought the breakfast was overpriced at £12 for a full English. I feel that is quite deer for a cooked breakfast but I can't complain too much because it was very enjoyable.
We will go back to Liverpool and we would be more than happy to stay at the Racquet club again, as it is a very good hotel.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Duckett

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Racquet Club
Nice, clean accommodation for a break right in the heart of the city of Liverpool.

Reviewed by
W Hutton

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

racquet club one night stay
Hotel very close to river; staff welcoming; room too hot and shower could have done with a steam clean but otherwise the accommodation was clean and comfortable. There was a wedding taking place in the evening on the floor below us but we weren't disturbed by music in our room. Breakfast was relaxed.

Reviewed by
Val T

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been really good, but left with vague disappointment.....
We'd not 'stayed over' in Liverpool before, and tried to pick somewhere that looked a bit different, a bit more 'one-off'', a bit more characterful. The Raquet Club seemed to tick most of the boxes......
Firstly, the lady on reception was excellent. Lovely and friendly, and efficient, and tried her very best to have our room ready early as we'd arrived a couple of hours ahead of schedule. Thanks for doing that, we really appreciated it.
It's easy to see what they are trying to do here, by being more 'individual' than the surrounding chains. The building itself is looks the part, and the first impressions in the reception area with the impressive period staircase certainly whetted our appetite for the place. However.... there still has to be the element of quality there. There were just a few too many little 'niggles' for us to really enjoy our stay unfortunately.
We fancied a drink in the hotel bar/ lounge as it looked quite nice on the pictures on the website only to be told that both the downstairs and upstairs were unavailable due to private functions So, there was nowhere in the hotel for us to relax apart from the room. Ok then, we'll just have to get over that.....
Next, we tried to book a table for dinner in the 'Award-winning' Ziba restaurant (which again looked very nice on the website) only to be told that the restaurant doesn't open on a Saturday. Well, that's not what the Hotel website says. We were looking forward to eating there, but I suppose we maybe should have tried to book ahead but didn't think we would have to, especially as we would have wanted to eat quite early. (Still, I suppose it saved us the thick end of another £100.)
The room - Characterful 'shabby chic'-ish is fine. No problem with that, it works for us. The 'threadbare curtain' look is not such a good one however. And sort the TV out!! How hard can it be to, at the very least, get a decent digital aerial! Comfy bed though!
Impressive bathroom, spacious, well fitted and better than the room itself to be honest.
Went out in the town in the evening and on returning there was a note stuck on the door with a mobile number to call for access. We usually don't bother taking our phones out, so it's a good job I had taken mine by chance or we might still be standing there now. It might be a good idea to remind people on the way out to check that they have a mobile with them! Unusual.
(Hint - take some earplugs. The church bells started at about 8.45 on the sunday morning which is not so clever if you've had a late night (as we had). We do realise this is nothing to do with the hotel though of course, and anywhere in that area would be the same!!).
I've just read the above back, and we sound like a right couple of whingers! Well we're not, honest! We really wanted to like this place because it's a great location. As we'll be coming back to Liverpool a few times in the next few months, it would have been really nice to have thought 'this is the place for us' for every time we return. The staff were lovely, but there's something 'not quite right'. Which is a shame.
I've ticked that we wouldn't stay again, which sounds a bit mean. To re-iterate, we really, really wanted to really, really like it here!! But we honestly felt that we weren't given enough reason not to try the myriad of other hotels in the area in the future. Sorry.
Sort yourselves out a bit, and we'd probably reconsider. It wouldn't take that much really!

Reviewed by
Steve W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

attention to detail
The channels on the TV weren't all available....no ITV1 to watch the champions league game on terrestrial ; if you advertise TV in room I think the very least to expect is that the TV has the minimum number of basic channels in operation ! Although I complained at reception, they were very slow to offer any kind of solution, by which time I was missing too much of the game and lost all confidence that I would get to see it at all (so had to go to pub).
The bath was great but the shower over it was rubbish. I had a great bath but would have preferred a great shower and saved some water to boot.

Reviewed by
A WORRALL

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dust dust and more dust
Filthy headboard covered in months of dead skin. Dust on pictures, stains on curtains, view was a flat roof with little day light. tv Remote control filthy!!! Door handle in bathroom falling off. TV remote batteries dead. Note stuck on front door stating ring this number if returning after 11pm!! If someone had removed this note we would not have got back in.
Spent a small fortune on parking and then had to get up at 8am to put another ticket on my dash or I would have had to fork out for a parking fine.
This hotel must be avoided. These are mine and my wife's thoughts on this terrible place to stay.

Reviewed by
adrian spence

From YORK, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sumptuous, comfortable room
I came to Liverpool for a nervewracking meeting at the passport office early the next morning and the hotel was by far the best part of my trip. I had an excellent rest and was made very comfortable. The room was clean, large and well-furnished with high ceilings and plenty of windows. The wake-up call was delivered precisely as required. The bar/dining room downstairs looks extraordinary, a proper traditional club with some great artwork. The exterior had great traditional architecture. Its near the waterfront which is great for walking around. My trip wasn't for pleasure but I ended wishing I had time to stick around for longer and will have to return again some day. I would certainly recommend this place for anyone finding themselves needing to get to the nearby Liverpool passport office for an early morning meeting. Its less than 10 minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Nicholas C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good standard, could improve the gym, sauna etc.

Reviewed by
A KELLY

From Croydon, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend hotel
The building is beautiful, huge high ceilings, original features,roll top baths longest curtains I've ever seen! Staff were polite and helpful even when we rolled back in at 4 in the morning! My husband said he had one of the best steak sandwiches he had ever eaten in the restaurant and the scouse was pretty good to!

Reviewed by
Lesley P

From Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next