No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Mellons Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Castleton , Cardiff, CF3 2XR
St. Mellons Hotel and Spa is a beautiful Edwardian country house hotel, set amongst 7 acres of secluded, landscaped gardens and local golf course, midway between the Welsh Capital and the historic docks of Newport, with easy road access to the city centres.

The Hotel has impressive spa facilities including heated indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and steam room and fully equipped gym.

Our Llanarthen Restaurant serves a choice of both Welsh and traditional English food.
Picture of St Mellons Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and Quiet.
Staff and food were very good, but shower had a issue with pressure an heat in the morning. But overall a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
P Gomersall

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chill out and enjoy the view with a complete relaxing feel to your stay
Staff attentive but not overbearing, food was lovely with great service. Comfy room but TV too small. Our room overlooked the beautiful fountain with blue lighting in the evening, looked soooo nice. Fantastic value for money and will be back soon.

Reviewed by
Larraine G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet retreat near the city of Cardiff
We were welcomed very warmly. This was in spite of out late arrival (11.00pm). Our room was warm and spacious, but in some ways rather "unloved": the curtains would not pull until my husband repaired the tracking, there were signs of previous damp ingress on the ceiling, a handle on one of the drawers was missing, the light bulb on one of the bedside lamps didn't work, the taps in one of the sinks dripped and there was no bar on the toilet roll holder. Our room needed some loving care!

Reviewed by
N Clarke

From Much Hadham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace & Charm
We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel looking over the parklands. Even better - you could open the window & enjoy fresh air! Because to the rural setting it was quiet, even with the window open. (Another tiny plus point - the fan in the bathroom went off after about 30s after you left. Some seem to stay on forever...annoying in the middle of the night!). We enjoyed using the leisure facilities - decent pool (if a bit nippy). Really enjoyed our meal too - the staff provided just the right amount of attention. All in all, very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Millar

From Llanbedr, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Good value for money.
Excellent staff and friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very "tired" with little ambience.

Reviewed by
ian m

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Fab place lovely staff very helpful would defo go back

Reviewed by
Heulwen Williams

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic family stay in country mansion close to Cardiff City Center
I had a lovely stay in St Mellons Hotel and Spa with my family, the kids enjoyed the large heated pool and the accommodation was very spacious and stayed in one of many cottages next to the Hotel. We had fantastic quality home cooked food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast. The Staff were very friendly and helpful and the Hotel was a lovely furnished mansion with beautiful grounds. Relaxing and quiet location only a few miles away from Cardiff. We will hopefully be returning shortly again as had such a lovely time.

Reviewed by
D Mathias

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK But needs a bit of TLC
Staff were friendly and room was big and clean, décor needs a bit of updating as you could clearly see stains on the wall and carpet.

Reviewed by
n hoy

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Mellons Hotel
Ideal place for rugby weekend stay.The staff are very friendly. Basic but comfortable chalets.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain!
Booked the room at the last minute and couldnt believe the deal we were given. Great Friendly staff, lovely hotel, excellent food.
We also had use of the leisure spa facilities, full size swimming pool and gym
Would recommend anytime and i will definitely be using it again

Reviewed by
Lorraine Koertzen

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next