No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Mellons Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Castleton , Cardiff, CF3 2XR
St. Mellons Hotel and Spa is a beautiful Edwardian country house hotel, set amongst 7 acres of secluded, landscaped gardens and local golf course, midway between the Welsh Capital and the historic docks of Newport, with easy road access to the city centres.

The Hotel has impressive spa facilities including heated indoor swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and steam room and fully equipped gym.

Our Llanarthen Restaurant serves a choice of both Welsh and traditional English food.
Picture of St Mellons Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay :)
Whilst the room was a bit dated, the customer service more than made up for it, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you

Reviewed by
Julie S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family mid journey break
As a family we were travelling some distance and needed a one night mid journey stop over.
The hotel was located in the middle of a golf course and the grounds were very well kept.
The hotel itself looked as if at one time was majestic , but time hasn't been kind and is now in need of TLC. We we're put in the garden rooms, these were family sized chalet type apartments, and although warm and dry, probably need knocking down and rebuilding.
The leisure facilities looked good but we didn't have time to use them.
The staff were very helpful and are the highlight of this hotel.
With some modernisation this could be a grand place to stay, but as it is now we wouldn't go back again, there are too many other places to stay in better condition, which is a shame since this place, with the staff they have could be excellent.

Reviewed by
RICHARD E

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room ok but bathroom, windows and doors need updating, won't like to stay in winter

Reviewed by
S Alsworth

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for city break.
Off the main road so quiet, surrounded by countryside, golf course and lovely gardens in which to sit and relax. The ground floor room we stayed in was attached to the main building and was pleasant , clean , spacious and adequate though bed a little soft for me. Good size gym though some equipment a little dated. Large warm indoor pool , with descent jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Hotel decoration a little tired and in need of refurbishment. Ideal location for city break. Although I did not eat at the hotel, other guests stated the food was good. Good value for the deal I paid via late rooms.

Reviewed by
Helen D

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very pleasant
wait for food far to long when it came steak was so tough even steak knife would not cut it even thoughnbe able to chew had to wait another 40mins before replacement choice arrivd spoilt an otherwise nice stay bar prices very high

Reviewed by
martin rees

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely break
great location.certainly tucked away. staff very good. food and service excellent plus the bonus of the spa facilities. down side, hotel could do with an update,decor wise, also signage from main road could be improved.but still would recomend.

Reviewed by
g harris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect bargain stay!!
great stay for a great price...however I would never pay what the hotel was asking for. its a gorgeous locaion and perfect for getting around. A pleasure to stay there with ideal spa facilities for a niggts stay. However, just note that it is a little dated and cob webby in some spaces. Spa was busy and again..a little dated with a lack of water to soothe your sauna experience. A little crampt in the changing rooms too. Fab stay at a fab price!

Reviewed by
Deborah T

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Mellons - cardiff city break
we booked at last minute for a city break in Cardiff. we loved this hotel so much and ended up staying 2 further nights. the staff were fantastic. the bar and restaurant was comfortable & chilling. amazing gardens for the kids to run around. good locality to Cardiff bay & barry island - about 25 mins away. nice pubs and restaurants local + ASDA! members in the gym are great and informative. great place for a family break.

Reviewed by
m hayer

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely break
really nice hotel, really helpful lady in restaurant who was extremely helpful with allergy's, thank you. hotel was very clean, just looked a little tired around the edges. will defiantly return.

Reviewed by
j standen

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and excellent services.clean and friendly
Laterooms.com brill service.booked online within no time all booked.and the room I had I saved £79 .

Reviewed by
Philip Farthing

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next